Learn about permaculture systems and agroforestry while helping us with our food forest as we build a house in Ola'a Hawaii, USA.

Country

USA

Bisher 68 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    03.01.2022

 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat oder mehr

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Hey!

    I'm Scott and live here with my girlfriend, Angela, and our 15 year old toy poodle/bichon, new cat, and hopefully more dogs, cats, chickens and goats to come). I acquired a 10 acre property a about 3 miles outside of Kurtistown, HI almost 4 years ago. We work on our careers, house, farm and food forest a lot. To the point that we could use a few extra hands with the whole endeavor. No commercial plans for the property. Just a home for us and our family. We would love to grow an abundance of food with the land we have. We have bananas and lilikoi (passionfruit) that really produce. Now we are building our off grid dream home and planting a food forest, but we could use some extra hands planting seeds and trees, weeding and chop and drop mulching. We can always use help painting too. Larger projects on the horizon.

    We are looking for reliable, honest, motivated, hard-working, passionate, open-minded learners, who are interested in becoming self-reliant. Not looking for drama or to babysit.

    You should bring: good boots (muck boots and hiking boots both work well). More then a couple pair of wool socks. Flip-flops (slippas) are great for the beach, but get shredded when you are trying to work. Work gloves, a headlamp, rain gear, bug spray (if you don't like mosquitoes), lots of sunscreen, and clothes you don't mind getting dirty. Lots of baiting suit weather or something to keep the radiation off you.

    We have solar power for laptops and phones. It's amazing how much you can run off one 300W panel, battery and inverter, if you actually charge everything during the day. We also have a 2200W generator if you really need some power. DC water pump and propane on demand water heater have our outdoor shower, toilet, sinks all working right now. Still need to tile the indoor shower soon, but everything is working.

    We turned a 40' shipping container into a our temporary home until the house gets built.

    FYI there are some creepy clawing creatures in Hawaii (so big tent recommended, but no snakes)!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Sprachpraxis
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You can learn about permaculture and healthy agroforestry practices. You would get to see the master plan for our food forest and you can help execute and plant it. We can point you to all the hidden locals only type beaches and trails. We've spent significant time hiking in Volcanoes National Park and can recommend hikes. Scott had another career in photography and can teach you just about anything you want to know about digital, 35mm and medium format shooting.

    You would get to see what rural Big Island life is like. Luckily we are about 20/30 minutes to Hilo where there is a airport hospital, big box stores, and cute downtown. Basically as close to those comforts and yet feel far enough away that you get real peace and privacy. Like I said no neighbors and we could even set you up on the other side of the property if you prefer more privacy.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We have a 10 acre property about 25 minutes from Hilo outside Kurtistown. We are in the process of building a house and cleared some extra land for a food forest. Basically we need help weeding out invasive species and chop and drop mulching. We both have permaculture degrees and ready to get our farm set up. Chickens, ducks and goats are coming soon. We can teach you everything we know about permaculture and sustainable agroforestry. We have a library with quite a few volumes about growing food in the tropics we would be happy to lend. But more then anything we need help weeding. Everything loves it here in Hawaii, especially the weeds like strawberry guava aka waiawī aka Psidium cattleyanum and Koster's curse aka Clidemia hirta. Hoping to get some goats to help with these problematic species.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Sign language (American): Gute Kenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Angela is fluent in Spanish and pretty good in ASL.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We would set up a large 20'x20' tent/carport that you see all over the island. We get an average of 180' of rain but things will stay pretty dry under the 20x20. Drier and warmer in summer and wetter and cooler in winter here. We can set you up with a basic kitchen stocked with clean drinking water, double burner propane stove, pots, pans, plates, bowls and utensils. We are vegetarian and can stock you with all the bulk staples you could eat (rice, beans, quinoa, chickpeas, oatc chia, pasta, salt, pepper, spices ect.) We go to the farmers market about twice a week and we would get you the same incredible grown in Hawaii produce we eat. We also have a lot of bananas growing (and always looking to propagate). As of right now we have an extra composting toilet, but we are in the process of building an outdoor shower and toilet that you could use. Not sure how long this process takes as it's our first time hosting, but construction should be done on that in the next few weeks. Most likely before you get here.

    If you had a tent set up a tent under the 20x20 you would be set. Or even just a mosquito net, cot (that we could provide) and you bring a ~40 degree sleeping bag or your bedding. We get some cool nights up at 1000' in elevation in the winter. Cold enough that a few nights a year the coqui frogs stop chirping. According to the USDA Plant Hardiness Zone Map we are about on the border of 12a and 11b meaning the average annual extreme minimum Temperature is 50 or 45. Usually warmer, but we get some "cold" snaps in winter here in the sub-tropics.

    Also we would ask to sign document that would waive us of personal liability. We are just getting by and can not afford a law suit.

    Talk soon!

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    My property is down a dead end dirt road. It's really tucked away and all the adjoining properties are agricultural or empty. Our closest neighbor is about 1/4 mile away. It's very peaceful. The dream is to never have to leave in the future, but there are about a millions steps between now and then. You could walk or we can drop you off in Kurtistown to catch a bus or hitch a ride (common out here). We usually head to Hilo once or twice a week for groceries ect. We would also be able to point out all the local spots that aren't in the tour guides. Hidden beaches, awesome hiking trails best places to eat ect.

    It can rain a lot. We get 180' a year mostly in waves but sometimes we get a sold day of rain or a big multi day system move through. Some days are perfectly clear.

    If you had your own ride, that would be perfect. If not, we can help you get around. Depending on how busy we are at least drive the few miles down to the bus station. We both work full time jobs, but are pretty flexible.

    Not looking to babysit. We just want responsible, trustworthy people (preferable a couple) who are looking to spend some significant time in Hawaii. You can make your own hours. We ask for a minimum of 20 hours a week. If you want to do 2 long 10 hour days and take 5 off to explore the island, cool with us. We know what 20 hours of work looks like and hopefully we can operate on a level of trust where you don't need to punch in and punch out. We are pretty chill. Just be cool, respect the land, don't bring any drama and we hope to be the best hosts we can here on the Big Island.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We have solid ATT 4G LTE at the property. On the waiting list for Starlink when it becomes available in our area. We have a small solar set up and generator to run just about anything. Might get satellite internet in-between.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    If you want to come live the Van Life or drive whatever else can get up our dirt road, go for it. we have plenty of space. Just please don't leave your ride behind.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    If you have a well behaved pet, they would most likely love the space to run.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    20-25 hours a week


Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 425116885679