Come share your love and care with our elderly residents and our cause in Honduras

Country

Honduras

Bisher 119 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    02.12.2019

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    418

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat oder mehr

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a home for elderly poor men and women who otherwise would not have a place to call home. Our mission is to offer them a dignified and happy life. We provide housing, food, recreation and basic health care and have plans to offer much more so they can have richer, more fulfilling lives. Most of our residents can take care of themselves and love to contribute to running the home by cooking, keeping things clean and tidy and planting corn, papaya and other crops.

    The home was founded by Wilhelmina in 1997, who emigrated from Holland to Honduras in 1978. Since then she has dedicated her life to helping the poorest in Honduras. With donations of her own, her family and her community in Holland, construction began in 1997 and ended in 2003.

    The home has 23 houses that are shared by two senior citizens. Each house has its own private bathroom, kitchenette, bedroom, social area and a covered terrace. The home also has a recreation room, communal kitchen and dining room where our residents meet to share their meals.

    We farm tilapia, cultivate fruit trees and raise pigs for our own consumption and to generate additional income to operate the home. Currently we have 8 residents whose average age is 75 years. Most are men because most men leave their families in their youth and now in their old age their families tend to abandon them.

    After several years operating with minimum funds, we are now reaching out to international organizations for grants that will allow us consistent funds to house up to 46 elderly residents and open a day center in the capital.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Altenpflege
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Landarbeit
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Karitative Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Kunstprojekten
    Hilfe mit Computer / Internet
    Unterrichten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You will have the opportunity to practice your Spanish and interact with elderly men and women who have come to live here in the home, as well as with our staff and our founder, Wilhelmina or Doña Wil as we affectionately call her. Doña Wil, who is now 75, arrived in Honduras 40 years ago from Holland and has dedicated all this time to doing good by giving to the poorest of the poor. She has built schools in remote villages, helped give higher education to others, and clothed, fed and housed many elderly people who otherwise would be on the streets.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We are a home for the elderly poor in Morocelí, Honduras. We would love your help with spending fun, quality time with our residents, providing general grounds and building maintenance, social media marketing, fundraising assistance, building a website, database development, reaching out to potential donors, raising tilapia and hogs, gardening and sharing laughs and great stories.

    We welcome your upbeat energy, strengths, can-do attitude and invite you to stretch your limits while you are with us.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    Spanish: Fließend
    Dutch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Three meals per day and a shared room with private bath. Two to four people in one room. Access to a kitchen, living room and our garden and common areas.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Morocelí is an hour away from the capital city Tegucigalpa, where you can find anything from small mom and pop stores and restaurants to high-end shops and restaurants. There are places to hike and many quaint villages to visit, with several just a few kilometers away. There is public bus service every day from Morocelí to Tegucigalpa and other locations. Further away we have Copan Ruins, the Bay Islands and the Rio Plátano Biosphere among others. We will be happy to provide guidance when you are here.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 5 hours a day, 5 days a week




Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 386628796211