Garden help and childcare in a quiet mountain valley by the sea in Kerry, Ireland

Country

Irland

Bisher 25 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    09.03.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a small family, with two young children. I am an English teacher and speak fluent Italian and pretty good French. My husband Paddy works in wildlife conservation.

    We live in a white cottage in a big garden, in the Kerry mountains, a beautiful corner of Ireland, the Beara peninsula. It is on the Wild Atlantic Way, and has some of the most spectacular scenery you could ask for. Loads of hillwalking opportunities, and lots of ancient sites to visit - our peninsula has dozens of stone circles of various kinds. We can lend you a bike to explore. There are rivers and lakes nearby, and we are on the sea shore (but unfortunately no sandy beach nearby).

    We live in a quiet rural area but can offer lifts to local towns, and further afield too as Paddy drives across West Cork a few times a week. There is also a local bus into Kenmare every morning.

    Our helpers' accommodation is a private bedroom in our home. Bathroom facilities are shared (power shower and spa bath with jets) Free Wifi and use of our home as your own. Our home is warm and comfortable, with outdoor seating areas and a garden. Water is heated using solar panels and the wood burning stove in the living room. We are happy for you to eat with us as a family, but if you prefer some solo time that's totally fine too.

    We have had helpers several times now and found it a great success. Generally we ask for 4 hours help per day, and are happy to help you enjoy your stay in any way we can, organising lifts for you to local towns for example, and taking you around to see local sights (we live on the Ring of Beara, and the Ring of Kerry is close by). This is a great area for wildlife, with deer grazing in our garden regularly, hares, hedgehogs, even eagles nesting about 1 mile away. It's great for photography too, as the mountain views are breathtaking.

    You must be a dog and cat lover to come here, we have friendly dogs and three cats. And some chickens. And there are sheep and lambs all around.

    So if this sounds like you, please get in touch. We are looking for help with garden work outside ( flexible time dates), and then for childcare help in July and Aug.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Kinderbetreuung
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hausarbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I am an English teacher, so whether you want to learn informally or more formally, I can help you with that.
    We live in a beautiful and historic place, which you can explore on foot, by bike, by kayak and with us by car. If history is of interest to you, we can share our knowledge and have loads of books and maps you can use and can help you access the best places.
    I can teach you some Irish recipes too

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We are welcoming help with gardening for about a month in Feb/March 2020, setting up a chicken run and renovating our polytunnel to set a garden. Also cutting hedges, clearing some overgrown corners and similar jobs.

    We are welcoming help with childcare (two boys, age 7 and 10), and occasional housework / pet sitting for a period of about six weeks from July1 - mid August 2020. This is flexible though, so if your dates don't quite match, come back to me. For this summer period, if you are a couple, and one of you can also do outside projects, that would be great.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, Italian, French

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Private room in our home, with a double bed, on the ground floor. Shared bathroom facilities (power shower, and spa bath with jets). Free wifi. In terms of food, we can discuss that, you are welcome to eat with us or by yourself, or a mix! This is a relaxed house so everything is open to discussion. We have a big kitchen, there's loads of room for everyone.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    In your time off, you can use our bikes, or kayaks, or go hiking. There is a local bus service, to Kenmare and Killarney, but we can give you lifts to all sorts of places or arrange lifts with friends (that's how things work in rural Ireland!). We live on the Beara peninsula, on the Wild Atlantic Way, an extraordinarily beautiful place that is quiet and unspoiled. Great for wildlife (deer graze in our garden regularly), great for peace and quiet and walks. Loads of lakes and rivers.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 448747633448