Help out in an old farmhouse in Vermont, USA

Country

USA

aktualisiert   Last minute

Bisher 673 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    44  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    07.07.2020

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    1304

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    96.2 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • paid opportunity

    Verdienstmöglichkeit

     

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
Last Minute Host: Dieser Host sucht derzeit dringend Workawayer.
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    This is an old Vermont Farmhouse build in 1840. It is located in central Vermont on 130 acres of fields, forest and pasture. It has been in the family since the town was founded. There are beautiful views from every room in the house as well a trails for walking. A short walk down to the brook reveals a beautiful waterfall.

    The buildings on the property consists of the old 13 room farmhouse, a chicken coop, corn crib and a 4 story bank barn. The house is decorated with a sense of longevity. You walk into the kitchen facing the old cast iron cook stove. There is a clawfoot tub in one and a walkin shower in the other of the two shared bathrooms. The rooms are decorated to make you feel like you have stepped back in time.

    Besides running the bed and breakfast, we also make and sell pies and quiches for local farmer's markets. Walk into the kitchen and you may find the table filled with pie crust, the side table with fillings and the old cook stove covered with pies and quiches emitting delicious smells as they cool.

    Because of the Covid-19 Pandemic the bed and breakfast is beginning to open to Vermonters and those from Northern New England excluding Boston and New York City. The farmers markets are opening so I definitely need help baking pies and quiches. We also need help gardening to produce enough food as well as production of cucumbers and green beans for pickles. There is work in the barn as well as a need to fill the wood shed. We will be canning and freezing to preserve food and I would love to have someone take over the household cooking.

    I have a flock of about 60 free range chickens and a kitty so please don't plan to bring any pets.

    For entertainment, I have a piano, lots of movies, the river is just down at the bottom of the hill and the closet is full of board games. There is Netflix, a waterfall and a fire pit. The chickens are also very entertaining.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Altenpflege
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Landarbeit
    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I grew up in Vermont and live on the old family farm. It can feel like stepping back in time where you learn the rhythms of nature, noticing when the sun rises and sets, listening to birds, frogs and insects. Watch thunder storms come across the field while sitting on the porch in the summer. Walk through crunchy, colorful leaves in the fall. Feel the thunder of snow sliding off the barn roof in the winter.

    I have also lived in Boston, San Jose, Ca., Miami and Costa Rica. I have traveled to Europe, Canada, Panama and Mexico. My native language is English but I also speak Spanish.

    I would love to learn more about your travel experiences, where you grew up, foods and customs. I have taught English as a Second language but found that the easiest way and the most effective way to learn a second language is to live where only that new language is spoken.

    Whichever language you speak, I would love to learn a little as well. Please teach me about your customs, about the places you have traveled and your perspectives on life.

  • Die vom Gastgeber angebotene Vergütung entspricht dem Mindestlohn

    Die vom Gastgeber angebotene Vergütung entspricht dem Mindestlohn

    Dieser Host bietet Unterkunft und Bezahlung.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    July update: We need help the baking and cleaning. There is room for camping or a camping space in the barn. See quarentining from the May update. I am also looking for help the a carpentry project.

    June 2020 update: People from northern New England are now allowed into Vermont. We are beginning to get bed and breakfast guests from Vermont. Ideally you would come with your own car. At the moment I need help with cleaning out the barn, weed wacking and creating Glamping spaces for bed and breakfast guests. I would also like to set up some out door dining spaces, composting toilets and outdoor showers.

    May 2020 update: Although Vermont is closed to short term visitors those interested coming for a long term stay are welcome. Like most of the world we are still following a Stay Home, Stay Safe policy so that means that if you decide to come here you would need to come with the ability to self quarantine for 14 days. Ideally you would come with a camper or tent, I have plenty of land. At the moment I need the most help baking pies and quiches as well as cooking meals.

    April 2020 update: Vermont, for the foreseeable future is closed to all visitors. Stay home, stay safe. I look forward to a time when we can all get together for a fun, productive Workaway experience.

    March 2020 update: At the moment I am suspending the call for help on my farm. My 84 year old father lives with me. We all hope that this virus will go away quickly leaving opportunity in it's wake. Until then, stay safe, wash your hands, and look forward to the time when we are all back to traveling and meeting new people.

