Reconnect with nature while helping with a forest garden, art and building project in Bazsi, Hungary




Bisher 556 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    60.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 7 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

  • Beschreibung


    My name is Krisztian. I am 29 years old and I am obsessed with nature, gardening, alternative ways of living, arts, specially music ( creating and listening as well... all kinds, from electronic through piano music to bird singing ). I also love to travel, a few years I spent with traveling around Europe. While this journey I got involved in lots of permaculture, biological gardening projects and met many amazing people. I learned a lot not only about gardening but also about nature, people, music and about myself. After this long travel I realized that I would love to settle down and start something I don't have to leave behind and could call it a home, a spot where I can get myself more grounded. I wanted to be as close to nature as possible and after a few months looking around and searching I ended up on the winery area of the little village called Bazsi.

    The place is on a hill and it's totally melted together with the huge forests behind. Ideal for lovers of nature. The land is 1.5 hectares big, mostly forest, quite diverse one mixed with fruit and nut trees. A smaller part is a fruit orchard with old fruit trees and newly planted ones. This part I want to turn slowly into a forest garden. There are many kinds of fruit and nut trees like: apple, peach, plum, pear, cherry, mirabolan, apricot peach, chestnut, hazelnut, walnut etc. But the forest part needs more observation to identify more and more plants, specially the ground cover ones.

    There are also lots of animals, seeing squirrels running around on the branches of trees is a normal, almost everyday thing. The bird music goes on all day long and at night after the last songs of the birds the bats take over and fly around quietly. While walking to the back of the garden you can see messy clear spots without grass, hm a boar was digging here looking for food... The dear deer also visits the garden sometimes and if you go down to ground level to check out what's there, if you have luck you can spot spiders with crazy patterns and colors, and of course more crazy creatures :) I even met sometimes with boars and deers here but you need to be very quiet if you want to see them.

    The people around are also really nice, doing similar things. Trying to be self-sufficient as much as possible, or keeping goats, making cheese, some of them are also into arts. There is a couple in the village who also host volunteers, their garden is beautiful :)

    At a festival I did also a bit of land art stuff, I would like to continue this but now in my garden!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You get involved in the very start of a project and you can experience a slower, more simple and quiet life closer to nature without the noise of the outside world. You can learn about gardening. I can show you edible wild plants and we can find and identify new ones as well. If you are into music, arts and we are on a similar wavelength we can create music. I have also a lot of knowledge about and experience with dreams, also lucid dreams so I can also give tips in that if you are interested.

  • Arbeit


    The work is calm and relaxed, I'm not a "clock-watcher", actually I rarely know the time, day and date. I am really interested in the idea of a forest garden and permaculture, guerilla gardening and growing mushrooms. The garden is quite experimental. I know many things and have lots of experience on this field but in the same time I'm also learning and trying things out.

    Please only write if you are serious about your stay and would really like to get involved! I prefer people who would like to stay for at least a week or two, and not only for a few days.

    Summer projects:
    - building a roof and wall for the summer kitchen.
    - collecting wild edible plants, tons of fruits and mushrooms. Preserve them: drying, making jam, pesto, vinegar etc.
    - collect herbs and dry them.
    - garden maintenance, harvesting veggies.

    Land art projects.
    I also volunteer at festivals sometimes with projects like that.

    These are some of the ideas but it depends what's the most important at the moment. So for example if tons of fruits start to get ripe on the trees than we won't start building stuff. Usually I have a list where ideas are written on and I put the most important in front. I'm also open for your ideas :)

    Other stuff:
    - We cook and wash dishes together or in turns.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    German: Fließend
    English: Fließend
    Hungarian: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    There is a house with beds, mattresses where you can sleep. Or if you prefer the forest with a tent that's also possible.

    Conditions are a bit basic yet, which means for example: the toilet is a compost toilet. There is an outside shower which is quite nice when the weather is warm :) Usually it is usable from end of March/ April, until than it is heating up water in pots and figuring out your way of showering. Or there is also a swimming hall at the closest town where I go sometimes. I don't have a washing machine so washing clothes is only possible with hands. There is internet but it's quite slow and limited, so it's only for checking mails. Washing clothes or having a shower might be slower than usual.

    For the shower please take organic soap because the water goes back to the soil directly and I don't want to have chemicals in the soil. Thank you!

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    My budget is limited so the food costs would be in a shared way and we cook together. I eat vegetarian but if you have a different diet that's no problem, we will figure out everything.

    Things to see: Nature is amazing around here, the area is perfect for hiking. There are three castles very close and on the hill a Buddhist Stupa with a meditation hall only one hour away by foot. The lake Balaton is only 25-30 kilometers away, it's easily reachable by bus or hitchhiking. There are also very nice markets nearby! One of them is a kind of messy, trashy gypsy market with all kinds of things. Another one is very mixed, there are creative things, bakery stuff, organic food, soap, antique stuff etc.

    I have lots of instruments as well if you want to play: kalimba, guitar, bass guitar, didgeridoo, mouth harp, midi controller for electronic stuff. There is also a kind of home studio so we can even record and edit music on the computer.

    In Summer I like to visit some festivals where you're welcome to join but if you are not an "outgoing" person you can also stay at home and enjoy it on your own, it's up to you.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    4-5 hours/day. 2 days are off

Inoculating walnut log with shiitake mycelium
Tomato paradise
Lunch time - all from the garden
Wild mushrooms - before turning into a delicious meal
Snake - one of my land art projects at a festival
Inoculated walnut logs - Oyster mushrooms
Dancing amarant flower :)

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 516252823244