Helping on our farm project on a quinta near Tomar, Portugal.

Country

Portugal

Bisher 157 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    16  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    18.09.2019

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    164

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Facebook verified
    Super Host
  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Help!!!

    We are a couple, old(ish) in years but young at heart, who have taken on more work than we have hours in the day for or enough hands to deal with.
    Our property is a bit of a mess, a cosy mess none the less but we desperately need some friendly, energetic people to help us make it beautiful.
    We've been renovating for a few years now. The house and interior is almost complete and now we are concentrating mainly on landscaping the garden area around the house and working on the veggie patch but our greatest need is for a driver as Kelvin, my partner is receiving treatment for macular degeneration and I am not very confident, having not driven for over 20 years.
    The property is what's know in Portugal as a quinta, a small farm or small holding. We have around 2 hectares of land which includes a large organic vegetable plot with a HUGE poly tunnel, an olive grove and woodland. We have chickens, ducks, dogs and our latest addition is a hive of bees. We also foster the occasional dog from the local kennels.
    I am a self taught cook by trade and have a cookery web site. I have a big mistrust of the food industry and love the idea of growing and processing my own food. We are both computer nuts and love music of all genres.
    Our property is set in the peaceful countryside of central Portugal surrounded by beautiful scenery and rolling hills where you get a true feel for Portuguese rural life.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Landarbeit
    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Volunteers will get the chance to experience true Portuguese rural life and learn basic animal husbandry and small scale organic vegetable gardening. You can also learn how to cook some Portuguese dishes

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Most of the work here is physical - gardening, building, painting etc. We have an outside washing area to convert to a splash pool, concreting and a traditional Portuguese bread oven and smoke house that we would like to get up and running.
    The main help though is with the driving so a EU or International driving license is a must.
    We are reasonably new to this life style so if any volunteers have land management / small holding skills we would be very willing pupils.
    We like the thought of people coming here and leaving their mark - a community project if you like. We are open to ideas for the use of the land and property.
    In return for your help we hope to give you an interesting and enjoyable holiday.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, some Portuguese

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    The accommodation will be a bedroom in the house. It will be basic but clean and comfortable. There is a fully working bathroom in the house.
    There is a wireless internet connection in the house but no land line telephone.
    Lunch and evening meal will be provided and most meals will contain vegetables from our organic garden. You will be responsible for providing and organising your own breakfast but I am happy to donate eggs and bread when available. We are not vegetarian and must stress that we do raise meat for the table.
    We are located between the village of Cernache do bonjardim and the small town of Serta, both around 10 minutes drive. The nearest large town and train station is historical Tomar, 45 minutes drive away.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The nearest international airport to us is Lisbon and the nearest train station is Tomar. There are two buses a day from Lisbon and Porto to Serta.
    There are no shops near our property and the nearest bar is about 30 minutes walk although we do have two bicycles for anybody who wants to use them.
    For drivers, there are many places of historical interest that can easily be visited as day trips including the famous Convento do Cristo in Tomar, Fatima and the monastery of Batalha.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours, 5 days a week

Yes it is a rasta wig. He's bald really.









Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 561246985127