Volunteering, beach vibes and good times helping with our suites in Playa del Carmen, Mexico

Country

Mexiko

Bisher 203 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    17.01.2021

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    845

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    57.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 9 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    ** First of all I would like to apologize to everyone for not replying. Last months have been hectic, however I’m committed to regain the good score i had for answering messages**

    Hello,

    Thank you very much for having a look to my profile. My name is Eddie, currently living here in Playa del Carmen. Originally from CDMX but I have been around this area for almost 12 years.

    I pretty much run some properties here in Playa, mostly orientated on tourism. However, one of the purposes I signed up on here is to benefit from a cultural exchange and meet people from different backgrounds.

    Most of the time, I am either working or working... haha. But if I am not doing any of those two, I am relaxing at home, at the beach or working out at the gym.

    If you are considering to apply to volunteer with me, keep in mind the following: be open minded (my religious, gender orientation and politics points of view are not average and I enjoy always talking about them with a cup of tea or mate herb drink) and mindful to know and build a better opinion of México (any wrong opinion you might have about Mexico I will help to change it :] )

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Most of our other volunteers come from different backgrounds and countries, most of them are from Argentina or southamerican countries, so language wise... you will improve your spanish, wether you like it or not, but we assume you are willing to do so.

    If you are interested in really cultural exchange you will know that everyday is a chance to understand how we live, how our neighbours live, how things are being run in Mexico, how mentalities and ways of being are different in the shops, in the super markets, the people from the city are one way and the local ones behave another way.

    The cultural interexchange is rich and vast for the ones who are looking for it.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    However, one the main purposes I signed up on here is to get some hand with certain things and areas either in the volunteers house or the properties we have in town.

    This are Some of the following activities:

    + General Maintenance/Housekeeping & Cleaning
    + Managing Social Network/Reception


    This is a very touristic town and the intention is to provide volunteers time to have a good experience and discover the beautiful country we live in. Some of the activities will be very physically demanding some others wont, therefore, I expect all volunteers to be proactive, prominent and efficient and be able and aware to work in caribbean weather is HOT!

    This isn't a job but getting things done is important.


    1. General Maintenance
    Some of the help required here will be painting, electric or plumbing small/easy tasks, moving around/arranging stored items, etcetera. Either in the house or to one of the places in town. Knowledge on tools is importante and handy.


    2. House help & Cleaning
    General cleaning of spaces (rooms, floors, kitchen, bathrooms etc.), occasional shopping if required, cooking, etc. Running mostly home errands or cleaning related activities


    3. Social Network Management/ Reception
    My main interest is getting some help with reception in our suites, this entails customer service, cash flow handling, getting familiar with the place procedures, Managing social network if there’s free time: posting photos, keeping feed up to date, check-ins and check outs, etc


    I have had more good experiences than bad ones with volunteers however to be fair, since playa is a very busy touristic town, I dont accept travelers who just wanna stay few days or less than 3 weeks. Also, if you need constant reminders of cleaning after yourself, or to leave your phone aside while you are volunteering , this isnt probably for you.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    Spanish: Fließend
    French: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Destinated area at home for workawayers will be in one shared dorm with one bunk bed.

    Every bed space has its own curtain, lamp and electric plug. A shared bathroom with hot/cold shower, a shared kitchen and of course, a pool.

    House is located in a gated residential community, pretty quiet, located on the highway right across a popular place called Playacar, 15/20 minutes away from the beach by walk.

    Convenience store, super market are walking distance, and even McDonalds close by!

    I don't encourage guest with to carry a lot of luggage since space is very tight in the house. The beds are premium mattresses so I can guarantee you excellent comfort and good night rest.

    Regarding breakfast and lunch, I will be delivering supplies but you are in charge of your own making.


    Also all volunteers get one day for laundry.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    You get two days off per week, which sometimes will be 2 days together or apart depending on my work load. On this days we highly recommend to visit some of the endless tourist attractions theres around.

    Keep in mind you are coming to a very commercial touristic destination so wherever you go around you will be aiming for a good amount of other tourists. Depending on the season, will depend how busy those attractions are.

    We dont really have strict rules for our volunteers except for NO DRUGS. (-INCLUDING MARIJUANA) while you are volunteering NO EXCEPTIONS, no other kinds of addictions in the premises specially while being on duty such as gaming, drinking, etc. Be respectful of the facilities, be punctual and do what you are meant to do while on duty.

    I embrace all volunteers as friends, I give them the same facilities to use and enjoy same as the guest or my family, so for this reason a trust relationship is NEEDED.

    Based on previous bad experiences, bikes are not freely given... if you want you can leave a deposit for the bike you take and you can use it whenever you want.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 524588449954