Cat and dog lovers needed to take care of pets and homeless animals in Ban Phe, Rayong, Thailand.



Bisher 107 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 10 Tage

  • Abzeichen


 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

  • Beschreibung


    I'm a retired Australian who's been living in Thailand for 14 years. I've been helping homeless cats and dogs for about four years. At the moment, there are about 80 homeless cats and 10 dogs in my care. I take care of the homeless cats and some of the dogs who live at a nearby Buddhist temple. I rent a house with a large garden that is used as an animal refuge where three rescue dogs and thirty rescue cats live permanently. It's a lot of work taking care for so many animals so I need devoted and genuine volunteers who love both cats and dogs and who are prepared to do everything and anything that is needed to help keep them healthy and happy.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Helping at the house you will have an opportunity to stay in a mostly Thai holiday destination and see how the people live. You can learn from my experience of living in the country for 14 years. You will meet some local people and also other expats who live here. Thai language study materials, history and culture books can me made available if you would like to do some study about Thailand.

  • Arbeit


    To fit in with my schedule, you must start at 7.00 am. Not everyday is the same in animal rescue and I do have some paid help at the house and some volunteer help on some days at the temple, so the chores you will do will change on a daily basis. Generally, you will be required to do is as follows:

    Help required at the house includes:
    Scooping poo and pee from litter trays.
    Sweeping / vacuuming and mopping floors (with all the cat fur stuck to the floor, cleaning floors is harder than usual).
    Cleaning furniture.
    Cleaning the kitchen and bathrooms.
    Cleaning up any "accidents" from the floors or furniture (note this will involve cleaning up cat poo, wee and sometimes vomit).
    Major cleaning chores and gardening as required.
    For those who have the skills, some repairs and maintenance projects
    Playing with kittens staying at the house temporarily.
    Providing company, playtime and affection to the rescue cats and dogs who live permanently at the house.

    Help required at the temple includes:
    Cleaning the areas where the cats and dogs live.
    Washing dishes.
    Feeding the cats, dogs and chickens.
    Playing with the the cats and dogs.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    You will stay in your own private traditional Thai wooden house with it's own bathroom and small fridge. Two cats with contagious feline immunodeficiency virus live in this house so extreme caution must be taken not to let these cats out. This virus is transmittable to other cats but not to humans.

    Internet is available.

    I am vegetarian. Due to my crazy schedule, meals will be provided but not at regular times. You are welcome to use the kitchen and cook your own meals if I am not available.

    The whole property / animal refuge must be kept clean, tidy and with positive energy at all times. Personal items must be confined to your own space and not left in the main house.

    I am a non smoker and non drinker so it is better for you and me if you do not drink alcohol or smoke at the house but if you do this in a moderate and acceptable way, it will be tolerated.

    Telling travel and funny stories, exercising, meditating, doing yoga, dancing and singing are most certainly allowed and encouraged.

    Please note that animal rescue can be very stressful and heartbreaking at times but it can also be very rewarding.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    With the beach not far away and only working five hours a day five days a week, you'll have lots of opportunity to plonk yourself in a deck chair in the sun or shade and just chill by the sea. If you want to adventure further, a push bike is available or motor bikes can be rented for about 200 baht per day. The Temple is a 5 minute push bike ride and has a market on Tuesdays and Saturdays. The small town of Ban Phe is six kilometers away and from there you can take a ferry to the tourist island of Kho Samet. (Note that I can take you to where the ferries leave in Ban Phe if you want to visit the island on your days off.) Local buses known as sawngtaos (like a pick-up truck) go to the big city of Rayong where there are many shopping malls, markets, coffee shops and international restaurants. The bizarre city of Pattaya is only 80 kilometers away - about a one-and-a-half hour ride in a minivan. With all it's tourist attractions, night clubs, live music, shopping malls, restaurants and markets galore, Pattaya can be fun for a short visit but don't expect anything to represent real Thailand.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Up to five hours a day five days a week.

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 542513289161