Come to Maine and help on our family farm. Piggies, gardens and yard work

Country

USA

Bisher 87 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    -

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    25.08.2019

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 5 Tage

  2019 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We have a 74 acre farm in the Mid-coast region of Maine where we pasture raise pigs, chickens and turkeys with respect and dignity. We also have 3 dogs, 2 cats and a horse.

    I will be attending 2 farmer's markets weekly May through October. We are planning to expand the vegetable gardens this year and produce more value added products.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Landarbeit
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Sprachen praktizieren
    Sonstige Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer / Internet
    Unterrichten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Mid coast Maine is a great travel/tourist destination. Portland is a great little city and is only 1.5 hrs away, the White Mountains have various offerings depending on the season within 2.5 hrs and Boston has much to offer 3 hrs away. Locally there are many hiking trails, swimming spots and beautiful views. I'm happy to share what I know about farming and teach about the rare breed of pigs I raise.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    My daily chores include feeding and watering animals, and during the warmer months planting, watering, weeding and harvesting of the garden, jam or soap making or baking breads and treats. Some help with family meals is welcomed, though you have a separate kitchen and we won't share all meals together. There is always a wish list somewhere be it home/farm maintenance or a small construction project, fence building, splitting/stacking firewood, removing trees killed by livestock, barn cleaning, stone wall repair, lawn mowing and basic landscape work. There are a couple of thresholds that are in need of repair by someone with carpentry skills and we're overdue for some exterior home staining. I also have an instant garage frame that I'd love to have moved to a new location and some woods trails that could use some clearing. Our horse has become an overweight pasture pet and would benefit from some experienced horse handling & exercise. I sometimes need computer/internet assistance, some help learning Spanish would be nice as would beginner violin instruction. If you have something to offer that isn't mentioned here, please chime in!

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, little Spanish

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Accommodations are in our guesthouse here on the farm which is a 2 bedroom ranch with full kitchen and bath. There are 4 twin beds as we occasionally house other volunteers or a farm apprentice as well as WorkAwayers.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are 18 miles from the coast, there are many hiking trails and lakes and ponds in our area. Camden, Belfast and Rockland offer downtown shopping, restaurants and night life. We have a canoe for you to use locally. We are in the country and public transportation is limited.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 383579674734