Come to our countryside home and help with daily life in Galmaarden, Belgium



Bisher 5 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    66.7 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 2 Tage


 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

  • Beschreibung


    We are Astrid (48) and Erik (62) and we live in Galmaarden (Belgium). Galmaarden is situated in the countryside at approximately 40 minutes drive from Brussels or Gent. It is a beautiful area with a hilly landscape. We are about 3kms from the train station and have a bike available for you.
    Our project is an old farm for that we have been renovating for the last 13 years. And although it is not completely finished yet, it has become a beautiful place. We have a spaceous home and part of the farm is rented as a holiday home. Other parts are still in renovation.
    We have a large garden with an orchard (12 trees apples, pears, plums) and a large kitchen garden. All is grown organically.

    Erik is an engineer working mostly from home and Astrid runs her own private practice in natural healing techniques. She also accommodates small group activities such as meditation classes, women circles, workshops etc. She works in a local flower shop about 2 days a week.

    We speak dutch (mother tongue), English, French and a little bit of German.
    Our place for a workaway is available immediatly.
    We are, and our house is non smoking. Drugg use is not allowed and use of alcohol limited to special occasions.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    We try to live a spiritually oriented life in a healthy and respectful relationship with our environment and all living beings that we share our world with.
    We grow all our food organically and are always looking for better ways to preserve and proces foods and care for ourselves and the planet.
    Astrid is a medicine woman and runs a practice with natural healing techniques. She loves to share her knowledge.
    We accommodate travelers in our holiday home so we have a lot of people passing in our project. Always very interesting meetings :-).

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    We are looking for a workaway who loves working around the garden, helping with harvesting vegetables and fruits and process fruits into jams, dry herbs and berries, make soups and prep vegetables to freeze.
    We mostly ask for help in harvesting, processing harvested fruits en veggies and keeping the garden and premises free from weeds. Also some light household works helping out with laundry (no cleaning as we have a cleaning lady on weekly base). We might even ask you occasionally for a hand in renovation-related works (like going to the container park with debris, helping us clear some area's from material)
    We would love it if you like to cook :-).
    We are looking for someone who can work and function independently and has an eye for stuff that needs to be done. We like you to take initiatives and make suggestions for our project :-). We want this place to be to shared with the world and are always looking for nice ideas to do so.
    An example is that we recently opened our garden to free camping for cycling or walking tourists.
    We ask about 4hours work 5days a week, Working days can be agreed on.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend
    Niederländisch: Fließend
    Deutsch: Gute Kenntnisse
    Spanisch: Grundkenntnisse

  • Unterkunft


    We offer a large own room in our house. It is not completely renovated yet, but it offers all necessary comfort needed and 3 meals a day. We share our meals together and the cooking will also be shared responsibility.
    We are tidy people and would like our workaway to be so as wel :-).
    Sidenote: Our bathroom is not finished yet, we are working on it as we speak. So you might be showering in our improvised outdoor shower for a while ;-).

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Our area 'Pajottenland and Flemish Ardennes' are great for walking and cycling. We are a 30-60 minutes train ride away from Brussels, Ghent, Antwerp, the coast or almost any place in Belgium ;-).

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We have very limited wifi but have a good cable internet connection.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    We have a large parking place where you could park your campervan.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 357293227651