Mini-Bauernhof in Tobago sucht Helfer zur Organisierung und Instandhaltung

Country

Trinidad and Tobago

Bisher 43 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    25.01.2020

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    1130

  • Abzeichen

    Facebook verified
 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I live in a little wooden house, with a loft, on an acre of tropical land. I am a carpenter/craftsman, iron welder and small organic gardener. I also play a little flute and guitar and I am trying to get back into my daily practice of early morning meditation, gardening and yoga. Last year I was in Trinidad for about 7 months, so unfortunately, someone broke into my workshop and stole alot of my tools, but, not my primary set as i had them with me in Trinidad. So my projects are still going on as I try to rebuild my tool collection. As I was in Trinidad most of last year, working for people, my house and personal projects got left behind. So I am now looking to start afresh and get back into a flow of creativity and production with my personal creative projects here in Tobago. Right now I am cleaning out my workshop and organising my materials to covert into gold - $$. I have a Table and Mitre Saw, router and bits, sanders, grinders etc. A good amount of tools to make anything possible. I have a mountain of wood, mosiac tiles, mirrors, antique cupboards to refurbish, and other great junk (that came for free) to convert to useful items to sell to craft shops.
    Since I am now starting over I do not have projects in a FLOW as yet, this is going to take some time to set up and organise. If you have any experience in making stuff, or using tools, great. So in regard to helping, I do not have production lines flowing as yet. So if you do come to my place we would see how you could fit in. There are hundreds of things that could be done to help out. Yep. I also need to expand my greens garden to feed volunteers and myself.
    My life these days is somewhat unfoucsed As I work both in Trinidad, and Tobago, doing different projects for people, but, I am really trying to focus more on my life here in Tobago to clean out everything and upcycle stuff. So that brings me to the issue of food.
    Every day I try to cook a big pot of rice or pasta, beans and greens and I am happy to share everything else too, coffee, spices, cooking gas, tp, internet etc etc. But, somehow I do not want the responsibility of having to feed people. Especially 3 meals a day. I am offering a beautiful {everyone says so} place to stay and I share fully what ever little I have. I do not eat breakfast and you can eat what ever is there, but, I do hope you can provide it for yourself or bring it. So if you are coming I would love if you can contribute or bring your own food. Especially if you eat meat or eat alot. Please be independant. This would help me not have to worry about extra things.
    My working hours are somewhat flexible. I try to work every day and sometimes I might work all day and night for 6 weeks straight in order to deliver a project on time. Then I might take a week off just to relax. Sometimes I might go Trinidad for a week or two to work and volunteers are welcome to come and rough it with me. You must have money to travel to Trinidad on the Ferry TT$100 round trip. So volunteer hours are somewhat flexible too, BUT, if you are not part of the workshop, and helping daily, you are going to miss out on learning and creating great stuff. Especially if you want to create your own ideas. Even driftwood and shell mobiles sell in gift shops and the raw materials are provided by the earth. So its up to You to maximize your time and creative talent.
    My real purpose of being on this workaway site is really to share my life, my experiences, music and what ever I have with everyone. God is always good to me and opening my little home, heart and life is my contribution to uplifting LIFE on this our planet, our home. So sometimes I do not really help as such so, if you do supply most of your own food, there would be less problems for me. Still I am happy to share what I have.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Landarbeit
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Sprachen praktizieren
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Volunteer work may include gardening, weeding etc. Also Helping out with woodwork projects like building a deck and shed. Other craft projects may include mosiac tile mirrors or making display items with old whiskey barrels or making drums etc anything out of wood. Also restoring and making items out of old furniture and used wood. I have plenty of old cabinets to restore or covert to useful items. Almost anything is possible. As I wrote above, even driftwood mobiles, with shells and string, sell in gift shops, and, everything is found on the beach. So if you are here long enough you could make it, put it in a shop, you may even have it sold and collect some money for your creative work. I would help you drill the wood etc. You buy the string. Its all yours.
    I also have 2 sons, 15 and 17 (autistic) who sometimes come over and are always looking for people to hang out with. At least that would to get them off the internet sometimes. Volunteers would also be able to make a little money doing odd jobs for people similar to the projects that I need help with. Also, my ex mother in law lives a 1 minute walk away from my house and she always needs help and pays $$. I now have a young Venezuelan volunteer who came to stay till May 2016 and is working for her during the day. This helps her contribute $$ toward food for the house and money for herself. Win/win
    Having been on other traveler free stay sites I have had many different types of people stay at my place, with all types of promises to help. One time, some girls promised saying " Yes we would help you clean up etc, we would like to stay for a few days." No problem, I said. But when they came, they would't even help pick up the pasta that my autistic son dropped on the floor - right next to where she was plugging in her cell phone to charge. I was busy in the workshop trying to finish off a project due in a couple of days. She was even afraid to wipe the dust off chair so she could use it to sit in. Cars pass infront of my house and the wind blows toward it so, yes there is dust. I live in the tropics, so yes there are bugs. Especially when the rains come in April/May.
    I have had some come, stay some weeks, bring plenty of food and work really hard, read all my books, share in the chores and still have plenty of time to travel around the island. These are the best type of vees.
    With that said, all are welcome, even false promises. I know people are generally good and most times want to do their best and its up to me, sometimes, to motivate them by my good example of working hard.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    I have a semi private loft for guests with a queen size bed, a futon and a single bed, a fan and a mosquito net. I sleep downstairs on a foldout couch or a lounge chair with a cushion - very simply. There is also a hammock in the house and an amazing library of alternative books. (So I have been told by guests) Over the next couple of weeks I want to build a deck and that would definitely expand the house. There is also a simple beautiful garden with a fire pit and lounge chairs for spending quiet time.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    This is a fairly small tropical island so the beaches are fairly close by. The closest one is 10 minutes drive away. Other beautiful beaches are about 20 - 30 minutes drive. Public transportation is very easy and fairly cheap. I am not too big on night life like bars and clubs etc. but there is always something to do especially on weekends.

    People tell me that I know alot of stuff and I am very happy to share and exchange knowledge about life and simple, natural living. I would love to learn from you too. Especially spanish and ancestral medicine.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    2-3

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 456894637799