Help with an eco-project in Serra da Estrela National Park, Portugal

Country

Portugal

Bisher 47 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    21.07.2020

 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    *****************************
    Due to the lockdown we can't host anybody at the moment.
    *****************************

    Four years ago, I stumbled upon Serra da Estrela Natural Park, and fell in love with it. After many travels I always came back, and started to consider it home. Eventually I quite naturally settled down

    I have two different projects going on:
    1) converting in ecolodge an old shepherds farm in Serra da Estrela National Park
    2) renovating and returning to her ancient splendors a beautiful old mansion (approx 1850) in a tiny village
    Usually I do everything by myself, but humans are not islands, and working in team is funnier and more effective, I think.
    I'm looking for people eager to learn and interested in renovation, restore, nature and gardening.
    Good humour and positive vibes are essential requirements, as well adaptability to different situations.
    I'll gladly teach all what I know and treat guests as family members rather than workers.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Sprachpraxis
    Kunstprojekte

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I speak currently 5 languages and I can practice any of them with you. Friends say I can cook very well (beware, I'm italian!) so I can teach you basics or share my recipes.
    I can paint, draw, sew, DIY is my religion, and permaculture is my favourite hobby.
    I absolutely love Cinema. (With capital C)
    I 'm also a beekeeper.
    My neighbours make cheese and they are very very friendly and can show you the process.

    I can share my life, my friends, and my activities with you, if you are friendly respectful and polite.
    It's a simple life, very connected to nature, but offers also some amenities, many bars, café, restaurants, even a theatre and a culture house. (It's a touristic place, due to the nature and the hikes, but not mass tourism)

    I'm a workaway guest as well (and couchsurfer host and guest) cause I like to see things from different points of view, and I'm not that kind of host that leaves you with the job and walks away.
    We'll work together and we'll take meals together. Of course everybody needs his own private time and this will be provided.
    Needless to say that we need to get along well, as I'm not here to slave people, that's why I suggest to start with a week stay and then decide together if we'd like to continue.

    Max 25 hrs work a week, meals provided

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    I have two separate projects going on and I split my time between the two:
    1) inside the Natural Park, 1000 mt. altitude up the mountain, two old shepherds houses, 13 ha. of park, pine and chestnuts woods, terraced gardens.
    I need help planting trees, cleaning the forest, fencing fruit trees, maintaining the property.

    2) in a tiny village, down in the valley, a 1800's old mansion, never restored. I need to knock down some old structures, to sand wood, to clean up an old tailor shop that was inside the house at the ground level, to clean and catalog old tools, to plaster walls, to prepare the garden beds for the next season using permaculture and hugelkultur principles, to make compost.

    I can teach you anything that has to be done, you need only to bring good will and positive vibes. Only for outdoorsy people and for those not scared of getting their hands dirty.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend
    Italienisch: Fließend
    Portugiesisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Both projects (that are half an hour driving distant) have sleeping arrangements and beddings, I chose where to sleep depending on the season, the temperature and the work that has to be done.
    You' ll sleep in a single bed in a single or shared room. Depends on the number of volunteers. Bathroom shared.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Plenty of woods in the surroundings to go walking and mountains to go hiking. Even skiing during the winter.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 496471893567