Hilf uns aufzuräumen in Italien

Country

Italien

Bisher 780 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    75  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    20.11.2020

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    506

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 7 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Top Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We live on a hillside with a view down a valley & woods all around. We follow the seasons, planting and tending the veg patch in spring, growing vegetables, harvesting, olives and chestnuts, keeping chickens and Bees. Life here for us is a mixture af nature and creativity, art, ceramics and architectural making projects. We need helping hands throughout the year as the circle of life turns, not so much with the art but the general upkeep and harvest. It may be preparing ground, planting tomatoes, collecting chestnuts or olives, making preserves, bringing in wood, building, cleaning the house or much more.

    In the Autum we are looking for help for the chestnut season. In late Summer with the upkeep of the garden, vegetable harvest, and jarring the tomatoes or chutney and other general garden and outside work. Spring I am starting to think about constructing an outside terrace with a natural pool with some heavy work clearing rocks from a ruin and stabilising the remaining walls but this is not the main project. I like to balance work and mix it up so that we chip away at the heavy stuff and feel inspired with the more creative. Who needs a gym when one can put energy to good use in beautiful outdoors?!

    Our project to create an Artist Retreat started in 2008. We have nearly finished with the restoration but are constantly developing new elements and projects. We have had much help over the years and shared many experiences and made many friends and connections through workaway. Some 40 plus workawayer have stayed with us over the years.

    We are, Marcus an Architect, Lucy an Artist (in our mid 40's), Lola a joyful little soul who is 9, a cat called Berty who arrived out the woods, two younger cats, a few ducks, and 5 chickens and a Cockerel.

    We are 10km away from a town of any size, we go in 2 times a week, including most Saturdays, which is the main market day, but we try to avoid too many car journeys (one car). So you need to be the kind of people that are happy being in nature, walking/cycling, reading, making art and just being or baking! There are bikes, if you want to explore the hillside or visit a village about 5km away that has a shop, a small bar and some things to see.

    Food wise, we are not vegetarian but do not eat much meat. We are taking life back to first principles, producing as much of our own food as we can or source it from our the local market.

    Life here is a mix, low tech hands on working the ground and having fun being creative .

    We hope to hear from you
    NOTE: Covid, is bringing complexity at this time so we would ask for references fro previous hosts or work related associates, we are especially looking for people who are possibly driving or taking a lot of care to be as safe as possible. More questions are being asked, and long term visitors need to be willing to identify themselves to the local Comune.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    As a helper here you have the chance to get involved in a homestead, semi self sufficient, semi off grid way of life.

    What you will be involved in here at any time of the year are things that are happening across much of rural Italy at the same time. Whether that be planting or preserving tomatoes, harvesting chestnuts or olives, or preparing the garden and house for winter. making bread or you can ask for a lesson in pasta making and if we are many, and you are a real foody and experienced cook you can take over the kitchen duties. So you will find genuine Italian experiences that you cannot buy as a tourist, you can only truly experience them by living, working and doing them.

    We are developing and improving our system all the time and like to share our knowledge and experience with, and learn from our visitors. We believe in reciprocity, being resourceful, environmental, working with the seasons, nature's diversity and beauty, peace and tranquillity.

    There is also the potential ART lessons between harvesting or jobs.

    We are both very technically capable in practical making and have skills, building, sustainability, architecture, back to basics as they say- Cooking, a very creative life.
    We are on the doorstep of Leonardo Da Vinci and Pierro Della Francesca.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Help makes all the difference. We have all the skills but a hand to get various gardening and odd jobs done would be great. People with experience in building is sometimes useful, some healthy people with muscles often necessary.

    We need help with the chestnut harvest 7th OCTOBER to 20th then Olives starting around 2nd week 2nd NOVEMBER or a bit before for about two weeks , chestnuts lasts 2 weeks to a month maximum. You need warm clothes, layers, hardy shoes, as chestnuts are prickly, even gloves if you have them! There are beautiful views and tasty food guaranteed! Walking outdoors picking chestnuts, competing who can find the biggest one! and then philosophical debates as we sort them! Good coffee, good house, healthy work! Environmentally sound. More males applying please to balance out the team so far!!!
    Our working day is flexible with a mix of the primary projects and smaller fill in things. There are painting jobs or gardening, take your pick. We generally get going after a cup of coffee and a morning chat at 8.30 - 9 although it can be earlier depends on the heat of the day. ...and occasionally we need house sitters for Summer trips away or Easter.

