Come and help our 2-Mom Family with childcare in Squamish, Canada

  • Kanada
  • Bisher 261 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 7 Dez. 2023



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat



  • Beschreibung


    We currently have the help we need and are looking for assistance from January 9th - February 27th 2024.

    HI there. We are Daniele and Jacqui, 2 moms to our awesome kids, Rayn & Pace. We are looking for someone to help us with house keeping and childcare. I (Daniele) am a psychologist with special focus on LGBTQ+ populations, gender identity and expression, social justice and feminist ideologies. Jacqui (my partner) is a Pediatric Occupational Therapist. Our kids are aged 6 and 5.

    I am originally from New Brunswick and have lived in the Vancouver area of British Columbia for over 25 years. Jacqui was born and raised in greater Vancouver. We live in one of the most amazing places in Canada! Squamish is internationally known for its climbing, mountain biking, kite boarding, and hiking. We are a 45-minute drive to Whistler, where there is world-class mountain biking and skiing!

    We love nature, hiking, skiing, backcountry backpacking trips, cycling, craft beer and cider, cooking good food from a variety of genres, spending time with interesting people, and have historically been world travellers. Jacqui spent a year teaching English in Korea and had the good fortune of visiting many Asian and South East Asian countries during that year. I (Daniele) had the opportunity to visit Israel and Timbuktu, Mali for an extended period of time during my younger years. In addition to these experiences, we have both travelled to Costa Rica, Cuba, Iceland, Spain, Hawaii, Chile, Mexico, and recently went on a 3-week family adventure to Thailand.

    We are looking for someone who has similar interests and values, who can help us keep our family life afloat. We are the people who like to host dinner parties, advocate for marginalized populations, enjoy being in nature. and generally try to be good humans.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Jacqui and I are well-travelled people who have spent time in many countries around the world. We are people who enjoy learning about different cultures and we love spending time with people from diverse backgrounds. We identify as queer and provide a safe space for everyone, particularly LGBTQ+ and other populations who have experienced rejection and/or discrimination in their lives. We will provide a warm and welcoming home, great conversation, and if English is your second language, we are more than happy to help you practice your skills!

    We are a 45-minute drive from Whistler - one of Canada's most breath-taking areas... in the Mountains. If you enjoy hiking, mountain biking, skiing, mountaineering, and/or just generally enjoy the wonder of the Mountains, this is one of the most epic places to enjoy these activities. Our house is a 15-minute walk to the shuttles that will take you to Whistler…. And if you are into rock climbing, there are world-class climbing routes within walking distance of our house.

    We are also only a 50-minute drive away from downtown Vancouver... one of Canada's most beautiful cities. Vancouver has everything a city has to offer -- amazing restaurants from all cultural backgrounds, concerts, theatre, beautiful parks, great shopping, etc. You can access the daily shuttle from the same location where you find the Whistler shuttle.

    I'd like to think we are good cooks, so another bonus of joining us is enjoying good Canadian cuisine. I am French Canadian and Jacqui is Polish-Canadian, meaning we have some delicious meals that are informed by our ethnic roots (sometimes).

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    We need help with keeping the house clean / tidy + taking care of our kids. It's amazing how quickly the house can turn into a disaster when living with kids. :)

    Tasks will include things like unloading the dishwasher, vacuuming the wood floors, tidying the living room(s), keeping your bathroom clean (you have your own), cleaning up after meals, and general tidying at the end of the day. The general schedule will be Monday - Friday, with most days being structured like this:

    Eat your breakfast and unload the dishwasher + do a couple of chores
    Enjoy the day doing what you want
    Hang out with the kids from 3:30pm - 5:30pm
    Have dinner with us (if you wish)
    Do the dishes, clean up the kitchen, and tidy up the living / dining rooms.
    Take the evening to do whatever you like -- your jobs will be done by 7pm at the latest.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    We are both fluent in English and Daniele has minimal abilities in French. We enjoy learning about different cultures and learning the basics in a variety of languages.

  • Unterkunft


    We are living in a 2-level, 5-bedroom home that has a private area on the lower floor for our guests. You will have your own room on the lower floor, furnished with a queen bed, night stand, and spacious closet for your belongings. You will also have your own private bathroom and a spacious living area with a big comfy couch and TV (hooked up to Netflix). The privacy this offers allows you to have down time away from the chaos of family life when you're not helping out.

    We will share a kitchen with you, though you will have access to a small kitchenette on the lower floor. The kitchenette has a bar fridge, 2 pot induction stovetop, an espresso machine, and a toaster oven. We will provide all food, amazing coffee (we have a pretty awesome home espresso set-up upstairs), and are very open to buying food & snacks that are to your preference. Generally, we would expect that you prepare breakfast and lunch for yourself. We usually try to have dinner as a family and would love to have you join us for this, if you wish. There is zero pressure or obligation to join us, however, and you can choose to join us on some days and not others -- it's completely up to you!

    We also have a hot tub, sauna, and exercise room that you are welcome to enjoy!

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Our house is situated in one of the most prized neighborhoods in Squamish. We are walking distance to some of the most popular climbing routes and you can access walking trails and mountain biking trails right from our house. Our home is a 20-minute walk to downtown Squamish, where you will find grocery stores, restaurants, boutique shops, coffee shops, and yoga studios. If you don't feel like walking, the bus stop is just outside of our house.

    Squamish is a town that has a lot of young families, so there is plenty of opportunity to find work doing childcare and/or odd jobs during the times you are not helping us with the kids / house. Most people pay $15 -20/hr.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal


  • ...


    5 hours each day / 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 348387278185

Feedback (8)

Weitere Bilder


Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)

Language exchange and help with daily life in Arundel, QC, Canada
Help out with a vintage motel and bike tours on the agricultural island Ile d'Orléans, Quebec City, Canada