Help wanted at kennel with Alaskan Huskies in Alta, Northern Norway




Bisher 395 mal gespeichert

  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks



  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität


  • Last email replied


    81.5 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 9 Tage


 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat oder mehr

  • Beschreibung


    from January 2023
    We are looking for a person to help us take care of our Alaskan Huskies from January and until snow melts in April/May 2023. We prefer someone that is able to stay for at least 1 month or more as it takes time to get into all the routines and most important; time to get to know the dogs. The dogs are a part of our family and it is very important that they are happy and good taken care off.

    You need to be able to work under demanding conditions as we do dog sledding in all sorts of weather conditions and winter up here in the north can be very challenging. Working with dogs also involves long working hours in physically demanding conditions. This is not an 8 to 4 job but a lifestyle. It is important that you are reliable and is able to work both in team and independently.

    We hope you are:
    · Good physical shape with no health problems preventing you from doing physically strenuous tasks.
    · Responsible, organized and hardworking
    · Have a passion for dogs
    · Keen to learn
    · Maintenance (fencing, repairing cages, dog-houses and sled-dog equipment)
    · Should be able to see jobs that needs to be done – without having to constantly be told/directed
    · Keep calm in stressful situations

    Some of the tasks; just to mention few of them is:
    Feed the dogs 2-3 times a day
    · Keep the dog yard clean
    · Socialize with the dogs
    · Help us prepare for the training and also train dogs if we see that you are motivated enough
    · Improve the trails
    · Cut meat and prepare the dog food
    · Fix or build

    For us this is more than work and our dogs are more than dogs; they are our friends and their wellbeing is important to us.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    As we are situated outside the city center and living close to the nature there are possibility to enjoy nature and go hiking up in the mountains. In the summer you can experience the midnight sun and in the winter starting from mid September until mid April you have the Northern Lights. And you will also learn about our special way of living with our alaskan huskies.

  • Arbeit


    We need someone that is able to:

    - help out in the dogyard
    - feeding of the dogs
    - keeping the dogyard clean and tidy
    - Maintenance (fencing, reparing cages, dog-houses and sled-dog equipment)
    - improving the trails
    - during autumn and or winter assist during trainig sessions

    As you can see the list of tasks will be long but the reward is to get to learn more about dogsledding and how to take care of the huskies, how we prepare for the dograces and how much we love our 4 legged fury huskies.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Deutsch: Gute Kenntnisse

  • Unterkunft


    You will get your own accommodation with your own kitchen and private bathroom , free access to wifi, We provide food and accomodation for workawayers.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We also have a car that can be used if available to go downtown to Alta where you can visit the Alta Museum, The Northern Light Cathedral, the library, cinema, shopping center etc. In the sourroundings of Alta there are different hiking trails. During winter you can visit the Ice hotel, go snowmobiling with us, skiing, snowshoeing and dogsledding:)

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 351559145876