Life in Alaska, wood, wildlife and wilderness, USA

Country

USA

Bisher 403 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    23.11.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    69.6 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 14 Tage

 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I was born and raised in Fairbanks, Alaska and spend my year in different parts of the state. Along the way I guide people in the Brooks Range on hiking trips in June, July, August and dog sledding trips in February, March and April. The business is small and family run. We build and repair with local wood and we heat with local wood we must cut as well. We only take workawayers in the off season, when the business is shut down, but there are always plenty of tasks to do, nearly all of it outside. Depending on the time of year I might also be in Fairbanks, where we host at our home about 20 minutes out of town. Life should be an adventure, and Alaska has plenty to offer.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I speak German, Spanish and English and have travelled to 46 countries. I know what it's like to be in a foreign land and how much more fun it is to be with locals and do local things. In all my travels, Alaska is my favorite place and I love to show it off. I live half the year in a world without roads where the sun never sets, the other half of the year we are buried in snow with aurora dancing through the night sky. It is hard to believe this all exists on the same planet, but it does, and it is worth checking out. I also have lots of friends across the state so it's easy to continue on from here and explore more of the great state of Alaska.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    I live with my girlfriend and 2 huskies in Fairbanks about 20 minutes outside of town. We need help with cutting and stacking wood, gardening and groundskeeping. Occasionally I'm building another shed and doing light construction so there is the opportunity to learn about that as well. We are on the edge of endless hiking, biking and ski trails.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Deutsch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have a spare bedroom in Fairbanks or a tent in the trees on our private land, your choice. Our kitchen facilities are available to our guests and I am usually cooking local salmon and moose dinners to share. The tent is set up glamping style and is ridiculously cozy in the summer. It has a wood stove for winter as well.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We recently updated our internet so it's pretty decent. We have a smart tv for Netflix in the evenings. We have lots of books and stories and you are welcome to wander the countryside in your time off. We have lots of outdoor gear to share and will teach you how to use it. You should like dogs and peace and quiet and nature. I can teach a lot of skills but if you don't have appreciation for those basics then this will not be a good fit. You also need to pick up after yourself. But if you like to workaway and travel, you know that already and you will be as accepting of new experiences as we are to meet you.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We have decent internet with 15mb/sec but it can get knocked out by storms from time to time

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 486615253122