Help at a family run, rural retreat on the Isle of Jura, United kingdom

Country

Großbritannien

Bisher 271 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    12  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    06.12.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    93.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 9 Tage

  • paid opportunity

    Verdienstmöglichkeit

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Small island, big project!!

    We are building a small wellness retreat @bothan.jura.retreats on the Isle of Jura off the west coast of Scotland and we have holiday lets on the Isle of Islay next door.

    Whilst always on the look out for great Workaways we are specifically looking for building help this winter 2022/23 and changeover help next season April - October 2023.

    There's plenty to be done on both islands so you get two Hebridean islands for the price of one!!!

    We need people who are independent and proactive. You must have a car or have a license to be able to drive between both islands.

    Van-lifers would be ideal, as you could be situated at the Islay properties with access to the houses on changeover days for laundry, showers etc.. at least 2-4 times a week.

    We need people to be able roll up their sleeves and get stuck in, work independently and be able to deliver 5* housekeeping.

    Our retreat will be based around mental wellness, specifically cold water immersion (Wim Hof Method), breathwork, wild swimming meditation, yoga, foraging etc.... If you're into cold water, breathwork, wild swimming etc.. then even better but no worries if you'd rather just work and retire to a cosy bed and Netflix!

    Guarantee offer minimum wage for anyone working for us. Hours will not exceed 40 a week (with two full days off) and the wage will be paid for every hour worked and for any of the tasks requested above.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    The island of Jura is due west of Glasgow, whilst quite a large island there are only 200 people, one road, one shop, one distillery, one pub, one school, 6000 red deer! It is very wild and was described by George Orwell who wrote 1984 here as being 'a most un-get-atable place'. And for that reason we love it.

    Unlike neighbouring Islay next door which now boasts 9 (and counting) whisky distilleries and is buzzing with tourists, Jura is like stepping back in time, the children roam free and it's idyllic. That said it is also not for the feinthearted, in winter we are often cut off, power goes down, internet speeds can crawl, the storms are huge, but we have a pub, a village hall, musicians and a great sense of community & fun.

    Jura has the 3 Paps (3 huge hills), an uninhabited wild west coast, remote bothies to explore and stay in, we have wild swimming group every Sunday, fell running , loads of hikes, waterfalls and wild experiences. There is an amazing community here and the music, craic and social life is second to none. We are involved with the organic community garden, a singing group and SUP and kayaking in the summer.

    There are lots of gatherings, beach parties, ceilidhs, festivals and parties, the winter months are full of pool competitions, quiz nights, village hall entertainment. We have a cinema that visits on a lorry 4 times a year. It’s almost impossible to get accommodation on the island unless you work for an estate, so we hope to give someone the opportunity of experiencing island life whilst helping us create something unique here.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Die vom Gastgeber angebotene Vergütung entspricht dem Mindestlohn

    Die vom Gastgeber angebotene Vergütung entspricht dem Mindestlohn

    Dieser Host bietet Unterkunft und Bezahlung.

    Der Gastgeber gibt an, dass er den gesetzlichen Stundenlohn seines Landes für jede gearbeitete Stunde zahlt und zudem die Unterkunft zur Verfügung stellt. Er sucht Mithilfe an seinem Unternehmen bzw. bei seiner Geschäftstätigkeit. Nutze bitte die Messaging-Funktion der Website, um mehr Informationen und Details zum gezahlten Lohn zu erhalten. Du solltest alle Absprachen im Vorfeld direkt mit deinem Gastgeber treffen.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Any or all ... depending on experience we need help with:

    Gardening (including polytunnel)
    Stonewalling
    DIY
    Building
    Site maintenance
    Strimming / mowing
    Ditching
    Painting / Decorating
    Cooking
    Cleaning
    Changeovers

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have a choice of accommodation for you to stay in, caravans or an off grid tiny house on site on Jura. There is also a large agricultural shed . If the cottages are not let out on Islay you can stay and explore on Islay too. Vanlifers can park up on either island and access toilets / electricity.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Jura is the island next door to Islay. On Islay we have two holiday lets that need maintaining and cleaning regularly so there is plenty of opportunity to go to a bigger island every week. There are more things to do on Islay with a hospital, shops, swimming pool etc... it's only 4 minutes on the ferry so you have the best of both worlds.

    We have children and both work and whilst we would love to have some meals with you we provide cooking facilities and food or money towards food we can certainly share cooking but we want any workers to be self reliant.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We have office space, internet access, desks etc..

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We have lots of space for a van up behind the house, with hook up and use of communal shower, kitchen and large lounge area with table tennis / pool table.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    We can but if house sitting with our dog, please get in touch as we would prefer it if you didn't have a dog.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    10-4

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)










Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 428582221464