Join us in our lovely town of Wakefield, Quebec, Canada, and help with some odd jobs.

Country

Kanada

Bisher 61 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    05.06.2018

  • Abzeichen

  2019 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    My husband Fritz and I met while travelling - back in the 1970s - and eventually settled in our favourite place - lovely Wakefield, Quebec, Canada. We have travelled to a lot of other places since and still, this is where we we are most at home.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hausarbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer / Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Wakefield is a (mostly) English-speaking town in the French province of Quebec. A very interesting mix of cultures - English, French, Latinos, Germans, Chinese and now a few Syrians as well.
    People here love international travellers - I ran a language schools for 15 years and never had any problems finding homes for the international students. Wakefielders welcome them warmly and you will make friends very easily.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    I need help at my former language school (which is now a tourist home - right in the centre of Wakefield). The interior needs re-painting, the garden has been neglected and needs a proper re-work.
    At home, we also need painting and landscaping.
    Across the road is the house where we used to live and I am trying to get it into better shape. This will be mostly a property and riverfront clean-up.
    Fritz has his former home about 20 minutes from here which has stood empty for a few years now. Cleaning up the grounds and helping him with the necessary work, would help getting it ready for sale.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    German, English (both fluent), French (we get by), Spanish (better than beginner, but not much)

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You will have a room with your own bathroom. Our property is nearly 4 acres and you have access to the Gatineau River.
    We live in a new 3-bedroom house 5 kms from the village centre - a very nice walk (or swim :-))

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Wakefield maybe small, but it has everything you might want to experience during your travels. We have a most beautiful environment: the Gatineau River on our doorstep - swimming, canoeing, kayaking, wakeboarding ... or jumping off our local landmark, the Covered Bridge.
    The Gatineau Hills - hiking, horseback riding, gathering wild mushrooms, etc. etc.
    Gatineau Park is right next door - hiking trails, lakes, camping.
    Wakefield is the cultural hub of the region. We have an abundance of performing and visual artists and musicians.
    We have at least 7 festivals every year - from documentary film to theatre to writers' festival. Canada Day is a wonderful community event.
    We have several musical venues that are famous across the country,
    Wednesday night is Open Mike Night and you'll be amazed at the quality of musicians we have here.

    Most of all, we have a truly active and involved community. If we find we are lacking something here, we will just create it and everyone pulls together to make it happen.
    If you want to get involved with any project you will be welcomed. You could help clear hiking trails. You could help with the weekly Farmers' Market. All the festivals would love extra volunteer help.

    Of course, the city - Ottawa, Canada's capital - is just 20 minutes away so if you are getting one of those urban cravings, hop on a bus or catch a ride. Public transport is fairly minimal around here, but we have a local email newsletter where people post when they need rides.

    We'll have a bike for you and I don't mind lending out my car on occasions.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 393877987731