Hilf mit Huskis, in der Nähe von Blue River, BC, Kanada

  • Kanada
  • Bisher 1729 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 22.01.2023



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat oder mehr



  • Beschreibung


    *️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️Opportunities for well-paid work from JUNE to SEPTEMBER working in BC Parks. Looking to hire two couples who have their own RV/van OR are willing to live with simple amenities in a lakeside cabin. A semi-remote location with world-class wilderness and scenery. You must have a current work visa. Good wage! No special skill(s) required, training provided*️️️️️️️️️️*️️️️️️️️️️ For more information please contact us ASAP.

    You must embody a strong, confident personality as you will be the leader of the pack!

    Helpers who are vegetarian or willing to adapt to a vegetarian (plus diary & egg) diet will be given preference.

    We may be delayed in response time but please contact us with how soon you are able to head to our area.

    My partner and I share our lives and our home with a sled dog team! I speak English and my partner speaks German/English. We are located halfway between Clearwater and Blue River, B.C. This is a remote location so you must be happy to live in a solitary environment. Trips to town are typically only once per month.

    The team currently consists of eleven very happy Siberian huskies, who live indoors with us in a cozy wooden cabin. There is an outdoor running area for the dogs but they love lying on their beds warming up next to the wood burning stove. The number one priority for us is that our dogs are taken care of completely and with much love, respect and attention. They are more than just sled dogs to us and must be treated as such. A natural affinity and love for animals, especially dogs, is a must. You must be mentally confident and physically capable to handle strong, intelligent dogs in a pack environment.

    Our cabin is off grid but we do have a generator and solar panels which power limited WiFi, electricity and a tv. We enjoy watching movies now and then, and own an extensive dvd collection, however, we must admit that we prefer to listen to music instead. At night the cabin is lit by candle light and headlamps are supplied. We have a gas powered shower so it is possible to heat water and have hot showers. We also have a wood-stove sauna if you are so inclined.

    Duties are: running the dog team, feeding of the dogs, dog yard poop duty, doggy sitting and generalized dealing with winter chores: shoveling, using the snowblower, trail grooming with the snowmobile, tidying the cabin and guest cabin. Chainsaw experience and/or carpentry skills would be a bonus :)

    In your spare time, you can relax in our cabin, have a steam bath in the wood burning sauna, go zen in our solarium, play with the dogs and take photographs of the picturesque surroundings. There are lots of woodland paths to to explore and snow to play in!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Apart from teaching you to live in harmony with a pack of sled dogs, we are happy to teach off-grid existence in a low-to-no power atmosphere where water conservation and heating by wood stove is the way of our world. We hope that you will appreciate Mother Nature in all her glory and power and learn to respect the basics of survival in the forest away from most amenities.

    All of humanity could learn so much more, if we would only listen to our dogs....

  • Die vom Gastgeber angebotene Vergütung entspricht dem Mindestlohn

    Die vom Gastgeber angebotene Vergütung entspricht dem Mindestlohn

    Dieser Host bietet Unterkunft und Bezahlung.

    Der Gastgeber gibt an, dass er den gesetzlichen Stundenlohn seines Landes für jede gearbeitete Stunde zahlt und zudem die Unterkunft zur Verfügung stellt. Er sucht Mithilfe an seinem Unternehmen bzw. bei seiner Geschäftstätigkeit. Nutze bitte die Messaging-Funktion der Website, um mehr Informationen und Details zum gezahlten Lohn zu erhalten. Du solltest alle Absprachen im Vorfeld direkt mit deinem Gastgeber treffen.

  • Arbeit


    A valid driving license and your own vehicle would be beneficial if you would like paid work....but also because you might have to go grocery shopping or in case of emergency wherein you need to get to town services. We will need help with the supervising of the dogs, keeping the cabin and surrounding yards tidy, building renos, repair and maintenance, (If you are so skilled: chain-sawing of trees off trails, chopping wood, small engine and/or vehicle repair).

    There is minimum supervision so you must be a self-motivated individual who can complete each job when necessary. There is no fixed schedule, but there are a number of daily tasks which need to be completed each day.


    Some days your daily tasks might be running the sled dog team, tidying of the cabin, brushing of dogs, dog yard chores, trail grooming. It depends on what needs to be done on the day.

    We also like to promote our arts & crafts day where you are encouraged to draw or paint or sculpt or ???? anywhere in our cabin....even on our walls!


    Running the sled dog team
    Helping with the building renos
    Vehicle/small engine repair or maintenance (if you are so skilled)
    Trail grooming
    Chopping Wood
    Scooping Poop
    Feeding Dogs
    Brushing Dogs
    Cleaning Cabin
    Helping around the House
    Heavy Lifting
    Meal preparation (for yourselves)
    LOTS of doggy Cuddles :)

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Deutsch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    We are currently seeking help with the expansion of our guest cabin. Once completed it will comfortably house two people for the winter. It has a sleeping loft, living space and woodstove. Soon it will also have its own solarium/kitchen area as well :)

    You will have either your own private room with a double bed in our cabin or a semi-private bed area in the solarium - dogs are not allowed into the guest room; it is a dog hair-free zone! You may even opt to sleep with the dogs in front of the woodstove :)

    There is a large living room/kitchen with tables, couches, cushions and blankets which creates a nice ambiance to relax with the dogs or in front of the fire. We also have a newly decorated solarium where you can exercise, do yoga or meditate.

    We have a gas stove, fridge and cupboards for your food. You will have to do your own cooking, but we are happy to provide vegetarian food supplies in exchange for your services.

    The indoor bathroom is for limited use so people must not be adverse to using an outdoor 'loo', which is a clean and tidy compost toilet.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Our cabin is quite remote so we would prefer if you have your own transportation or else own a valid driving license so that you can drive our vehicle while you are here.

    We are very easy going, friendly and enjoy meeting new people. We are also vegetarians and find it easy to supply what we already prefer to eat (obviously...ha ha). We are open to accepting a single Workawayer, but if you are a couple, please contact us about the possibilities. We do like friendly, hard working people so if we have the room and you have the means to feed yourselves, we will accept more people. If you are coming to stay here, we can promise you a happy, positive environment with lots of friendly huskies but we will need your help to keep our house running. This will involve a certain amount of heavy lifting and hard labour, but there will be plenty of leisure time too.

    Since all of our dogs live indoors, this position would not be suitable for anyone with dog fears, allergies or issues with dog hairs or dog poop. You will be spending a lot of time with the pack!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 489332424494

Feedback (15)

Weitere Bilder