aktualisiert  

Homestead farm in the Texas Hill Country, near Austin, TX, USA

  • Bisher 566 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 24 Juni 2024

Verfügbarkeit

  2024 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 3 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D

Informationen

  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are Clark and Lora, and own 28 acres in the Texas Hill Country. On our property we have 2 horses, 7 goats, 40 chickens, 3 cats, 2 dogs, and 1 tortoise. Our projects range from animal care, property management to construction, permaculture, gardening, landscaping, and more. There is never a day without something to work on.

    Our ideal helpers would be a couple willing to work with us for 4-5 hours a day, five days a week and be flexible around meals…sometimes, especially in the summer, we have lunch on the go and eat a very late dinner. We do eat meat, but not at every meal. If you require meat at every meal, this may not be the best fit for you. Many of our meals are vegetarian or vegan to suit those in our family who choose to eat that way. As hosts, when we make meals, our workers will be welcome to join us in eating. Lora does not love to cook (hah!) so you'll be free to make your own meals most of the time.

    For the most-part our help hours are between 7:00 AM and 2:00 PM (and then also evening animal feedings), but rain, heat, or other obligations can cause us to start later and end later, or work all day into the evening on one day, and take the following day off. We love our afternoon siesta, and expect our workers to also take a little break in the afternoons to reset for the day. We've always got a list of projects to tackle, but are also happy to rest after putting forth a big effort.

    While we are English speakers, Clark is proficient in German and loves learning and trying out all other languages.

    *NOTE - We are NOT able to host workers who are traveling with their pets.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kunstprojekte
    Sprachpraxis
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Regarding our location, the Texas Hill Country is often times compared to the hills of California. The square in Wimberley, our town, is about a 15 minute drive away from our property and is a popular tourist destination. There are many fun shops and restaurants in the square. Nearby are a large number of swimming holes, the Blanco River, and a handful of state parks under an hour away by car. For convenience, it would be best for our worker to have their own car, though this is not absolutely necessary.
    We can teach our workers a number of things about property maintenance, animal care, and general construction, while working on the many projects we’ve got on our long to-do list.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Help with Animals, construction projects, and general property maintenance. We usually wake up around 6:45 AM and start our morning animal duties, which include: mucking stalls and feeding our goats, horses, dogs, cats, and tortoise. Then we have breakfast and choose a project to tackle for the day (building a barn, pulling fence, trail maintenance, painting a mural, construction projects, gardening/landscaping, etc.)

    By 2:00-3:00, we are normally wrapping up work for the day, and spend the rest of the afternoon swimming in the pool, working on personal projects, or napping. The average workday is about four hours of labor, sometimes more, sometimes less.

    Our evening animal routine is very basic. Feeding everyone and making sure they're secure for the night. It takes about an hour and is a very enjoyable time to spend with the animals.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Deutsch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Clark is interested in all languages and would love to learn as we work together. He formerly taught English in the Slovak Republic, so does have a background in teaching the English language.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Accommodation available for our Workawayers is very nice. Workers will either stay in a remodeled 1967 camper (which we call the Armadillo) or in one of the bedrooms of our upstairs apartment. Spaces/bathrooms may be shared with other workers. The full kitchen in the main house will be available at any time.

    There is acceptable internet access in the main house and apartment.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Our town, Wimberley, is a fifteen minute drive away, and offers a variety of fun shops and restaurants. There are many parks and swimming holes nearby too and, within an hour-drive you can reach a number of state parks and other destinations in the hill country. The town of San Marcos is a 45 minute drive away, and offers larger stores, chain restaurants, movie theaters, a floating tour on the river, and shopping malls. The state capitol, Austin, is about an hour drive from our house, and San Antonio (one of the oldest cities in the United States) is just under two hours away. It would be best for our workers to have their own car, however, if they’ve got a drivers license, we may be able to provide a car from time to time.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Our internet can be limited at times, however we are happy to host workers who have their own online obligations, as long as the time needed for those things can be somewhat flexible.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We do have plenty of parking available, and may be able to accommodate a motorhome or campervan if our number of workers allows.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    5 hours, 5 days/week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 373995894795

Feedback (12)



Weitere Bilder

Feedback

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.9)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.8)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

















Come live on our ranch on the big island in Keaau, Hawaii
Join our family in Dallas area, Texas, USA