Help us with house projects, pasture, farm animals and garden in North Carolina, USA

Country

USA

Bisher 104 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    30.09.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 5 Tage

  • Abzeichen

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    UPDATE: we are unavailable to host until the following year, however we welcome anyone to come out and visit the space for a day! Please message me if you are available/interested in this!

    We are a mother-daughter team (Alison and Bri, respectively) who recently bought 54 acres of luscious Appalachian mountain land an hour outside of Asheville that had been previously farmed for 3 generations since the early 1900’s with cattle, tomatoes, corn, tobacco and hay. Most of the cropland has now been reforested, yet some old barns, outhouses and a farmhouse still remain tucked between the trees. There are multiple streams originating on the property and a larger river running across the bottom border. There are many old interconnecting logging roads around the property. We plan to homestead with the goal of providing the majority of our food, medicine and fuel within the next 10 years. We are in the beginning stages of installing native fruit and nut orchards as well as a silvopasture system with fruits and nuts along with sheep, pigs, and chickens. In the coming years, we plan to dry and sell fruit and nuts in our local economy, and will employ locals for the strictly business operations- we are interested in workaways to come help with the homesteading projects. We have spent a good part of this past year converting the old 1930’s farmhouse into a livable space, where we heat and cook all by wood, use composting toilet systems and our water is gravity fed from a spring uphill. We have a flock of egging chickens, a mousing cat, Maisie, and a sheepdog puppy, Beau, who will be tending to our future sheep and ducks. Currently, we are working on infrastructure for our garden and pasture, new chicken coop, roads, and planting food! Last year, our small vegetable garden supplemented our diet with copious amounts of zucchini, tomatoes, squash, cucumbers and herbs. This year, we’ve extended and fenced the garden, and plan on rotational grazing with sheep and experimenting with different grain crops. Lots to learn and discover!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We can share our homesteading and farming knowledge as well as expose workawayers to the Appalachian folk culture that surrounds us. Bluegrass music is huge here, especially in our small town of Marshall (35 minutes away) where, under normal circumstances, there is live music 3 times a week. Our neighbor is also an old time farmer, born and raised on our road, and is always eager to have someone to listen to his stories of the old days- it’s one of our forms of free entertainment here. There is also the progressive culture of Asheville not too far away, and always unique and interesting things to explore in the city.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We have many construction projects high on our priority list (building a chicken coop, installing fencing around the vegetable garden, fixing up the root cellar) as well as continuous upgrades to the farmhouse . Gardening and expanding our vegetable garden will be an ongoing project, we'll plant a new bed of root vegetables (carrots, beets, turnips) every other week, harvesting and processing food (we will be getting winter squash, corn and a bunch of tomatoes soon which we are going to can). Trail clearing of overgrown flora and stray trash is always helpful. We will have more projects and maintenance tasks accumulate as the farm expands!

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have 2 private guest bedrooms in the farmhouse with full size beds. Running potable spring water, a composting toilet, a rocket stove heated shower. We use a wood cooking stove and wood heat stove for cooking. We will provide food for 2+ meals a day (usually rice and beans, pasta, or some grain, occasionally meat, always with a vegetable or two) and enjoy sharing cooking responsibilities and recipes! Breakfasts are pretty casual, usually homemade yogurt, banana pancakes or eggs and homemade sourdough flatbread. It’s cozy but rustic!

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Exploring the forests behind the house is a treasure we greatly appreciate and try to utilize as often as possible. The Pisgah National Forests surrounds us with trails, lookouts and scenic drives. The town of Hot Springs, which the Appalachian Trail passes through, is 30 minutes drive away. Our town of Marshall hosts music weekly, an outside farmers market and small tourist shops. The French Broad River is 15 minutes away with one of the most popular launches for whitewater rafting. The city of Asheville is an hour away and always has events and shows. Having transportation is required to get around, since we are at the end of a 7 mile road, in rural countryside. We also currently don’t have WiFi, and most cell phone providers don’t reach our house since we are in a valley - we can drive 5 minutes from the house to get service, though, so at least every few days we check in with the outside world.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    25 hours per week, 2 days off

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)





Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 557629797616