Hilf mit der Renovierung meines fünfhundertjährigen Cottage auf der schönen Insel Rathlin in Irland



Bisher 423 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook


  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
  • Beschreibung


    Wow, well what a year 2020 has been for everyone! I have been doing the Workaway thing for a few years now and while inviting someone to your home can be challenging at times it has mostly been a good experience, and I have made some great friends - read the feedback that has been left. I am a single friendly and easy going guy and am in the process of restoring my 500 year old cottage on Rathlin Island, which is situated off the coast of Co Antrim. I am well travelled and have lived in London, Sydney, Hong Kong and New York. I have spent a lot of time crewing a rescue boat in Greece helping with the refugee crisis.

    The inside of the house is almost finished and while in the winter I don't have electricity 24hrs a day, I finally have central heating, hot water and most importantly wifi. I am not connected to the mains electricity supply but have a small solar farm and a back up generator. There are 3 gardens and all but one are still in jungle state as no one has been working them for approximately 50 years! I also have a small orchard that is proving difficult - the weather here can be very harsh. So most of the work will be outside and the big project for the start of 2021 is resurfacing the lane with gravel, there is some concreting to be done and some dry stone walling.

    It is important that people who come to visit enjoy themselves. People who are open minded with a relaxed and chilled attitude and of course a good work ethic will get on fine here. It would be good it you are sporty, if you like to run or practice yoga then Rathlin is an ideal location. If you are a good cook then jump to the front of the queue, my favourite time of day is a late dinner with good wine and great company. If I have taken the time to message you then please have the good manners to respond.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Rathlin is an amazing and beautiful Island with a population of around 140 people, everyone is friendly and welcoming, you will know almost everyone within a few days. You will have plenty of time to explore the island and socialize in the pub in the evenings, The bar on Rathlin is the centre of Island life. We have 2 kayaks and 2 bikes for guests to use when they want.

  • Arbeit


    I do not have a lot of money but I do have plenty of ideas, the garden is currently a jungle and needs sorted and there is a little light building tasks to be done but nothing too hardcore. Some concreting and some dry stone wall building. I want to build a pollytunnel to grow vegetables.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    The spare bedroom is available for workaway guests, it is small but really comfortable. There is also a Caravan at the side of the house so we have plenty of room. All basic supplies for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner are provided. The electricity in the house is powered mostly by an off the grid solar system.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Rathlin is an amazing place and home to an RSPB bird sanctuary and 3 lighthouses. It has beautiful rugged scenery, Ballycastle is the nearest town on the mainland and is close to the world famous Giants Causeway as well as many film locations from the Game of Thrones series. If you are lucky enough you may get to see the Aurora Borealis aka the Northern Lights.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 482236744673