Welcome to our totally off-grid, organic farm in Huescar, Spain

Country

Spanien

Bisher 30 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    25.02.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------!!!! UPDATE !!!!
    Current projects for February & March:
    • Build water pumping outbuilding.
    • Build outdoor, wood fired oven.
    • Clear and repair underground water tank.
    • Planting fruit trees
    • Landscaping garden area.
    • Germinate and propagate edible plants.
    All instruction is offered, no previous skills or experience necessary :)

    Also the opportunity to learn and manage the daily tasks involved in running the off-grid systems.
    -------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
    We are family & friends based between the UK and our 9 hectare, off-grid organic farm in the high-plains of Granada, although there is always at least one of us on the farm. We are mostly traditional almond orchards but are in the process of implementing a complete transformation. The effect of climate change has prompted us to implement some dramatic changes and prepare the land for longer drier summers and more intense, heavier periods of rain.

    We enjoy 360 degree views and the landscape is stunning. The farmhouse is a partial cave house and enjoys cool temperatures in the summer and stays nice and warm in the winter. We are totally off-grid and aim to be as self sustainable as possible, sometimes this can be easier than others!

    We have been here for 5 years now, and the place needs some fairly urgent maintenance, from cosmetic painting and decorating inside and out, through to the construction of small, outdoor buildings.
    We are pretty cool and laid back and have a fairly easy-going approach to life.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    As a totally off-grid, organic farm we have much infomation to share. Whether you are keen to know about solar PV systems and their installation, rainwater harvesting systems, orchard management, organic vegetable growing, permaculture design and sytems, re-greening desert land, the list could go on. My background is in the music industry, as a lawyer, and I have had to learn many new skills, Just let us know what you are keen to learn about and we can make sure you leave with newfound skils and knowledge.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Couples or singles are welcome. We would give preference to visitors with building skills and construction experience, painting and decorating experience is a plus, otherwise we are looking for general labour to help with the various projects timetabled for the next few months. We are English, and speak english around the house, although Spanish speakers, with some English, are welcome.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English and a little Spanish

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have a guest room with either a double or two single beds. It has an ensuite toilet/shower-room and is in the main house. We also have another bed room without its own bathroom, but with use of a shared toilet/shower room. All bedding and towels are provided.

    Meals are prepared and provided communally twice a day, lunch and dinner. Breakfast, being the exception, is generally 'help yourself', to bread, cereals etc

    Cooking is generally vegetarian and freshly prepared. Bread is home cooked and much of the food is produced locally, especially in the summer months. Fridge space is provided for guests own food/drinks.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We spend a lot of time outdoors and try to make as much use of the daylight hours as possible, especially during the winter months. We are quite active and like to enjoy the surrounding terrain. Locally there are rivers, lakes and mountains to explore. There are areas of archeological importance in the surrounding villages and the terrain is perfect for mountain biking, paragliding, birdwatching, kiteboarding and there is ski/snowboarding a 2 hour drive away.
    The farm is very remote, 10-15 minute drive to the nearest small town/village. We drive there for supplies, usually at least twice a week. Buses run daily to and from Granada (a 90 minute drive away). We are remote and don't have any neighbours to speak of. Due to its remote nature, the farm can be cut off in bad weather, only accessible by 4x4.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 528972727267