Komm zu uns, hilf mit bei verschiedenen Aufgaben und entdecke Detroit. Lerne neue Dinge und finde Freunde in den USA

  • USA
  • Bisher 789 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 13.01.2023



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat oder mehr



  • Beschreibung


    Hi everyone,

    Jenny & Alex here! After taking a pause in hosting workawayers since COVID, WE ARE BACK!

    We moved to Detroit in 2013 after living in Asia for 5 years. Alex is originally from California and Jenny is from Hong Kong. We met through an internship in Germany. 6 years later, we fell in love while road-tripping through Spain. Alex has a background in tech start-ups in NYC and California while Jenny worked in marketing for L'Oréal in Hong Kong & Germany.

    We LOVE to travel and have lived and adventured throughout Europe and Asia extensively. In 2013 we decided to move back to the US and thought we would end up in California but when we heard they were tearing houses down in Detroit we decided to check it out. As any open-minded traveler knows, a good place can often be distorted by the media so we decided to do a road trip to see the city for ourselves. After driving through Detroit we fell in love with the city! People here have a lot of heart! There is a spirit of resilience and you can feel the energy as the city rebuilds.

    We live in a big house (a mansion built in 1925) with a fascinating history! The place itself was once a family home but was later converted into a hospital and was eventually abandoned. After buying the place we’ve spent the last few years bringing the place back to life and it’s been our dream to host travelers from around the world. A lot of progress has been made and even more amazing friendships have been built over the last few years.

    In September 2021, a new member joined our team - our son James was born! Having a positive impact on our society and hosting travelers for a deep travel experience have always been dreams of ours. We believe through a deep travel experience and the cultivation of friendship with diverse people, we can all better understand one another and we can all become better global citizens. We are excited to have James with us to experience this adventure and we’re now ready to host travelers from around the world again!

    With James joining us, we are looking for individuals who like playing with kids. From our 5 years of hosting experience, if you are learning English and plan to stay for a few months, you will probably have the best experience.

    Another type of travelers are those who are searching for alternatives of what they want to do with their life... whether you quit or are about to quit your corporate job, just entering the work world and trying to figure it all out, starting your own business, or anywhere in between. We see that visiting Detroit can provide perspectives for individuals to reflect, grow and make a difference in their own life. We have experienced the magic ourselves and have seen this happen to a lot of travelers who stayed with us.

    We are well suited to help these groups because of our language skills and our life experiences. See 'Cultural exchange and learning opportunities' for details. Depending on what type of traveler or group you are (solo traveler, couple, family, etc.) we might have capacity but please inquire for details.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Karitative Arbeit
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We are very confident that we can provide a great cultural exchange and learning opportunity for the right candidates if he/ she is looking for:

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Learning English/ Cultural and Language Exchange: We have guests coming from around the world. Staying with us would mean you will be part of it! Jenny is an avid language learner (fluent in 4 languages, leaned 7 and right now learning Spanish) and Alex is a native English speaker with a "West Coast" accent (and also learning some Spanish). If your goal is to improve your English or pick up some new languages, we are very happy to help. There is a free English class in the city we can connect you with and we will provide further opportunities for daily practice and self-learning methodology for you to get fluent as quickly as possible. :)

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Superb Guidance: We have gone through internship programs ourselves (in fact this is how we met in the first place :) ), we were there before and know how to create a meaningful experience for the right candidate. We are also well versed in both the start-up and corporate worlds which means we can offer perspectives on both. (I personally wish I had someone to guide me between those 2 worlds when I was right out of college.)

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Learning what it takes to realize a dream: Doing what we are doing involves not only the planning and analysis component but also the ‘physical’ component which a lot of people overlook. Being with us means you will get to see what it takes to rehab an old abandoned house, and you can also interact with other travelers and meet people from diverse socio-economic and technical backgrounds.

