75 year old ex-pat artist, anthropologist, disabled USA veteran, social entrepreneur, living in İkitelli, in Küçükçemece, İstanbul, Turkey.



Bisher 378 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks


  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook


  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
    Facebook verified
  • Beschreibung


    I am a single, Swiss-New York native. lived in north and south america, and in the middle east since 1986. [expat half my life]

    Fulbright Fellow in Turkey in the 1980s, taught in Turkey, in the Arab Gulf, in the Ministry of Higher Education of Oman - including setting up educational websites in the 1990s, and in Palestine in 2005.

    anthropologist, applied linguist, football photographer, writer, social entrepreneur, soccer/football official. haiku-haibun haijin. culture-language. [i got a slew of degrees, certificates, professional experience and a bit of unprofessional experience ;-) ]. I have at least 10 cases of photographs, negatives & slides [several times was exhibited by Akbank Galerisi as one of Turkey's top dozen photographers]. boxes of research. Fulbright Fellow. in the 90s developed award winning educational websites. not a a famous anything but . many years were spent taking care of isolated disabled elderly, street children, homeless, refugees, parolees, lgtbq and domestic violence survivors, certificates in crisis intervention.

    75 years old, disabled [spinal disease: C-T-L-S scoliosis, spondylosis, stenosis; asthma, allergies, TBI, partial temporal lobe seizures]. living on my USA VA disability and a SS pittance. NOTE: a 100% USA VA disability is a disability, and it doesn't come easily. it means somebody's gotta help me sometimes]. help me make the next 75 years more interesting than the first 75.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    This is not a tourist district: it's a very ethnic neighborhood. Languages most spoken in the neighborhood are Turkish, Kurdish, Arabic, very rarely some English and an occasional German speaker, in a typical Istanbul industrial neighborhood that includes both a modern contemporary shopping center and a traditional weekly outdoor market [as well as an organic market on Sundays outside the shopping center] -

    the whole spectrum of contemporary urban Turkish life from the furthest left to the furthest right. from the most up to date to the least so, including refugees. - within reasonably easy and cheap public transportation to Istanbul's cultural centers by subway, metro, public bus, minibus, taxi, and tram. Haghia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, the walls of Rome, Mimar Sinan's masterwork, the Bosphorus, and contemporary culture

    photographically a treasure house of color and cultural diversity. local sports clubs [football]. 10 minutes from Ataturk Airport. if you want there is MacDonalds Burger King KFC Starbucks to be had, but mostly döner, lahmacun, köfte-kebab, etc. and even one place with felafel now

    for 2 thousand years plus, Rome / Istanbul / Constantinople / Byzantium a been a crossroads of culture art and commerce. before the Common Era, centuries before Constantine, Kucukcekme was an international port [ port excavations now discovering just how important this area always has been.

  • Arbeit


    Can you help me digitize & organize more than half a century of photography?

    Organıze my fıles and records:?

    Clean up, help with the dishes, vacuuming, dusting, organizing 75 years of collected life, maybe help shopping, maybe hanging laundry to dry, watering the plants, if possible help with physical therapy. no chıldren to care for. lots of children playing outside.

    I am a 75 year old USA disabled vet living on disability compensation [low-income]: a USA VA disability rating of 100% is the real thing. it means you are seriously disabled, unable to work. that does not mean i don't work. that does not mean i'm looking to throw ought everything of my life. it means i need help. - my mother died at 97. my brother was a pentathon athlete until he was 80. my father ran 5 kilometers every day till he was 85. so 75, with your help is only the beginning, with your help.

    photographer, writer, educator, activist, living in a working class ethnic suburb of Istanbul. a very traditional working class ethnic neighborhoodö now wıth about 20% Syrian Arab/Kurd refugees ( Syrıan Kurd restaurants, barber shops, beauty salons, sweet shops..) i've never lived in any ex-pat quarters. in palestine, i lived in the village, not in the faculty building. even where i didn't speak the local language, i learned *️something*️ - if even for just a few days and weeks i was there, laz, gurcu, hemshin, kurdish, arabic, brazilian portuguese, bulgarian, serbian, bosnak, greek, in oman there are languages whose names i don't know, lawati, i'm no 'linguist' i forget faster than i learn it but people are family.

    we're located near a modern shopping center, a lot of public transportation, 10 minutes from Ataturk Airport by taxi, a few minutes from the Mall of Istanbul

    I am older, way over-educated, disabled and living on disability. I have a wide variety of photography and internet projects. I really need help putting my place in order, maintaining records, cataloging my work (including photography, writing, recording, ethnic and performance documentation, political organizing.)

    I need help with housework. help with physical therapy if possible. note 100% usa VA disability: that's all the money i got.

    I was an educator, involved in wide range of Internet projects, on-line teaching, political organizing and social networking, psychological support groups, scientific research, education web sites- since the 1990s in the middle east and turkey including some awards here and there. Fulbright Fellow. FIFA football. linguist. anthropologist. Interested in food and cuisine, hospitality (grew up in a hotel, have owned a B&B in Pamukkale, a restaurant on South Street, Philadelphia, helped manage a well publicized bakery in NYC that trains homeless as an NGO), hosting (BeWelcome, formerly involved in hosting volunteers, Hospitality, etc.): come and help me give back

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend
    Arabic: Gute Kenntnisse
    German: Gute Kenntnisse
    Kurdish: Gute Kenntnisse
    Turkish: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft


    two bedroom first floor railroad apartment, several single beds, and a couch, and turkish style futons. it's on a back street in a very ethnic [kurdish & syrian]neighborhood. there is hot water, a bathroom with a shower, WC a la turca, a washing machine, well stocked kitchen, stove, an old refrigerator, small electric oven, sandwhich toaster, juicer, charming neighbors, personal private library, wi-fi, computers, peripherals, good cook. no smoking no alcohol no drugs. nearby very modern up-to-date shopping centers, local traditional outdoor weekly street markets, nearby weekly outdoor organic food market, kids playing in the street, futbol, very traditional, very ethnic, family neighborhood. recently about 20% Syrian Arab/Kurd refugees with all kinds of new Syrian shops. 2 street cats have adopted us. and in our neighborhood, football is an asset. non-binary friendly. LGTBQ friendly. prayer rugs for prayer. no shoes indoors. no western style plumbing. WC a la turca. the apartment needs some repairs ... the building is very neighborly, virtually family.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    we are non-binary, non-binary friendly -

    this is Istanbul Turkey: what can't you do, see, experience, learn... I really know a lot about Turkey and the Middle East, its hıstory culture languages polıtics religion, its architecture, its holy sites, tourist centers, famous personalities and histories of its cultural treasures, its mores, - academically and practically,- having graduated in anthropology from UofP and having been a Fulbright Fellow here, and having never lived anywhere near Americans or Western Europeans for the last 30 years.

    my experiences are unique, including doing Haj twice, Ummrah a half a dozen times, and having traveled by car from Muscat to İstanbul and back many times, and having been in most of Turkey except the far southwest. I did not travel ever to Yemen, or Lebanon (although I've had a lot of frıends from Hadramouth). Otherwise covered the area. Including teaching in Palestine.

    I am dual Swiss-New Yorker. I know local artists, activists, ordinary folk, scholars, (including some pretty famous Turkish personalities), etc.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum a couple of hours a day, a few days a week. no minimum.

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 359774661124