Help out on our hobby farm in Felingwm, Wales, UK

Country

Großbritannien

aktualisiert  

Bisher 241 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    41  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    20.05.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    *Priority tasks involve building rock gibbons protection on the river bank, planting/clearing, finishing off a beach area and building a bar area out of pallets as well as the usual planting/clearing and blo&*y weeding*

    My name is Naomi. I have travelled a great deal and lived in West Africa, USA, Jamaica and several places in the UK. There is much you can tap into and learn from me, a global citizen, seasoned traveller and all round wise old woman! More round and old, but you get the picture. I have had the most wonderful working life and now I am creating a hobby farm in Wales. I will be 60 this year.

    I bought this property in Feb 2021 and have spent the time turning it into a hobby farm (others would call it a small-holding or homestead). Honestly some mornings I wake up and think, 'clever me!' and some days I think 'what have I f$*&ing done?' Between April to Nov 2021 I had 20 workawayers, half of which were newbies, aged 18-65, staying 6-48 days and hosted a total of 380 people days. A great deal was achieved. Please take the time to read their feedback.

    The farm has a cute renovated cottage, which I am extending and improving. You will not be asked to operate heavy machinery and I will be hiring local tradespeople for the main construction work. So you will be safe and have an opportunity to see work being done. You may also learn a thing or two about 'real-life' red tape and building control/regulation. But with none of the cost, headache or stress, that's my responsibility.

    A BBQ/party area sits near a stream that cuts across the property, near the cottage. A good social place or a dry place to read/draw and contemplate or play music. There are 5 picnic tables dotted about, a swing by the river and 2 hammocks waiting to be used. The level area further in, with 2 shipping containers, one will be a wine/mead/cider making area and one for growing mushrooms and storage and the space in between will become a bar/picnic garden. A static caravan is currently being renovated into a club house and a potential volunteer 'home'. I have put in some solar panels, to help reduce my carbon 'footprint'. The area next to the static caravan will become the pig area and an additional mini solar panel 'farm'. Until the static is available for living, I can offer a room in the cottage with wifi/internet or caravan parking space under cover with electricity or a tent.

    I keep and incubate chickens and ducks eggs. The 11 acres at the back of the land is rented out for sheep (and I have 2 of my own each year). There is a fruit/nut orchard, a fruit/veg kitchen garden with established polytunnel, a bee area and 4 allotment areas for use by fellow gardeners . The entire plot is just under 22 acres. A walk around the parameter is about 0.7 miles (it will feel like more as most of it is uphill!). You can get involved in piece-size garden/house projects, depending on your interest/experience, whatever new project/hobby I am doing during your visit and what is being developed/built at the time.

    You'll be happy to hear that the kitchen is already in good working order and that I enjoy cooking simple, hearty, nutritious (I have a PhD in nutrition so this I do understand), home/basic meals. I am a meat eater but I try to be mindful of the animals' contribution so, for example, make stews which include lots of beans/veg/dumplings and often have vegetarian meals during the week. But I also enjoy hosting an occasional BBQ feast. There are now 3 areas for cooking outside on a fire (one is an earth oven). I can cater for vegetarians, no problem. There will always be a yummy dessert. You will not starve (I suggest you bring elasticated trousers) and you may learn a secret recipe/technique or two!

    I am very interested in developing the hobby farm as a showpiece/model of this lifestyle as a viable retirement option. So you are more than welcome to vlog your stay to advertise and further explore my notion of an active/creative retirement plan! But please remember this is my retirement, so I will not be as active as someone younger.

    I am fully aware that you are my guest, and you could be elsewhere. You will be treated with respect and your contribution will be cherished. Thank you for reading and hope to hear from you soon.

    Naomi

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I only speak English. Happy to help you with learning that language. In 2021 I had 3 French speakers, a native Polish and native Spanish person and we managed just fine.

    I have several hobbies (making wine/cider/mead, jam/chutney, soap, cheese, sausages, incubating chicks/ducks, repurposing furniture, building compost bins etc) and at least one will be underway when you visit. You are welcome to learn/watch or take part. if there is something you especially want to try, let me know.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Farm help is welcome for further clearing and landscaping, fitting out a wine/cider/mead making shipping container, renovating the static caravan, developing the community allotment area and moving stuff about. Later on I want to further landscape around the static caravan, extract honey and further extend a 'pick your own' fruit option. It is best if you have your own vehicle as the bus system is not frequent. I do not drive and I do not have a car for your use. I think a couple would enjoy the stay as much as a single person. I hosted 3 couples in 2021. I am also happy to be an 'anchor' while you explore Wales and other workawayer opportunities.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    I am happy to share/correct English. I am not fluent in any other spoken/written language. However I haven't yet found a person on this planet that doesn't understand the language of 'cake/dinner is ready' or 'do/try as I am doing'.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    A static caravan, with everything you would expect will eventually be available. It will be watertight, clean/tidy and fairly basic and has the most fabulous view of the hillside. The common area in the caravan may double up as a club house to the allotment users but this will be infrequent. In the meantime I offer a comfortable double room in the cottage. I will cook lunch/dinner (usually from scratch) on full work days and can provide ingredients for breakfast and day trips or days off. Fresh eggs are usually available and home grown vegs/fruit when harvested go straight into dishes for consumption.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The village is small/quiet but has a daily bus service to Carmarthen (an extra service on Wed and Sat but none on Sunday). Carmarthen is 8 miles away, about 13-15 mins drive. Carmarthen has a good train service to other parts of Wales and UK. Taxis are available but will cost more and need to be booked to avoid disappointment. I am on a main road and sometimes the sheep are moved on it, seen right outside the window. For me that is the right combination.

    The neighbours are lovely and may get involved or be interested in progress. The local community centre come nursery is at the back of the cottage and occasionally 6-10, 3-5yr olds visit, to see the chickens/ducks.

    The hill view is very relaxing and peaceful. If you need noisy/busy entertainment this is not the place for you. If you long for fresh air, bracing hill walks and quiet reflection, with the sound of only a river in the background (and rather noisy ducks, Stan the cockerel and the odd chainsaw at 8am! Oh country life) then you won't be disappointed.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    There is space to park within the property for caravans/campervans/motorhomes and/or cars. Water/sewage and electricity connections can be offered. When the weather is warmer, there is space for tents.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    I have a friendly medium sized dog called Spanner, so dogs will be welcome. Unfortunately Spanners' life ambition is to eat a cat/squirrel/rabbit so we avoid those particular animals as much as possible! He is getting better around the ducks and chickens! He is almost 10yrs old but still has moments of complete madness! Wonder where he learnt that from?

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.5)

Kommunikation: (5.0)
























Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 544528317585