Help on an organic farm and ecotourism lodge in the cloud forest, Santa Rosa, Ecuador

Country

Ecuador

Bisher 227 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    04.05.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
 
  2021 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Our place is an organic farm and ecotourism lodge on the Western slopes of the Andes. We grow coffee but also a host of other cropsI am a Cuban-American conservationist and photographer who has lived in Ecuador for 39 years, the lodge and farm is run by myself and our neighbor Roberto. Though I love working with the soil, because of the threat of a large-scale mining project 20km away, I spend most of my time as an environmental activist. The farm is located on spectacular a 500 acre Cloud-Forest reserve. As an ecotourism lodge we only open for groups (typically 10 in a year). Our guest are usually students and we provide birding opportunities, guided hikes, and lectures on local conservation issue, among other activities. Our accommodations are rustic (composting toilets, solar showers, no electricity in the cabins) but comfortable. We maintain several trails, three cabins, and an orchidarium for our guests. The farm is diverse, and most everything is produced for our and our guests consumption. Besides growing shade- coffee, we also have all kins of citrus, avocadoes, bananas, pineapples, vegetables, tree tomato ect, etc... And, yes ,dogs, cats, chickens, a horse and a cow or two. We are located 1 hour and 30 minutes from Otavalo by bus follwed by a 45 minute walk. We are about one hour away from the delicious Nangulvi hot springs.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Tourismus / Gastgewerbe

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    [Please only contact us if you are certain of your travel plans and will be volunteering within the next two months]

    We need general help with farming (machete and hoe work) and kitchen work (cooking and cleaning ). You should be able to lift at least 45 lb. We have particular need for help during the coffee harvest (July-August). We also expect workers to help with trail maintenance and general maintenance of the facility. We expect you to cook 1 meal per day. Work is 5 hours per day and you are of course free to travel or explore the region on the weekends. If you are here when we have guest we will ask that you assist with general tasks such as harvesting food from the farm and translating guided walks.

    One possible alternative to this routine would be involvement with conservation work with local communities - depending on skillset/language ability.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You will stay in rustic cabins with composting toilets and solar heated showers. The cabins do not have electricity- but there is electricity and Wifi 2 minutes away at the main house. You will have the cabin to yourself- with exception of a few times a year when we have large enough groups that we need some of the rooms for guests. You have full access to the kitchen at the main house, a gazebo with hammocks and a big yard. We have two friendly dogs, two skittish cats and cows.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    I am a something of a generalist naturalist with a particular interest in moths, birds, orchids, and reptiles...; biologists and the like are welcome. Our community is small but there are often small gatherings in the local community center (Santa Rosa).

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week





Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 347584123641