    We like people that are flexible and go with the flow rather than trying to be rigid with a program. Sometimes we do work things at the weekend but then sometime we take a weekday to go out and about on a trip. We are now looking for some male helpers too as we have all female applicants so far, but we are not closing applications from women either!

    We welcome visitors into the house as friends not hired help. In that exchange , we ask that you muck in with food preparation and tidying up (we do have a dishwasher and quite a few mod cons to help)
    We also ask that you respect our home and tidy up after your selves and kept it as you found it, or tidier!
    Otherwise in giving help you create new work for us.

  • Languages

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    English: Fließend
    Italian: Gute Kenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Rustic farmhouse, with lovely country views of Umbrian woodland hills, with walks all around.
    It is a blend of traditional with modern quirky creative interior.
    Wi-Fi in most of house excel when there is a storm and sometimes it goes down for a day, NO Television.
    Good showers, clean comfy beds
    Dish washer and washing machine.
    The water is heater by sola panels or a Wood burning boiler, so sometimes in winter autumn, if the sun is not out or I have forgot ton to light the boiler at the right time there can be a delay.

    For the summer months you can also camp in tents in the terraces for a beautiful view and more 'closer to nature' experience, you can't beat the sounds of nightingale, swallows and deer on your doorstep in the morning!- frogs and fire flies, wild boar, and porcupines and wolves at night if you are lucky!

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    The best way to contact us first is Email, WhatsApp or text. During travel and meeting up use Texts to mobile phone which is often better than calling due to poor reception at the house itself. There is a place we put our phone that we regularly check when we are expecting news.
    Getting here:
    Plane to Perugia Airport; Pretty easy to pick you up from there. OR
    Plane to Pisa airport or Rome; take Train to Arezzo Station or Perugia Ponte S. Giovanni ; either we pick you up, 40min drive for us or... From Perugia Ponte S. Giovanni you take a train/bus to Citta di Castello. From Arezzo if we are busy to pick you up there is a bus opposite the train station to hop on, destination San Sepulcro or Citta di Castello. you get off at Le Ville or Monterchi (be careful not to miss the stop!) and we can pick you up from there; a 10 min drive for us.

    Picking you up from Arezzo- Depends how far you have come how late you arrive, what day it is and how tired you are! (an Ice cream or coffee stop on arrival at Arezzo train station always a must for a tired traveller.)

    From Pisa Airport there is a train to Arezzo with one change at Florence MSN.
    (check Trenitalia.com for train times, and best to print out your journey to make it a lot easier when you are travelling)

    Citta Di Castello is our nearest town, we are 1km from the Tuscan border near Monterchi next to a little hamlet called Prato. See our website for all this and more details.
    Change of clothes useful for mucky work, sturdy shoes. Wet in November.

    General; water in Italy is in shortage in the Summer so you have to use it mindfully, we also heat water and get electricity from the sun so we understand it's worth and also use it with care. We are a pretty resourceful family!
    Hope to see you soon!
    Time off: Walking, films, chats, reading, painting or cycling in time off. Weekly trip into town sometimes more if shopping needed. Visits from friends and neighbours. (No bus into town.)
    It is important you communicate your needs and ask lots of questions by email before you come (and during your visit if you are in need of anything), so you are clear about what to expect and so do ask any and as many questions or clear any worries away that you may have. We also tend to keep it quite open so people are freer to leave if they feel like it. But sometimes people ended up staying much longer than they intended!
    We tend to fill the day working and eating and chatting, also making time for you to go for walks or have some free time, also the weekends are for you to do as you wish.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    The car park. They can use the showers etc. But only one van at a time. Space for a tent or two.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Flexible 5 hrs 5 days a week

We also have 2 double rooms, this is the bunkhouse
Look at the beatle!
chicken house next to veg patch 1 early Spring
garden view
View from window early morning Autumn

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)














































Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 349435264241