aktualisiert  

Come and help at donkey sanctuary, and restore an old farm in the Galician mountains 🏔️, Spain

  • Bisher 4478 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 20 Apr. 2024

Verfügbarkeit

  2024 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Animal sanctuary for donkeys, horses, ponies
    Help needed around the sanctuary with mucking out, feeding, & maintenance of existing buildings.
    My place is a farm sanctuary for seriously abused and unwanted animals, I’ve been running the sanctuary for over 8 years. I primarily care for donkeys & a small number of horses but have rescue a large number of rescue cats saved from the streets.

    Types of help and learning opportunities

    Animal Care, cleaning out & feeding
    Farmstay help
    Creating/ Cooking family meals
    Help around the house
    General Maintenance

    Accommodation

    I offer private rooms, 2 doubles & three single, and some storage for clothes, There’s a private indoor shower, toilet and washing machine. A shared indoor kitchen with hob and fridge. There’s an old range in the kitchen which provides a heat source when lit, & can be used as an oven. I provide bedding but not towels.

    What else ...
    Local town Approx 1 hour 30 minutes walk. There are taxis. A car or bicycle would be useful if you want to go to the town & don’t want to walk or get a taxi, or explore some of this beautiful region. A car is helpful to explore further afield such as the thermal springs although there are buses from the local town of Chantada & trains from Monforte de Lemos.

    Parking is available a few mins walk from the house.

    We have no WiFi (the local town has bars & cafes with WiFi) but you can get 3G/4G in some parts of the house. It does get muddy at the farm & at some times of year it can be wet & cold in Galicia. We do get great sunshine too though! You need to come equipped with waterproof clothes, warm clothes (for some times of year) & good wellingtons or waterproof boots for working at the farm. I provide work gloves if you need them.

    You need to be confident around equines. Workaways are shown what to do when they arrive & tasks are allocated daily/weekly.

    If there’s others staying then you’ll agree yourselves who’ll cook each day ( usually just the evening meal but it’s up to you how you work it out) & the house cleaning rota. I provide a hoover & all other cleaning equipment.

    Hours expected
    Minimum of 1 weeks stay. 5 hours a day split across the day depending on the animals needs. We start at 9am everyday. Tasks are allocated depending on how many workaways are staying. You have 1 day off a week. You can do more hours if you want to.

    You should bring some wet and cold weather clothing, a towel and some boots for working in mud in and around animals. We do not supply clothing or footwear for volunteers.


    Thank you
    Christopher
    .

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Karitative Arbeit
    Kunstprojekte
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    People will learn all aspects of animal care, how to clean out stables.

    People will learn all aspects of animal care, including feeding, maintaining & repairing fencing, how to clean out stables and do basic medical tasks. How to move a large herd of donkeys & horses around & care for several chickens.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Animal Care help and garden tasks, dog walking, feeding of animals and some building crafts.

    Animal Care help, feeding of animals, cleaning out, maintenance of their shelters, moving hay bales. Sharing the preparation & cooking of meals for themselves & other workaways, cleaning the house & grounds and some land clearance. Ongoing maintenance of the land, animals housing, fencing & maintenance of the main house. General building jobs as required.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    I’m eager to learn any new language but can be a slow learner but will try

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    I can offer a private room with double bed and some storage for clothes, there’s a private indoor shower and toilet too with washing machine. A shared indoor kitchen with over and fridge. And two more basic empty rooms downstairs with a possibility to stay with one double bed and a single.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Local town good 1 hour 30 minutes walk away, tough terrain through the mountains

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours per day, 5 days/week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 369654812512

Feedback (37)



Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.9)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.8)

Kommunikation: (4.9)








































Come explore the opportunities in the beautiful mountains of Valencia, Spain
Live free! Learn how to rebuild your home or build a new one and live off-grid. Jumilla, East of Spain