Small farm and restoration project in the mountains of Cádiz, Spain

Country

Spanien

Bisher 207 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    03.12.2021

  • Abzeichen

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    WE'RE NOT TAKING VOLUNTEERS UNTIL AFTER THE SUMMER FOR HEALTH REASONS. Apologies to everyone that has sent enquiries recently. I'm trying to keep up with replies but that's the message.
    I have a 2ha farm and half-restored farm buildings in a beautiful rural area of hills and farms near the Sierra de Grazalema Natural Park. I produce my own olive oil, pomegranates, figs and oranges, and do the maintenance work, grow vegetables and work on rebuilding projects when I get time off from my job as a journalist. There's a mature garden which needs overhauling. I'm often here on my own but part of a close-knit Spanish-speaking community. My neighbours are all farmers who are doing interesting things too.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I'm English but all neighbours are Spanish and have worked the surrounding land for centuries. I've learnt a lot from them - about farming, nature, food, life - and so will any visitors. The area is quiet and deeply rural but close to two villages with plenty of cultural events (long walk, short drive) and a language school. We are just under 1hr from Jerez, 40 mins to Ronda and Arcos, and just over 1hr from Seville.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Help would be appreciated with gardening and landscaping (watering, weeding, clearing ditches, creating a raised garden, planting, fencing, pruning) to maintenance (painting, plastering, chopping wood) and maybe fruit picking depending on the season. If you have any experience in carpentry, building, plumbing, electrical work or know about building outside ovens or designing compost toilets, even better!
    Some months I travel for work and so sometimes need mature, self-reliant, responsible house-sitters who can look after the farm, house, dog and cat for short periods.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    A big bed-sitting room with open fire and two beds, and sometimes a double room. Shared bathroom, shared kitchen, but plenty of outside space with tables and outdoor cooking in summer. I write for a living so it's best for people who are quite independent and like their own space. I don't have TV - unless you can put the aerial back up - but there are lots of books and DVDs. Internet access is steady but limited ie its for emails not streaming.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    This is a fantastic area to explore with good walks straight from the door, and river walks and mountain walks a bit further afield. Jerez, Ronda, Arcos and Sevilla are all easy day-trip distance. The nearest villages are Zahara de la Sierra (officially named one of the most beautiful in Spain) and Algodonales (famous for hang gliding). There's a reservoir nearby with kayaking available, and plenty of adventure companies offering canyoning.
    Although best with your own car or mountain bikes, even if I'm not here, it's easy to arrange lifts into Algodonales (15 mins drive away) and from there you have good bus routes.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.3)

Kommunikation: (5.0)







Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 449687923684