House and garden maintenance near New Plymouth, Taranaki

Country

Neuseeland

Bisher 26 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    27.09.2020

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    I am Max and I am known as the Global Grandad. I have been taking in tourists for four years and I provide accommodation in exchange for help around the place. I live on my own, with two cats, and I have a bad knee from an accident, so I need your help to maintain my house and section.

    I am a retired secondary school teacher and still relief teach from time to time. Fishing is my lifetime hobby and I have often taken tourists fishing too.

    I have three adult children, one lives abroad, one locally (who comes by every now and then for a catch-up), and one in Auckland. If I will be going to Auckland, I may ask you to house-sit.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Taranaki has a lot to offer travellers, especially those who enjoy the outdoors. There are lots of skills you can learn here - learning to use the ride-on mower, the weedeater, how to service and maintain a car. This is a great place to learn some skills and life experience.

    Tourists enjoy sharing cooking recipes, collecting their own food from the garden when in season and discovering local places. I can help with travel advice in New Zealand. If your car has a problem, I usually know where it needs to go for repair.
    COVID19 UPDATE 14/7/2020
    During lockdown here I was forced to shut my accomodation down as requested by the govt.
    I used this time to start renovations in kitchen area.
    These have evolved into a massive electrical rewiring job,throughout the whole house and the fitting of a new digital oven and cook top ,plus all new switches and lights as required and upgrading others to take new LED bulbs and lighting gear!
    As I have been doing this,I have also been relief teaching for 2 weeks .
    Renovations are still underway .
    I expect to be able to take 2 workawayers by the end of July and as time passes the other 2 bedrooms up stairs will become available as they are completed and upgraded .
    My strawberry and Berry garden plants need urgent attention from this time on as I am struggling to cope with the workload of renovations and relief work and garden section needs .
    If you can prove you are Covid free by testing and have written / online confirmation of that from the NZ Govt. agencies concerned I can accept a booking from 30 th July if you are a genuine tourist with a clean Visa record.
    Please contact me if you can help around the Berry gardens in particular and the rest of the place .All other arrrangements are as on my profile above .
    Cheers! Global Grandad Max.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Typical tasks around here are mowing the lawn (the majority is accessible with a ride-on mower), weedeater, garden plot weeding and general upkeep, standard housework such as washing the floors, washing windows, help with cooking dinner and doing the dishes.

    It is expected that you leave the upstairs tidy when you leave - remaking the bed (spare sheets are in drawers), bringing sheets down, clean the bathroom. Check your vehicle for cats when you leave as they have a habit of packing themselves in cars and vans.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    The property:
    Modernised farmhouse in a semi-rural area of New Plymouth. Land of about one acre, landscaped and with fruit and berry plants. Off-street parking for cars, campervans, space for a caravan.
    Downstairs are the kitchen, dining room, lounge, laundry and my room and bathroom. Laundry has washing machine and dryer, ask me to show you how to use them when you need them. There are also drying racks and and an outside washing line.

    Your space:
    Visitors stay upstairs in the house, which has three bedrooms, a full bathroom and a radiator on the landing. Two doubles, one with twin singles. All have views to the sea and surrounding hills. All bedding provided and a multi-plug with USB ports is available in each room.

    Food arrangements:
    Those on special diets (vegetarian, vegan, allergy/ intolerance) can be catered for, feel free to discuss, I'm sure we can come to an agreement everyone is happy with. Evening meals discussed in advance and usually a team effort with the prep and cooking of it.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There are three bicycles available, different sizes, also a tow-bar mounted bike rack. There are lots of cycle trails, city and country, to explore.

    New Plymouth has a historic town centre and is only ten minutes' drive away. It has art trails for those interested, plus op-shopping, cafes, an indoor mall and events such as Womad, Americarna and the festival of lights if you come at the right time of the year. City buses run to the lower part of the hill and have bike racks.

    Mount Taranaki, known by locals as 'The Mountain', is the feature of the region and offers long and short bush walks, skiing/ snowboarding at the right time of year, and a cafe. All of Taranaki's major attractions are accessible by car or bike or on foot, a 4X4 is not required.

    Van repairs and maintenance are available locally, for example WOF, tyres, automotive electrical, self-contained certification, replacement parts. Fuel station just down the hill. 'The Valley' shopping complex about 2km away, includes a supermarket and a hardware store. Past tourists have found this house to be in a very convenient location.

    Pick-up/drop-off at the bus station or airport can be negotiated if you do not have a car. Both are about 10 minutes away driving.

    In general I am happy to host tourists from anywhere abroad, who holds a working holiday visa, can be a part of the household and can cook at least one signature dish from their home country. Recipes are written down in the global cookbook and must be written in English.

    Room and full board in exchange for fifteen hours a week, flexible days/ times around weather and your chosen activities. If the work is harder, less hours are expected.

    Tourists must be okay with cats. Do not bring pets or children. Okay if single, couple, or friends travelling together. Smokers okay, outside only. I smoke out on my porch. Social drinking okay, non-drinking okay.

    Would prefer a basic understanding of English for communicating. Genuine, honest and forthright responsible tourists are welcome to stay.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)






Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 355596758668