    February 2020 update: I need help baking pies and quiches, general house cleaning, caring for a few bed and breakfast guests. I also need help keeping the wood fires going. The chickens are getting ashamed of how drabby their coop is looking. Wouldn't you like to come spruce it up?

    I am looking especially for people interested in staying long-term ie several months to a year but I also welcome those staying for just 2 weeks to a month.

    What would you like to do around the house and farm? I have perennial gardens in need of complete overhaul. There are windows in the barn that need new panes. The chicken coop needs scraping and painting.

    If you know about plumbing and or electricity there are several jobs that need to be done including changing two pronged outlets to three pronged and adding a wash tub to the laundry area.

    Do you know how to maintain trails? The path to the waterfall could be extended. How about creating a bench from fallen logs for people to sit on to enjoy the peaceful sounds of nature?

    Do you like to garden? I am looking for someone to plant and maintain the garden throughout the summer... April to mid-October. If you have been learning how to grow vegetables organically and would like the opportunity to manage a garden, this is the perfect place to do so. Hopefully throughout the growing season there will be others who would like to come help in the garden, even for just a couple of weeks.

    Come pick fiddleheads in May, pick black raspberries in June, pack dilly beans in July or harvest cucumbers in August. These are short term tasks that can actually pay a little stipend.

    Do you know how to build an outhouse or an outdoor shower? Would you like to help create a glamping site?

    Have you experienced the fun of a riding mower. turned a compost pile, collected chicken eggs, dug ditches, or made Strawberry Rhubarb Pie?

    We are beginning the process of cleaning up the barn to create livable spaces. This year there are sections to clean out, old hay to be moved to the compost pile, and the possibility of creating a yoga studio. I am scrounging for windows to bring more light to the barn and some electricity has just been added. It is a great place to sleep late spring through early fall with real beds, WIFI, electricity and mosquito netting. Maybe we can add a porch to the front of the barn this year.

    Have you ever sold at farmers markets? Would you like to learn? Selling at farmers markets can be a paid job but it requires a commitment of several months stay, generally mid-May to mid-October. It is the only position that pays. It involves a commitment of at least Mid-May to Mid-October, a valid driver's licence (US or International) and car, excellent command of the English Language, ability to lift cases of pickles, happy, outgoing personality and the ability to sell.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English and Spanish

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Accommodations can vary with the number or guests and Workawayers who are staying here. In any case, you will be given either a twin or full sized bed, possibly in the house or probably in the barn. There are plenty of blankets, pillows, Wifi and electricity if you find yourself in the barn.

    There is free WIFI throughout the house, barn and corn crib. There are two shared bathrooms for the house. Each room has a bureau, side tables, lamps, bedding, and windows with incredible views of fields, forests and mountains.

    Occasionally there will be so many guests that we become creative with sleeping arrangements but there are always real beds available.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Nearby you will find lots of fairs and festivals, farmer's markets, antique shops, and cheese tasting.

    The Long Trail, running from Massachusetts to Canada, runs across the tops of the Green Mountains and crosses the Appalachian Trail. There is a raptor center nearby. While hiking you might see Red Tailed Hawks, moose, chipmunks or Leopard Frogs.

    There is good fishing in the nearby White River or on hot days you might like to go tubing down that same river where sometimes you can see beavers, King Fishers or occasionally river otters.

    Just a couple of miles down the road are a couple of nice restaurants. Sample some of Vermont's finest micro brewery beers with a grass-fed beef burger and locally grown, organic vegetables at Worthy Burger or sit down to a surf and turf platter at 5 Olde Tavern.

    If you have your own car...

    Montpelier, Vermont's capital, is just 40 miles away. Woodstock, Vt. and Hanover, NH are about the same distance. There you will find nice restaurants, streets for shopping, and museums for learning about the history of the area.

    Burlington, Vt is just over an hour away with a bustling downtown and waterfront. There you will find street musicians, shopping and ferries that cross Lake Champlain over to Plattsburg, NY. They also have cruises to search for Champy, Vermont's version of the Loch Ness Monster.

    Montreal and Boston are about 3 hours away, while NYC is about 5 hours away.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.3)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.0)

Kommunikation: (4.0)






























Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 452898764428