Help with English practice and around the house in Acqui Terme, Italy



Bisher 21 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Abzeichen


 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat oder mehr

  • Beschreibung


    We live in a small spa resort town of approximately 20 thosusand inhabitants in the North west of Italy between Turin and Genoa, not far from the sea and not far from the mountain.

    Our family is made of four people: mum, dad and two children. The eldest son is 19 years old and is now studying at a big university in the centre of Italy, so he 's often away, the youngest son is 11 years old and is attending the first year of the local middle school, where the mother also works The mother is an English teacher in the middle school already mentioned while the father works for an insurance company. Both the kids like music and play musical instruments: the piano and the drums. Their parents play the guitar and the bass guitar. So welcome to a music family!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten


  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    The cultural exchange will be definitely helpful to open up your mind and attitude to cultural differences and fight bias and prejudices. Actually living in a small town will give the host the opportunity to truly understand traditions, habits and the way Italian live and behave. Also, an experience abroad will enrich everyone's cultural knowledge and understanding of life on the whole, as a result of providing the skill to cope with different situations and improving problem-solving abilities. Living with host-parents will be a great experience both as a cultural-linguistic opportunity and as a relational-affective maturation

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    We'd like to ask for some help with English practice within the family and with some housekeeping. The host will be asked to do some teaching of oral and written English to the youngest son in particular and some teaching (conversation labs) to 11-14 years old kids where the host-mum works and the youngest boy is a student. As for house keeping helping to tidy the kitchen, looking after and cleaning his/her bedroom and bathroom; also some cooking (maybe traditional meals) will be appreciated. We'd like to have a sociable and lively person sharing with us everyday life and exchanging with us ideas and opinions!
    We have hosted English and American Language assistants working in the middle school in the past three years and we think that the cultural and linguistic exchange is really worth repeating this great experience!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend
    Italienisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    We live in a semi-detached house in a green area just outside the city centre which is 800 metres' walk. The host will have a bedroom and a bathroom on his/her own and will share meals with the family. We have a small garden and a friendly small dog. We don't smoke.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The town is small so there are no buses to be taken in town. You can easily visit bigger towns from Acqui by train such as Genoa, Cinque Terre, Turin, Milan, Pisa, Bologna, Florence...
    The nearest airports are in Genoa, Turin, Milan Linate, Milan Bergamo and Milan Malpensa.
    During time off hosts can visit Acqui and the surrounding areas but also other famous places like the towns which have been just mentioned. They can also enjoy spa treatments while here. There is also a cycing track where they can go running or walking. Also hikes on the Hills are organised by local associations like CAI or local Proloco.
    The town Hall service offer guided tours in town starting from Marh onwards at cheap prices.

    The sea is at 40 kms. We are surrounded by spectacular hills and our land is part of the UNESCO World Heritage, between the so called Hills of Monferrato and Langhe. Our town is not only famous for its spa fountain of hot sulphurous water which is used for beauty and medical treatments, but also for wine and food. Typical dishes of the area are ravioli, bagna cauda, Russian salad, stew with bagnetto sauce (made with parsley, garlic, anchovies and olive oil), farinata (a typical dish made with chick peas flour and rosmary), "tajarin" (home made pasta), "cardi of Nizza Monferrato" (local vegetable with an anchovy sauce), nuts, nutella and gianduiotti chocolates. Among the best red wines, Barolo, Barbaresco, Nebbiolo, Barbera, Dolcetto.. among the white wines Cortese is the best and for desserts Brachetto di Acqui and Spumante are very well known. If you want to go skiing in the winter you can easily go there by car in about one hour and a half or by train in about two hours and a half, if you want to go to the seaside you can easily go by train in about one hour or by car in about 50 minutes. The town has got a big swimming pool which used to be the biggest in Europe until it was divided into two parts some years ago. It's still very big though and is very popular in the surrounding area even though there are lots of other swimming pools available in the summer in Acqui and in the villages around it. Acqui is a Roman town and has lots of great historical monuments and churches in town: the Bollente fountain which is the symbol of Acqui, the Duomo which hosts famous paintings, the Addolorata Church, San Francesco Cathedral, the Archaelogical Museum and the Castle... Around Acqui lots of villages are worth a visit: Roccaverano, Denice, Monastero Bormida, Spigno Monferrato, Mombaldone, Montechiaro d'Acqui, Rocca Grimalda ect. The town is full of good restaurants and in the spring and in the summer lots of cafes offer live music with local bands and the typical Italian "aperitivo", a kind of light cheap but high quality snack which often replaces dinner.
    Acqui is great if you really want to understand the Italian culture because it is rather small and has kept traditions from the past so far. You can still hear some people speaking dialect here, a kind of patois which has some French influence in some ways.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 551422871631