Organic garden, help out and experience Haida Gwaii, BC, Canada

  • Bisher 144 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 13 Feb. 2024

Verfügbarkeit

  2024 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    2 acres with an organic garden, 40 foot greenhouse, chickens, newborn ducks and one friendly dog.

    I have 8 years experience hosting, I enjoy spending time with travelling folks.
    Located 10km East of Masset, on Haida Gwaii.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kunstprojekte
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Everything was built from the ground up, I milled & recycled all the wood for my house. There's sometimes little building projects and lots of wood around to work with. I also make my own Miso and am interested in learning new ramen recipes.

    Haida Gwaii has lots of wild places, seafood, great people around, the community where I live is a beautiful place to have a home base to explore from.
    Some people find it interesting to see the whole pottery process from clay to high-fire glaze. One of the options for guests is to have clay to play with in your own free time.

    - solo travellers or couples welcome - (unininsulated cabin is too small for 2 people), no children though.
    - I can't accommodate vegans or pure vegetarians at this time.
    - please let me know any specific dietary concerns you might have in your emails

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    I love spending days in the garden and doing pottery, other projects this summer are siding, yard maintenance, irrigation. Some fall projects are picking potatoes, fixing things together, bringing in firewood...

    Other things I might need help with:
    getting seaweed from the beach / working the compost pile / picking and weeding / canning / gardening / planting / weeding / firewood (though most of it is already done for this year).

    Days are usually about 5 hours help with the rest of the day to explore the area. Days are flexible with the weather, which is always changing here, some days longer, some shorter, with some nice days off in there to explore around...
    Part of being here is getting to check out this area which is easier when you have a home base. People can leave things here while they go explore. I have one bike to lend. I live in a small community, close to the ocean and alot of interesting features.

    If you have experience in the arts / pottery / ceramics then let me know, you could explore this for yourself as I have an extra wheel and tools to use in your free time.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Sleeping options:
    - small uninsulated cabin with electricity, internet and lots of light. 6 feet by 8 feet (1.8m X 2.4m), air mattress and woodstove for colder seasons.
    - tenting on the property, (two person tent and thermarests and extra blankets available),
    - if you're coming in a vehicle and prefer to sleep in it you can have power to it and internet access.

    * I use an outhouse so no indoor flush toilet. Outdoor showers, bath and a new sauna is available.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Surrounding area includes beautiful old-growth rainforest 3min walk, ocean 10min walk, berry picking, great community. Focus is on eating local, seasonal and stored vegetables, local meat (fresh and canned): salmon, deer, seafood, fresh rolled oats, wood cookstove... I had milk goats for 8 years, taking a break from them at the moment though I still have chickens and ducks.

    Easy access to surrounding attractions which include Tow hill, North Beach, Haida art and Totems in Old Massett, unusual bogs, hiking trails, fishing, crabbing, a great Haida art museum (in Skidegate), beachcombing and miles of beach to yourself (or almost).
    Every season has it's perks, In the fall there's salmon running and wild mushrooms. There's also a bike you can use.

    I'm interested in music, people and languages from other parts of the world.
    Looking forward to hear from you, Please state what you're interested to learn / do and your previous gardening experience in email.
    (vous pouvez m'ecrire en francais)

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    electricity, water, internet and parking is available

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 394955761842

Feedback (2)


Weitere Bilder

Feedback



Solarbetriebene Hütte in British Columbia, Kanada
Help out on 100 acres in Southern Ontario, Canada