Help at a home for retired donkeys near to Arriondas, Asturias, Spain




Bisher 1170 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    97.4 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat

  • Beschreibung


    Update 03/06/2021: We are covered now until half August. We still have a bit of room in the second half of August en plenty of space from September on.

    Our donkey home is situated in eastern Asturias near the Picos de Europa mountains. There are also 5 horses, one dog, one pig and 9 cats. It consists of a house, stables, caravans for volunteers, apple orchards, woods and meadows - in total ca. 8 ha. This project, set up by Dutch national Marleen, welcomes volunteers preferably for periods between 1 and 3 months as getting to know the 27 donkeys and the daily routine does take some time. The vast area of land and the stables also need attention.

    Skills that are good to mention in your application: building fences, knowhow of a vegetable garden, veggie cooking skills (for groups of 8-10 people), speaking Spanish and (of course) special knowledge/experience with donkeys.

    Unfortunately we can't accomodate volunteers who are travelling with a dog. Please note this is a vegetarian environment and we are looking forward to becoming tobacco free too.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Here you can learn mostly about animal care, but also vegan/vegetarian cooking and gardening.

  • Arbeit


    Activities here are mostly outdoor and centered around the retired, but sometimes still very lively, donkeys. You will have a stable to look after and the donkeys will need grooming and feeding.

    This is what one of our volunteers wrote about her stay:

    '' My time at Marleen's with the donkeys was truly a transformational experience. I arrived a complete novice and really terrified of the donkeys, and now upon leaving, I feel like I've been managing donkeys all my life.

    It's important to note that the working hours here are a bit different than some volunteering sites I've been to. Because you are caring for animals, the work days can be varied and long. There's always plenty of break times, but you should expect to stay busy with some aspect of animal care.

    Days usually started at 8 with the donkey breakfast, followed at 9 by the helper breakfast until 10. Marleen makes a very delicious porridge with fancy toppings of nuts, dried fruits, and seeds, which you will dream about after you've gone.

    After breakfast, it's back out to muck out stables and give straw. Then it's coffee break time around 11:30. After coffee, there is usually some work project to participate in (building fences, digging in the camping area) or just brushing and being with the donkeys. Lunch is usually around 1:30 or 2, and after lunch, we have free time until the evening donkey feeding around 5 or 6.

    Marleen tries very hard to make sure helpers get time away to relax and see Asturias. She is also interested in letting helpers spend time doing the work they most like doing or encouraging work on projects they've come up with.

    The landscapes around the DP are really beautiful and there's plenty of opportunity to walk the dog (or just walk yourself) around the back woods of the property. I was lucky to get to go on quite a few walks with the donkeys, which I highly recommend.

    Food was always plentiful and delicious. Everyone lends a hand with cooking from time to time, which is a nice way of getting to know the food of other countries. "

    *️️️️️️️️ We cook vegetarian and vegan food.

    *️️️️️️️️ we are near to Arriondas which has good bus and train connections to the cities of Santander, Oviedo and Gijon.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Niederländisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft


    - Spare bedrooms in the main house
    - Caravans
    - A cabin about 400m from the main house
    We accomodate about 8 volunteers at a time

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We speak Dutch, English and Spanish.
    Bienvenidos tambien los voluntarios de Espana u otros pai­ses de habla Hispana!

    Volunteers must like the outdoor life as the finca is 3 km from the village.

    Asturias is in the North of Spain, between Galicia and Cantabria (West of the Basque country). This region is called the Costa Verde and as you can imagine it looks more like Scotland than what most people expect when thinking of Spain.

    It's an ideal area for hiking, mountain walking (Picos de Europa, Redes, El Sueve..), mountain climbing, canoeing and of course we also have beaches (no sun guarantee though).

    Oviedo is at 30/55km and Gijon at 45/70km. Of course you can arrange to take a few days off to go hiking in the Picos or walk part of the Camino de Santiago - we are very flexible.

    You could combine your stay with the eco-camping project nearby - run by Dutch people and within 25 km in Asturias.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    5h a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.5)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.5)

Kommunikation: (4.7)

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 442985416842