Help out on a rural Smallholding on Suffolk/Essex border, UK



Bisher 254 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook


  • Last email replied


    86.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 3 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
    Facebook verified

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

  • Beschreibung


    We are a family of 4 - 2 parents and two older teenage kids who are currently at University and only return in the holidays.

    We live on a smallholding on the Suffolk/Essex border and have a few cats (that mostly live outside) and a lot of chickens. We need help in gardening, general maintenance and tidying up the land and yards as they are a bit untidy. We are in a rural location, 5 miles from the nearest town (Sudbury) and 20 miles from Ipswich, Bury St Edmunds and Colchester.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We live in a beautiful area and there are excellent places to visit - however public transport in the immediate area does not exist and the nearest train station is five miles away. We are happy to drive you to the town where you can get a bus or train and we also have bikes that you can borrow.

    Gill trained as a ESOL teacher in 2014 and has a CELTA certificate.

    If you are happy to be taught, we can teach you to safely use strimmers, lawnmowers and chainsaws. We will provide help and tuition on basic maintenance tasks.

    London is about 2 hours away by train and the towns of Colchester, Ipswich and Bury are on a bus route.

  • Arbeit


    We have a lot of land and we really need help in keeping the gardens tidy (mowing, strimming and some weeding), general tidying (emptying barns, sorting the contents and replacing in an organised way), putting tools and other equipment back in their correct place, moving wood and building materials to organised piles. The chickens need feeding and water checking every day and cleaning out once a week.

    We have a wood burner that heats the house and outbuildings and need help splitting and chainsawing wood and logs and loading the wood burner two or three times a day.

    We are rebuilding a couple of the outbuildings, so helping Hugo with that when he is at home will form part of the help, so it would be great if you have any experience in power tools.

    Our accommodation can sleep three people but only one enclosed bedroom - the other room is a mezzanine floor above the living room. You may be sharing with other workawayers.

    We ask for 4-5 hours a day, and you'll have two days off a week. We are flexible on the days.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    You will have your own detached annexe, with bedroom, shower room, kitchen and living room. You'll be able to be separate from the family if you wish, but we'd love you to join us in the evening. We provide food in your flat - so you'll be able to make your own breakfast and lunch. Breakfast and lunch is cereal and sandwiches. There is one cooked meal a day. We have our main meal in the evening when we all get together.

    We provide a meal for you on most of the days that you work (but not every day but we do provide food that you can cook yourself), and we'd love it if you would help with the cooking occasionally and also cook to show us the food from your country.

    We supply bedding and towel and there is a washing machine in the flat. Smoking is only permitted outside.

    PLEASE NOTE: We can accommodate two in the annexe, but there is one room with a double bed, and the other room is open above the living area.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Owing to the number of things we need to show our guest(s) we ask that you commit to stay for a minimum of two weeks. This can be ended by either party if it doesn't work out.

    Travel to London, Colchester, Ipswich and Bury are possible from where we live and, we can take you to the bus/train station.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 538349741925