    * Gardening: Have thought of starting your own garden? A few years ago we purchased the property next to our house and we've turned it into a really cool urban garden! The garden provides us with a HUGE amount of food throughout the year and we are happy to share our insights and experiences (both success and failures) with you.

    * Being with kids: Perhaps you have considered pursuing a career in education, but aren't sure if you like working with kids? Staying with us will give you an opportunity to spend time with our toddler (James - born September 2021) and find out if working and playing with kids is something you enjoy!

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ To understand a fascinating city and possibly identify his/her own opportunity: Detroit is undergoing so much improvement and it’s an amazing city to be in right now. Since we’ve started hosting, we have guests from around the world who have come here for a conference or a field trip and have fallen in love with the city and eventually decided to buy a house, fix it up and "start" their life here! It’s an exciting time to be here in Detroit and who knows? Maybe you would want to start something here too!

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ A Fun Place to contribute: Want to meet cool travelers from around the world?! Detroit is becoming an interesting place with growing diversity. The Movement festival and the International Jazz Festival are big hits. But throughout the year, we have been hosting a lot of people from Europe, particularly Germans, French, and Australians. A lot of them can see the similarity of Detroit to East Berlin after the Berlin Wall came down so people find it fascinating to see it here now before things change (and things are changing very quickly indeed).

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    Gardening: We grow most of our food in our large urban garden and we love experimenting in ways to grow as well as the type of veggies we grow. We can use help on daily tasks such as watering, harvesting, cleaning and processing our veggies.

    Cooking: WE LOVE FOOD! And we cook a LOT... and that means we often make food from scratch and make a lot of experimental foods. :) We are looking for help with food preparation.

    Photography / Videography: We love to record videos (vlogs, educational, etc.) to document our lives and would love to find people to help.

    Volunteering: There are many organizations near us (soup kitchens, homeless shelters, urban farming communities etc.) that need ongoing volunteers and we'd love to help them!

    Help around the house: Maintain our common living space

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Deutsch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Chinesisch (Mandarin): Fließend
    Chinese (Cantonese): Fließend
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    I LOVE learning languages and will be happy to share mine. With James in the picture, (Jenny) I've stopped practicing but I'd love to get back to learning Spanish!

  • Unterkunft


    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Minimum Stay: 1 month
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Days: 5 days per week; usually 3-5 hours/ day

    LOCATION (15 minutes or less from most of Detroit's major attractions)
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ 3.2km (2 miles) from Downtown Detroit
    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ 1.6km (1 mile) from Belle Isle (Detroit's famous & beautiful island park)

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ You will have access to a bike during your stay so you can explore the city

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Single bed cabin in our shared room: Our single bed cabins have individual lights, plugs and privacy curtains so you can have your privacy while staying in a shared sleeping area at the same time.

    *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ Groceries & basic food are included. If there is something specific you'd like, please add the ingredients to our "Grocery List" and we'll do our best to get them for you.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Detroit has a lot to offer: A vibrant dining scene, awesome craft beers, rich history with great architecture, a lot of shows and entertainment, sports and games, a beautiful riverfront, museums (DIA, Ford Museum, Motown Museum and a lot more).

    On top of that, the city is PERFECT to bike around and you will be within 15 mins bike ride from most major attractions. There is also a great urban farm culture here. It's hard to miss that when you weave around neighborhoods on a bike.

    We've have put together maps and a full list of things to do for you to explore the city and the surrounding area. Isn't it time to come and check out Detroit?! :-)

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We have high speed wifi at the house. Before this crazy life in Detroit, we had a chapter of digital nomad life as well as start up and corporate marketing experience in Germany and Hong Kong. You can find out more our story in our profile.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We have a lot of space and can possibly accommodate campervans and motorhomes. Please inquire for details.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    14-24 hours per week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 484938843843

Feedback (25)

Weitere Bilder


Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Help our family and enjoy outdoor life near Salt Lake City, USA
Discover this special land, its animal and plant life, next to Joshua Tree National Park, California