Turn the Wilsons River into a native flora and fauna oasis

Country

Australien

Bisher 48 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    26.06.2020

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  1 Woche oder weniger

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a couple, a dog and a rabbit. We live on 4 hectares that is a mix of native bushland, mown paddock and some weedy bits that require some TLC. There's a few hundred metres of river frontage that the platypus live in as well as an old weir and water race remnant of an old hydro electric set up that powered Mullumbimby.
    Our work is as a carpenter and in fashion design and production. Outside of work we enjoy our property, camping and volunteer with the local scouts and rescue squad.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We will work alongside you a lot of the time and look forward to sharing knowledge on bush regeneration, native plants and building. There is also some fantastic wildlife on the property including fireflies in the Spring, echidna throughout the year and the occasional koala. Mullumbimby is also a great town with plenty of artistic and hippie flair.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    The main focus on our property is bringing back the native flora. We live on an amazing stretch of river that unfortunately has been over run with weeds such as coral tress, madeira vine and bamboo. As sections are controlled, mainly through the targeted use of herbicide, they are planted out with natives which also need some love for the first few years.
    Other roles may include tending to the veggie garden, cooking and small building projects.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Afrikaans: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You will be staying by the house in a slide on camper. It has power, a stove, fridge, sink, seating and a queen size bed. You have access to the house and our bathrooms (indoor and outdoor), kitchen, laundry, living area and WIFI.

    We will provide all food and share the responsibility of preparing meals. Our food varies throughout the year as we try to make best use of the veggie garden and also out main oven/stove is wood fired so as the weather gets hotter we do more barbecuing than baking. We are vegetarian but are not against you bringing your own meat.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We like to get out and about during the day and maybe watch a movie in the evening. The river at home is a great place to relax or have a swim and the beach is not too far away.
    The closest town, Mullumbimby, is 7 minutes.
    Closest beach, Brunswick Heads, 20 minutes and Byron Bay is 25 minutes.
    Public transport is limited but hitch hiking is common and acceptable should you not have a vehicle or be able to get a lift.
    We are not smokers and do not welcome it at home.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 487184153396