Help with the rebuilding of our Eco home and land project in a rural valley, Benfeita, Portugal.

  • Portugal
  • Bisher 577 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 31 Juli 2023



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen



  • Beschreibung


    Hi, I am a holistic therapist, working with sound, music, dance, and theatre. I also write and I live with my 2 sons, who are home/community educated. We have some land in a beautiful valley, with a great community, full of inspiring people! We built a shist eco home and lived there until it was destroyed in the big Portuguese firestorm, in October 2017. We have now, after 4 years returned to our rebuilt house, which has taken a while, yet thankfully it is an upgraded version of what we once had. We have two caravans on our land and this is where we invite volunteers to stay.

    The large caravan has a burner, a separate bedroom inside and also has indoor cooking facilities and this is the accommodation available for volunteers. We also share meals. We are in the process of building an adobe outhouse with a shower room, compost loo, workshop, and healing room.

    I have studied permaculture and assisted with teaching courses and like to implement this knowledge, in the creation of our project. We are working towards reviving our forest style, organic vegetable and herb garden. Also this year I would like to rebirth my stock of local flower remedies. Prior to the fire, I had a project to promote flower remedies (similar to the Bach flower remedies) as a therapeutic practitioner and wholesaler.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    There are beautiful waterfalls at the head of our valley and other interesting natural places to visit, including the Mata de Margarca; a small nature reserve, above our valley.

    I am also happy to share my skills and experience in the various things that I do, such as making tree and flower essences, healing balms, raw chocolate, colloidal silver alongside the creation of holistic dance spaces and ceremonies for earth healing. I am also involved in alternative education within the community and am a musician and poet. Of course, my availability will depend upon the timing of what priorities are present, according to the seasons and commitments that I have throughout the year.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    We are creating and boosting garden beds for this years vegetables. There is pruning work and general land clearance, beautifying. planting and enhancing what's here. Help is also required for the holistic produce that I make, such as gathering and planting and preparing herbs, so this is another option, for those with interest in these areas.

    We also have finishing jobs for our new home, such as; treating the woodwork and painting with Lime paint.

    I would like help with the continuation of building an outhouse; which is a bathroom, and healing room/ come potential bedroom, involving mixed materials; such as, adobe and cob, with a lime and sand render and back holding wall, with cement blocks. Other potential tasks on the outhouse are painting, mosaic and tiling. Also, we need help with tipi construction, including cutting and preparing poles. Using the natural material of 'Shyst' we are making a slate paving base for the tipi.

    I am currently directing a mixed-media theatrical production, that inter-weaves many of the interesting characters who live here. The theme is the Enchanted Forest and the vison and content comes from creative sessions with a group of the local teenagers. It will be presented in a summer festival, held in our village, called the Fiesta da Floresta. Help with this project is also welcomed. Experience in the arts, film, photography and PR are all helpful contributions.

    My 2 lovely boys, ages 12, and 16 are an integrated part of this venture and positive input with them is essential and a pleasure, as many friends tell me. I am open for those with interest, to share learning experiences with them. General support within the day to days of life is also very much appreciated, helping to cook and maintain the cleanliness and order of the place.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Portugiesisch: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft


    Currently, we have 2 caravans on our land that can be used as accommodation. There are kitchen facilities and running water. We have a usable bathroom in the outhouse, with a shower, sink, bidet and compost toilet. The bathroom is fully functioning, yet there is still beautifying work to be made inside, involving tiling, lime rendering, and mosaic. There is also a small river and a natural dipping pool, at the bottom of the land.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The area where we live flows with beautiful rivers, streams and waterfalls, offering wonderful bathing places for the heat of the summer and interesting places for hiking in the winter.

    So, other things of interest.. there are a lot of musicians around and artists . There´s also a wealth of community projects happening such as ajudas (communal work days), tree planting projects, environmental awareness, holistic living e.t.c. The village is in walking distance of our home (20 mins), with a small shop for basic provisions and a lovely open air cafe, where wifi is available. There is also a river beach and a small community venue.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    We have no fences, so only accept very well trained dogs, who get along with cats and other dogs. We have 2 dogs and 2 cats and our neighbours also have dogs, cats and chickens.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 488132521514

Feedback (8)

Weitere Bilder


Come enjoy the quiet country life of central Portugal and be near the waves. Close to Nazaré , Portugal
Join in learning together in a sustainable ,ecological direction. Algarve, Monchique.