Providing education and improving the lives of children in Morogoro, Tanzania

Country

Tanzania

new host  

Bisher 50 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    10  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    16.01.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    93.3 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
 
  2022 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 3 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    My name is Selly. I am from Tanzania, and I am the co-founder of a non-profit organization (NGO). We are passionate about supporting children, especially those who live in vulnerable situations in our community here in Kihonda, Morogoro!

    For now, the NGO has no school. We are using the classroom of a day care center / school because the teacher accept to let us use his classroom.

    Here is how it works :
    In the morning : lesson for the children of the school. They are divided in 2 parts : the little one from 3 to 4 years old and the big one from 5 to 6 years old. The timetable is (from 8:00 to 10:00 am) : Monday-English, Tuesday-Mathematics, Wednesday-Sport, Thursday-English or Maths and Friday-Sport.

    In the afternoon : usually there are no lessons but since 2 years the children in vulnerable situations are welcome to come in the school from 4:00 pm to 6:00 pm. They are from 5 to 12 years old and you can teach them the same as you do in the morning or geography, maybe history etc.

    Some children are visibly malnourished and have simple health problems and skin issues, clothes that are torn and do not fit them. Many don't have adequate footwear to protect their feet. Many come from single parent families, or live with a relative due to the parent being ill, deceased, or to busy trying to find income and food. The children respond very positively to adults teaching them and engaging with them.

    When volunteers visit, they are welcome to teach and support either kindergarten : the one in the morning, the one in the afternoon, or both. The classes are short, only several hours long (2 hours in the morning and 2 hours in the afternoon but you can often do more if you want). We have a blackboard, and the kids like to practice the alphabet, counting, learn the names of body part, plants, animals, greetings in English. They love to play soccer outdoors on their break too.

    We need your fresh energy and presence to help us create experiences that will ignite the children's desire to learn and pursue education in the future!

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Karitative Arbeit
    Kunstprojekte
    Sprachpraxis
    Unterrichten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Travelers can learn Swahili language
    Travelers can learn to cook local foods from the local people.
    They can travel to different places here for tours (safaris) tours within the city and outside such as:
    -Kinole Waterfall
    -Uluguru Mountains
    -Selous Game Reserve

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We're looking for someone who can help us with :
    1.Teaching : we would love someone who can teach our children English language, mathematics, and different songs and other simple things for the kids as arts, sports, drawing, painting…
    2. The main project is that we want to become independent and not to use the school that we are actually using. We want to have our own school so it means : buy a land, build the school and all others things we have to think about if we want our project to come true.
    ****
    NOVEMBER 2021 : Nathan, Elie and Pierre came for volunteering and they helped us by teaching the kids but also with a 600$ fundraising that allows us to buy the land. A big thank to them for helping us to do the first big step in our project. We now have a land for the school. They also helped us to think about and to realize the plan of the building : office, classroom, toilets, room and living room.
    The next step is to prepare the land for the building, to estimate exactly the cost of the building (budget) and to help us clarify our project : work schedule, how the organization work, money fundraising…
    The next volunteers will have to continue this project, which mean to teach the children everyday and to help our project of becoming independent.

    Wish List:
    You can bring items to help our education programs things like learning toys, textbooks, colouring books, pencils, clothes, used laptops, good markers and crayons,

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Swahili (Kiswahili): Fließend
    Deutsch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Volunteers will stay in our special house for our volunteers with electricity, security and water. In the house there are a room, toilet and also a living room. The neighboor are very welcoming and you will enjoy to live as a local during the time you stay here. There are little shops next to the house that are selling the basic things you will need.



    During the week or the week end we can go in town to eat in a restaurant, go to the mountain or in a hotel with a swimming pool and a better internet connection.

    Transport
    We suggest our volunteers to use Dar Es Salaam airport because it is near to Morogoro, 4-5 hours by bus. We will pick you up at the Morogoro bus station (bus companies : Abood, BM coach).

    Local transport
    In Tanzania we use private transport and public transport to travel one place to another so it's an option to volunteer to choose what is preferable.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    I am a cool and humble person who loves to meet new people and learn new things. I really look forward to visitors coming, we are always so excited to host volunteers! I want to learn new ways of teaching the children and hear your ideas of how we can encourage and support our students in a more impactful way. You are welcome here!

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Dogs and cats are welcome! We also want to teach the children how to properly handle pets.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    15 hours a week (5 days)

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.7)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (4.7)











Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 391354954146