Join our dog-loving family and help with gardening and DIY in Aigre, France

  • Bisher 19 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 14 März 2024



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  Keine Vorgaben



  • Beschreibung


    Tony and I (Jenette) moved to France in the summer of 2018 in the beautiful village of Aigre (16140) and we have achieved a lot in that time but we do need some additional help to get the ever increasing ‘to do list’ shorter!
    We are in our early 60’s and 70’s and are active. We both have a love for dogs, we have an Australian Kelpie, Ellie 10 years (16kg) who lives for her tennis balls and 2 Bernese Mountain dogs, brother and sister, Scooby (46kg) and Stella (33kg) who are under 2 and love the outside and chewing sticks! Stella we have had from puppy but Scooby we re-homed when he was one. We also have my Mum who is 82yrs young living independently with us.
    We both enjoy our motorbikes, I passed my bike test this year, meeting up with friends, board games, socialising and travelling exploring the French countryside. We love living in France and enjoy all that it has to offer. We have a large lounge/dining room which is the hub of our home, a kitchen and in the sous sol is our utility/garage area. We also have outside space for a small camper van and we look forward to welcoming you into our home and lives. We are a strict non-smoking family and lead a relaxed lifestyle.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We live on the edge of Aigre, a 5 minute walk and you are in the middle of a comprehensive village (I call it a town) it offers all amenities; bakers, butchers, supermarkets, bank, restaurants, hairdressers, a newly built medical centre etc. We have the world famous Gautier Cognac House, amongst the oldest cognac houses in France, well worth a guided tour ending with a sampling session and we are in the heart of the Cognac region.
    The famous cartoon town of Angoulême is 40 minutes away where you can view the cartoon murals also hosting the famous Car Rally - Circuit des Ramparts each September. Visit the famous Poitou Charente Donkeys, Poitiers is 80 minutes away and beautiful Bordeaux a famed wine-growing region 2hrs by car. With a local train station a few minutes up the road and the main train station at Angoulême you are not restricted in your travels. The coast is accessible in 90 minutes to beautiful coastal towns and beaches, such as La Rochelle and Royan.

  • Arbeit


    Some of the tasks on the ‘to do list’ are:
    Painting an outside wall that we built.
    Building some raised vegetable garden beds (to keep the 2 young dogs off!)
    We have a large task in sanding down, prepping and painting 14 door shutters & 4 window shutters - they are all crying out for some love and attention.
    Hedges to cut
    Trees to pollard
    Compost bins to move
    Wine barrels to cut and make into planters, treat and stain
    Log store area to make so we can then split and cut logs from trees pollarded in 2019
    And so the list goes on……..

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft


    We tend to breakfast independently (cereals, toast or freshly baked croissante bought from the boulangerie), but we always come together for lunch and evening meals, which are again freshly made. We also like dining out. We have a twin bedroom with single beds, however bathroom and toilet facilities are shared. We have a large lounge/dining room which is the hub of our home, a kitchen and in the sous sol is our utility/garage area. In the garden we can accommodate a small camper van. We are a strict non-smoking family,

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We live in a rural part of the country, we are on a bus route into Angoulême, but having your own transport would be beneficial. There are plenty of local cycle routes, local attractions, brocantes (in the season) and markets with the largest in the area at Rouillac on the 27th of each month, also plenty of kayaking opportunities on the Charente. We would expect you to be dog loving and to 'muck in' with food prep for meals.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 471338542455

Feedback (2)

Weitere Bilder


Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)