Help on a small organic farm in the rural hills of western Massachusetts, USA

Country

USA

Bisher 159 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    04.05.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 14 Tage

  • Abzeichen

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Covid makes it pretty impossible to welcome people onto this farm at this time. I hope this will change in the future but for now I am changing my calendar to show that I really can't take anyone in right now.

    ------------------

    I live on a small farm in the rural hills of western Massachusetts in the US. I grow food organically, have milk goats and also sheep, chickens, etc. I live a quiet life. I ship internationally the flower essences I create here. It is very beautiful here and the food is good. The house is warm and relaxed, the animals beautiful. I grow fruit and nuts as well as vegetables and herbs. I am 58 and have a lot of homesteading and farming skills to share if anyone is interested. I have good neighbors as well. I have several living quarter options. I have a guest room with it's own bathroom complete with shower. I also have a small cabin that is a good sleeping spot. It is nearby and close enough to the house for bathroom use. I live 40 minutes from the Pioneer Valley where there is a lot happening if someone wants to see performances, go dancing, etc. Most people who visit here find it healing, find that they re-orient to a deeper truth within and that it changes them.

    I am a warm, welcoming introvert used to a lot of quiet. I am deeply concerned about social justice in the world and environmental issues. I enjoy conversations with new people as well as old friends. Meal times are a good gathering time. Food is plentiful. I make all our bread, we have our own meats, vegetables and fruits. I use organic food almost exclusively. The kitchen has a lounging area which makes it comfortable and easy to keep company in the kitchen while cooking. Barn chores for the sheep and goats happens twice a day and is one of my favorite parts of the day. The barn feels like a cathedral with animals all happy, friendly and ready to be fed. During the spring and summer months the flower gardens are spectacular. I have over 200 varieties of flowers that bloom here.

    My long term goal is to find some people, singles, couples or families who want to live here on the land on their own homesteads and perhaps share some parts of the farm infrastructure already in place. Neither of my children are interested in farming and there is more work than I can do while still earning a living. I are deeply connected to the land here and use permaculture principals in my decisions making. All growing seeds and feeds are organic.

    My help needs peak at different times of the year but there is almost always some project that would be easier and fun with a bit of help. Right now, as we move towards winter, I have some small creative carpentry projects I'd like help with. In case we have a very cold snowy winter like last year we'd like to create some outside solar warmer areas for the goats so that they can soak up some heat on sunny days. Ideal for that type of project is someone with carpentry skills who enjoys co-designing creatively. It's one of the things I enjoy the most but need help with.

    In the spring and summer there are garden jobs.....starting the vegetable gardens, mulching vegetable and flower beds, etc.. I also have a bit of forest garden that needs some serious work to root out the blackberries that have taken over. This would be a perfect job for someone interested in forest gardens.

    We do have 3 cats that are in the house and in the gardens so allergic people might find being in the house a problem.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    This is rural New England with living on a sustainable farm on 118 acres of mostly woodland. This is a hotbed of permaculture folks, music, dance, etc......or at least down further in the valley that is true. Here the days are quiet and not much work needed. If someone wanted a quiet winter of reflection this might be the perfect place since work load will be low and there'll be plenty of time to think, write, spend time in nature, study the vast library of permaculture and farming books in my library, etc.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    I have Lyme disease and have less then my usual amount of energy. I'd like help with some getting ready for winter projects....a bit of building in the barn to update the hay mangers for the goats. The gardens need trimming back. There is garlic to plant, etc. I'd like to do a few small projects that need more than my energy level. Mostly I am hoping to be able to have a bit of help to allow my body to experience the deep rest it needs to heal. it is quiet and beautiful here and there is the potential of borrowing a car to go down into the valley for excursions.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    either cabin for sleeping in or guest room with it's own bathroom/shower. The common areas of the house are warm and relaxing. The kitchen is easy to work in and hang out in.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There are options for rides downtown to Northampton, a bustling artistic city about 40 minutes away. It's hard to know what someone might want to do on time off but I imagine almost anything is possible in this area.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 522354417918