Help in our olive fields and with some DIY projects near Izmir, Turkey

Country

Türkei

aktualisiert  

Bisher 207 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    42  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    28.11.2022

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    97.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
 
  2022 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Our property is 40 km inland from Izmir, 5 km away from nearest town, Turgutlu. We originally built barns for breeding sheep and a warehouse for storage, however the area is under constant change due to a new highway so the surroundings have also changed drastically. There are no animals currently but a basic level of maintenance is still required to keep the place intact.

    I can use help with painting, small construction and restoration projects, cleaning and landscaping. Volunteers should be comfortable with this farm in a relatively busy area setting. We also prefer to sleep in town which is considerable in size with all its buzz and local characteristics.

    We still have around 200 olive and several fruit trees in two separate fields. Our main focus has become olive oil production. We harvest olives by mostly hand-picking in October-November for several weeks. In the winter and early spring, we prune our trees and prepare the field for the next year.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    I can offer olive farm experience, communal living, travel stories and an introduction to local history and culture. The most unique experience will be to see relatively simple life in a traditional agriculture-oriented Aegean town away from mass tourism and big cities. There are some less-known historical and nature sites like Sardis, Mount Sipylus, Lydian tombs of Bintepe worth visiting. You can always reach other well-known locations like Ephesus or Pamukkale by bus. We sometimes go hiking around the local hills and villages.

    I am an experienced traveler myself (South America, Southeast Asia) and lived abroad in the US and the UK for many years. I recently cycled three continents over a five-year period. I like sharing my stories over many cups of tea. There are various English language books you can also read while here. We have a projector for watching films at night. Backgammon is also quite popular among visitors.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    I need help with farm work, gardening, digging, lifting, cooking, cleaning, DIY projects etc. Main requirement is fitness for physical work, all other skills offered by volunteers will also be considered. People with disabilities are always welcome. I hope to make this a communal effort and the project is open to other ideas.

    As we approach the harvest season, the main tasks include olive picking, marination, logistics and transportation to the factory, etc.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Türkisch: Fließend
    Deutsch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse
    Französisch: Grundkenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You will get a private room in town where we own several apartments. Some of the apartments are lightly furnished without heating but usually adequate during most seasons. I am vegan but not restrictive about the type of food cooked. We cook mostly vegan together and people can also visit various restaurants in town on their own to try other dishes. There is no unlimited broadband internet, but I may enable limited hotspot on a my mobile phone for messaging and basic access only. It is recommended to get your own sim card if you need constant connection.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Izmir is a large metropolitan city for all shopping, entertainment and transportation options. You may be able to catch a ride with me from Istanbul where I also spend time occasionally. I am also on Warmshowers for bicycle travelers.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Dieser Gastgeber ist bereit, Reisende mit Haustieren bei sich aufzunehmen.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (4.9)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)



























Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 358396627358