Experience life in a real Trini family home in Fyzabad, Trinidad and Tobago

Country

Trinidad and Tobago

Bisher 17 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    19.08.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    81.8 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 6 Tage

 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I live in the countryside in Trinidad island of Trinidad and Tobago. In 2017, I returned here after living in United Kingdom for 40 years. It was the best decision ever made. I took over and expanded my mother’s kitchen garden and started growing all the vegetables and fruits that we would normally buy in the market as I wanted to be in control of what I was consuming. I am an organic conservation style gardener, with a focus on building good soil, recycling for compost, and working with nature to grow food.

    The garden has expanded to an acre, designed in an agroforestry style, populated mainly by banana, citrus, avocado, breadfruit and other fruit trees interspersed by annual crops of cassava, ginger, turmeric and pineapple.

    I live with my mother and younger sister and her two dogs in a seven bedroom house. Having four bedrooms empty within this paradise, I would like to share with anyone who would like to experience a different type of holiday. There will be opportunities to help in the garden - from weeding to planting to making compost…there is always a project going on.

    Most days are between 30-35degrees, nights are a pleasant 25 (can drop to 20 during Dec/Jan). We have two seasons: Jan to June, hot and dry; July to Dec, hot and wet. With The climate changing new patterns are emerging. Our landscape is lush and tropical. Our beaches are warm and inviting. I live 30minutes from the nearest beach. I wake up and enjoy daily the music of a variety of birds and other creatures.

    What you will experience:
    Real life in a Trini family home
    Home cooked meals
    Comfortable accommodation from quality beds to hot showers and free WIFI service. Rooms are air conditioned and also have fans.
    Outdoor living - hammocks, BBQ area
    Tours of the country: The Pitch Lake, mud volcanos, oil & gas industry, other unique agricultural projects like Moruga Hill Rice, Cocoa & Chocolate industry, beach days, hiking days - once garden work is done.

    What will be expected from you:
    Approx 4hrs - 5hrs daily for five days of the week help with agricultural or home projects.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Seniorenbetreuung
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    My home is situated in the middle of an oilfield. The town is historic as the birthplace for both the oil industry in Trinidad and the Trade Union Movement associated with it. I was born and grew up in the heart of this. My mother who is 90, is full of stories and my father (now deceased) worked in the oil industry and left his written memoirs for all to read.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    There are always projects in the garden so what is to be done depends on when you come. For example, in January 2023, one project is to build a greenhouse area; the second project is to fence of an area to keep chickens, build a coop etc. General garden help: weeding, planting, feeding, making compost. For special projects as stated above: building skills - fences, greenhouse roof, plumbing for rain water irrigation etc.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    I’m interested in learning Italian and and African language.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Large seven bedroom house on two levels. You will be accommodated on the ground level which has two bedrooms, one shower room with toilet, utility space (washer and dryer), kitchenette, living room/library with piano and WIFI. Outdoor living space features sofas, hammocks and an over ground pool. Extensive gardens with fruit trees surround the house.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Tours of the country: The Pitch Lake, mud volcanos, oil & gas industry, other unique agricultural projects like Moruga Hill Rice, Cocoa & Chocolate industry, beach days, hiking days, the wetlands…

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours/day, 5 days/week maximum



Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 319358556434