Help on a small scale hobby farm in central Ontario, Canada

Country

Kanada

Bisher 184 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    10.11.2020

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    678

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Our Eco Farm is an incredibly beautiful +16 acre homestead, where we are slowly growing in becoming self-sufficiency. We have had lay & meat chickens and plan to start that up again Spring 2020. We have had up to 6 thriving beehives, but we have had serious losses over the past 2 years due to pesticides weakening and killing them. I hope to start up another nuc again in the spring, but am still debating it.

    We grow a yearly organic vegetable garden (mostly for personal use), medicinal herbs, have over 400 large lavender plants, many perennial flowers, and a beginning baby orchard of over 40 different fruit and nut trees and bushes. We hope to start up some mushroom logs again this spring for harvesting in 2021.

    We have a gorgeous spring fed pond that you can swim in from late May to early September. Ingrid is a Psychotherapist and a Natural Building Architect. She is experienced at teaching courses on these various related subjects, including general homesteading and Sacred Ecology. There may also be opportunities in supporting possible events and/or online training's.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Seniorenbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Sprachpraxis
    Kunstprojekte
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet
    Unterrichten

  • Projects involving children

    Projects involving children

    This project could involve children. For more information see our guidelines and tips here.

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You will learn how to become a simple homesteader, gardening, (maybe bee care), chicken care, practical day to day skills of how to manage a large property, small-scale natural building and renovation skills, as well as possible holisitic wellness skills.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Looking for outdoor help, mostly organic (& some Biodynamic/permaculture) gardening, homesteading, chicken care. We have lots of perennial flowers, a large organic veg garden & greenhouse, medicinal herbs, canning/dehydrating/food preservation, small orchard, hopefully bee care & honey making (September), start-up mushroom logs (May) and possible lavender harvesting (July - Sept). We may experiment with soaps and/or ointment/beauty products.

    You may be doing some house cleaning, re-organizing or cooking as needed. Part-time care of my mom (with dementia), although she has 2 caregivers, part-time. She mostly sits in the living room or her bedroom and is lovely company in the present moment. She may need very occasional support to feed or play a game if I'm away on an errand or out for an evening.

    I always have a number of natural building projects that are ongoing, from updating/finishing a school bus retrofit (sleeps 4), finishing a small wood sleeping 10' x 10' bunkie (sleeps 5), renovating the inside of a 1 bedroom trailer (sleeps 5), to fixing up the chicken coops, a few large outside art mural ideas, interior house painting, bathroom reno's & other small house repairs, etc. Maybe build also a pond deck and small canopy area this summer.

    The expectation is 25 hours/week Tuesdays, Thursday's, Friday's, Saturday's & Sunday's (most preferred as I'm not available to supervise on Monday's, & Wednesdays as I'm in Toronto seeing clients, but you may sometimes come with me for the day to explore the city). If you are good at self-directed help with some experience in gardening or building, you will be at the very top of the list. Hours may be able to be flexible and 3 - 4 day trips away can be possible at times (not every week though!).

    Am actively looking for 1 person or a couple who would like intern and stay for 3 - 5 months, starting in May - September, with space for extra people from June to August.

    We also have a very friendly and active border collie dog and 2 cats.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    Dutch: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    I have a really nice guest room in the house with 2 twin beds, 2 full 3 piece bathrooms in the house, an extra bathroom/shower in the coach house and a renovated school bus that can accommodate up to 4 people with a simple compost toilet in the drivers seat area (good for end of May to mid October), as well as a wood frame sleeping bunkie and trailer that I hope to have finished sometime in the spring of 2020 (you may help to finish it!)

    We are often booked no sooner then April to September, well in advance. If you are interested in 2020, please contact me ASAP! I prefer a range of 2 min. - 3 people max. at a time. April/May is about preparing and opening up the property mostly and some building reno work. The end of May/beginning of June can be busier for planting the veggie garden, and then in July/August may be more to concentrate on interesting building projects. August/September is more about harvesting and food preservation processes. Although, things can often change at the last minute with workawayer visitors, so please still contact me just in case.

    I look forward to meeting you and working together soon!

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are located 1 hour away from downtown Toronto, outside of rush hour traffic (we are north-east of Toronto east of Newmarket, 20 min south of Lake Simcoe). And we are about 1.5 hours away from some great wilderness, canoeing or camping areas up north in the gorgeous Canadian Shield area of giant rocks with crystal veins. Suggestions can be provided of where to sight see trips, local entertainment, etc...

    We tend to eat a very holistic, mostly organic diet, sometimes chicken & fish, with gluten-free, vegetarian, vegan, or dairy-free options. We have several board games available, hundreds of books on all subjects of homesteading, natural building, holistic health, mental wellness, spirituality and healing that you may read here. We also have percussion instruments including drums, rattles, silver & wooden flute, guitar and maybe still a small harpsichord piano (if it isn’t sold & it needs to get tuned) for evening fun! We have a large screen TV, and an extra laptop for movies or possible Netflix. There are plenty of DVD movies available too. We also have 2 canoes that can be borrowed, along with wilderness camping equipment.

    I value my privacy greatly, so I expect boundaries to be honored such as my personal spaces (office, bedroom, upstairs bathroom and coach house therapy room), quiet after 10 pm at night, clean up dishes after yourself if not eating with the group, etc. This is a NON-SMOKING house and property. If you smoke while you are here, you will be asked to leave eventually. Alcohol use is minimal, although we do sometimes have some amazing honey mead to try that we have made and/or you may like to purchase your own beer or wine.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Approx. 5 days a week, between 5 hours a day

Spring fed swimming pond with over 100 pink water lilies!
Andrew & Camille eating wholesome and healthy food!
Interior of greenhouse
Buddha Garden
Franzi, Riki & Silas, workawayers from Germany, taking a refreshment break after a hard job at scraping paint of the deck! (April 2017)
Awesome workaway students, Franzi & Riki, from Germany planting seeds in dining room (April 2017)
Ingrid, owner, in coach house building therapy office, Jan 2020
Try some of my organic honey mead wine! My first batch (May 2017)!
Beehive management and honey making!
Entry to Veg Garden!
Putting the rebar in place for the curved concrete roof of the new cold cellar!
View of coach house building on left and main house/screen porch on right, with giant organic raspberry bush in the very bottom front of photo!
View of main house from Flower Garden area.
School bus interior reno. Summer accommodation for 3 - 4.






Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 385916392483