aktualisiert  

Join our Spanish-Dominican family and help with daily life in Valencia, Spain

  • Bisher 299 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 19 Juni 2024

Verfügbarkeit

  2024 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Namasté and welcome! We are a family of 4: the adults, Ana and José, are uni lecturers and the kids, Nilo and Yara, are 2 and 4, respectively.

    Workawayers are welcome in Valencia, Spain in the following periods:
    November 1st to December 20th, 2024
    January 7th to March 14th, 2025

    We enjoy travelling, cooking, cultural exchanges, biking, spending time in the nature (e.g. going to the beach, to the mountain, or taking forest hikes), dancing and singing, learning new languages, spending family time and taking care of pets whenever we have the chance to.


    We are looking for a Workawayer who can help us by playing with the kids as well as with house chores, such as cooking, laundry, trash/recycling, clearing the leaves in the backyard, tidying up the house, etc. while practising either of the languages we speak at home: English or Portuguese.
    The ideal volunteer would be an active, dynamic, friendly GIRL or WOMAN who is reliable, punctual, trustworthy and autonomous, as well as clean and tidy. Since we try to live in an environmentally-friendly way, we take short showers, switch off the lights, taps, etc. when not in use, and we also eat homemade, non-processed, healthy food. Thus, we'd like the volunteer to be confortable with that style and have similar habits.

    We are a sociable and dynamic family, as well as very active. José and Ana do research (as well as teaching) in the fields of Business Management and Applied Linguistics, respectively. This means we tend to be very busy but we are also passionate for our profession, and we have a lot of flexibility and can work from home most of the time.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Sprachpraxis
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We can give the volunteer advice about many interesting spots in the area, as well as around Valencia and beyond, as we have extensive travelling experience. We love nature and sports (although we are now a bit limited with our kids), and can show the volunteer beautiful hikes and places to explore.

    We'd love to share different aspects our respective cultural backgrounds (we hail from Spain and the Dominican Republic, respectively) and we'd also love to exchange tasty, healthy recipes. Our cooking is mainly plant-based: since Ana is vegetarian, our diet consists mainly of vegetables, fruits and grains.

    We are friendly and active, and we have extensive experince welcoming volunteers into our family!

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    A suggested schedule for the volunteer would be Mondays to Fridays, from 11.50 am to 4.50 pm, with weekends off to explore the wonderful city of Valencia and its beautiful surroundings.
    A sample schedule would be:
    Mon*, Tues**, Wed, Thurs*** and Fri****:
    11.50: clear breakfast and dishes in/out of dishwasher.
    12.00: help with laundry (putting clothes to dry or folding them).
    12.10: put clothes in closet.
    12.20: take recyclying or trash downstairs.
    12.30: pick up toys/ help organise the house.
    12.40: prepare kids's snack (usually, fruit, rice cookies, yogurt, etc.) to take away.
    12.50: Cook/ help with cooking lunch and dinner, save the food in containers and clean cookware afterwards.
    15.10: leave to pick up Yara and Nilo from school (they finish at 15.30) and bring them back home or to a nearby playground.
    15.30 to 16.50: play with Yara and Nilo at home, innthe downstairs common areas on the playground, give them their snack, draw, read tales, do crafts, sing songs, etc.

    *Mon: on Mondays, suggested start time is 12.50 and finish time is 17.50.
    **Tues: on Tuesdays, suggested start time is 11.50 and finish time is 15.50.
    ***Thurs: on Thursdays, suggested start time is 11.30 and finish time is 17.30.
    ****Frid: On Fridays, suggested start time is 12.00 and finish time is 18.00.

    HOUSE RULES:
    Please speak in English (or Portuguese), as we'd like our kids to practise by creating an immersive language experience.
    Keep around healthy food only and never feed the kids any sweets or processed food . Avoid bringing (or keeping) food or drinks into bedroom.
    Avoid using screens when in the common areas and never show them to the kids.
    Wipe off toilet sink and surrounding furniture after using it. Clean glass with spatula after showering.
    Always lock the main door when leaving if no one else is home.
    Leave shoes in the entrance before entering our home.
    If you use the bike, always lock it properly to a stable, fixed element (e.g. a bike parking hoop) and to its own wheels, frame and seat and never leave it on the street overnight.
    Outdoors, always keep keys and other important belongings in a secure place (e.g. close to your body in inside pocket or kidneybag rather than in backpack or handbag) and never lose sight of them.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Catalan: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend
    Portugiesisch: Fließend
    Italienisch: Gute Kenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    We are a multilingual family: the languages spoken at home are English and Portuguese.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    The volunteer will have her own spacious private room and semi-private access to one of the bathrooms of the house (we might need to use it occasionally).

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Since Valencia and the Mediterranean are two of the most gorgeous, historic and vibrant places in the whole country, the volunteer will never be disappointed and will definitely find plenty of things to do!
    We can teach them about our respective cultures (Dominican and Spanish), language, music, dancing and about nice places to visit or things to do in town as well as in other parts of Spain and abroad.
    José Luis is a great cook so we can share delicious meals, which are mainly plant-based.
    _--------
    Valencia is a must-see in the Mediterranean, it won't disappoint you!
    ------
    Our penthouse is in a outstanding location in the gorgeous city of Valencia. It is also very well connected with the rest of the city with public transportation (metro/tram, bus and public bike rental). However, our favourite way to move around is by bike and we'd love to host travellers who also love biking: we have an extra folding bike that volunteers are welcome to use.
    ---------
    There is so much to do, see and explore in Valencia and around, we are simply of love with this city and would be excited to share information about the best places to explore or the best activities ro do.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We have high-speed Wi-Fi. There will be some quiet moments at home (especially when we are not arround), and quite a bit of noise when we are around ;)

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    The campervan can be parked on the street opposite our condo, there are always campervans parked there. If the campervan is not too high, we can ask a neighbour to lend us their parking space if they are not using It.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours/day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 871483891316

Feedback (11)



Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)
















Help with our garden in the mountains in Asturias, Spain
English play mate for my 5yr old daughter in a village south of Tarragona, Spain