General maintenance assistance and beach clean up on an island in Palawan, Philippines

  • Philippinen
  • Bisher 842 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 04.02.2023




  • Beschreibung


    Hi! My name is Rex. I live on a private island (Bayaca Island) off the coast of Coron, Palawan, Philippines. My grandfather bought the place. Passed to my Mom. And now, I take care of it. It used to be a family vacation place but after a typhoon destroyed most of the facilities on the island. It’s been neglected after that. So, I decided to make a project out of it.

    I moved here in 2017 from the city, originally to do organic farming. Later on, I realised that getting water to the island is not easy. I have to get some divers to lay out at a water line from my neighbouring island to here. Getting divers to build and maintain the water line is expensive in the long run. So, I decided to be a diver myself. I became a dive instructor on 2018 and decided to start off with a dive camp to fund for the projects.

    - The idea is to make the island self-sustaining, making everything affordable. An Eco-camp

    - A place for retreat and relaxation. Yoga / meditation camp. (I don't teach Yoga. Can't even barely touch my toes.)

    - And a dive camp. Specialising in dive training / skills catering to everyone even people who are too afraid of water. Without having to rush to finish the courses in a specific number of days with many other divers.

    Currently, there is a caretaker with me whose job is to take care of the maintenance and cleanliness around the the island. He makes sure we have enough water, collecting drums of water from the neighbouring island to be pumped to our island as we don’t have fresh water for washing / shower here. Making sure that there are no trespassers and fishermen fishing around the island as I don’t allow fishing here.

    In total, it’s just 3 of us on the island. Plus 4 dogs (Megamouse, Unggoy, Yapu, Big Bear) and a cat named Killer. They are all very friendly animals who enjoy love and attention, so if you have allergies, this may not be the place for you.

    • No roosters on the island! So, we can sleep soundly.

    • I don't have much references here but I do have a lot on other sites.

    • We already started renovations on the island. It's slowly taking shape but it's getting there.

    That’s some of the ideas I have for now. It’s been quite a challenge but then I love challenges. 🏴‍☠️

    Life's a garden. Dig it!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Volunteers will get to experience life on an isolated island. The resources here are very valuable as it’s very limited. I have some musical instruments on the island which I’m willing to share and teach. I’m a dive instructor by profession so I can also give out lessons.

  • Arbeit


    Right now, we’re in need of volunteers who will help with promoting through social media networks in order to encourage visitors to the island as this is a relatively new destination. Help with general maintenance, painting, carpentry and beach clean up may also be required, but this is dependant on the current circumstances.

    Basically, I’m just sharing the place to everyone so to help promote the place :)

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Tagalog: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft


    In terms of accommodation, you can choose! We have tents that we can set up on the beach, which includes a mattress, sheets and pillow. These include a waterproof cover, so if it does rain, you don’t need to worry :) Alternatively, there are buildings which you can sleep in, but these are currently being renovated (we might be working on them during your time here!)

    We also have a kitchen that we can all use. You will need to purchase foods to cook before you arrive on the island. There is a market in Coron (close to the bay where you can rent a boat) where you can purchase most of the things that you may need. If you need more food whilst you are here on the island, these can be purchased as we regularly travel to Culion to collect water and other supplies. We can purchase and cook food together and split the cost, or you can purchase food individually, whatever suits you best :)

    Drinking water will be provided for you on the island.

    How to get to the island:

    As you have already read, this is a private island so there is no public transport to get here.
    There are two main ways that you can get to the island. Both start off in Coron.

    You can go to Coron bay and hire a private boat directly to the island which should cost somewhere between 3,500 – 5,000 PHP. This will be the total cost to hire the entire boat, so if you are volunteering as a group the cost can be split between you.

    Alternatively, you can get a fast craft from Coron to Culion which should cost around 500 PHP per person and then hire a private boat from Culion which should cost around 1,000 – 2,000 PHP (again, this is to hire the entire boat). The fast craft to Culion runs on a schedule, so if this method is chosen you need to confirm the times of the boat.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We have our own beach, best snorkeling places and from time to time, baby blacktip sharks around the island.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Dieser Gastgeber nimmt gern Digital Nomads bei sich auf.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Dieser Gastgeber ist bereit, Reisende mit Haustieren bei sich aufzunehmen.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    Maximum 1-3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 439346712931

Feedback (7)

Weitere Bilder


Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Artist village in Zambales, Philippines
Learn & Grow with us in Siargao, Philippines!