Join our family and explore a vibrant, diverse, central neighbourhood in Toronto, Canada

Country

Kanada

Bisher 133 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    01.12.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 14 Tage

  • Abzeichen

 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 2 Wochen

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a queer family of two co-parents and one happy, inquisitive, social toddler who loves reading and languages. You will be sharing a home and the adventures of caregiving with a performer-artist-scholar-educator who works full-time, and a toddler in daycare full-time who loves the library, reading and speaking and listening to music in many languages, and playing in local parks. You would become part of an extended chosen family who also participate in caregiving, and part of a circle of parent and baby friends including other queer families seeking to make space for non-traditional approaches to parenting, family and community. You would be given insights on Toronto from someone who is active in things queer, arts (and) social justice-oriented. I have a fondness for and much experience with travel and speak English, French and Spanish (and once upon a time didn't do too badly in Hungarian). Our family's languages also include German and Cantonese. You would be living with someone who has hosted many traveling strangers on the couch over the years through Couchsurfing, and I too have preferred to travel by being welcomed by strangers. Our door is always open to friends and family dropping by unannounced.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Sprachpraxis

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    My place, wherever that has been, has always been a gathering spot of an eclectic array of friends, family, pets, and visitors from all over. The kitchen table is an important gathering space where I hope we will share many meals together. One summer, Brazil, Mexico, Finland and France were simultaneously represented at our place. While this has changed somewhat since becoming a parent, I still have the same openness and interest in meeting, sharing, welcoming and learning. I share from the experiences I have accumulated from living in and visiting different places in Canada and abroad (the Americas, Europe, Asia) as a community-engaged artist, scholar and adventurer, and from my interesting and eclectic community-oriented work life, which has taken me from the far north of Canada to festivals across Canada and many places around the world, from chasing lemmings to burying my nose in eighteenth century archives to working with youth. Studying culture, Canadian culture especially, is part of my work and passion, so I can share what I know and love and can't stand about this and other places with you, and point you to interesting and innovative projects, places, galleries, neighbourhoods and so on. People who stay with me often find that I try to connect them with a person, place or thing. I like catalysing things. I am at heart a community builder both locally and across transnational networks, and I would share that disposition with you. You will also have the chance to be a part of a navigation of making queer family and community in Toronto and beyond.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    I am looking for 20-25 hours of support weekly, with the possibility of additional paid hours as necessary. In the summertime, hours and/or extra paid time may be spent outside of the city by a lake. The majority of the time you would be assisting with general house clean-up, daily meal prep and dishes, playing with and sometimes taking the toddler out locally. Sometimes the work will involve errands like grocery shopping. Occasionally you will be on your own taking care of the toddler, but I will be nearby. You'll need to be able to lift 35 lbs of baby, and be a morning person! We will collaborate on tasks.

    I need someone who is experienced with being around and looking after young children, enjoys playing with kids, is confident with taking a toddler out and about occasionally, can prepare meals (designed collaboratively as necessary!), can do dishes, clean the house, and can handle the chaos of getting a kid out the door to daycare in the morning. It would be a bonus if you can speak and read to the little one in French, Spanish, Cantonese, German or any other language in addition to English, and an additional bonus if you've got child first aid training. If it's the summertime, then ideally you should know how to swim!

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We live in a vibrant, diverse, sought after central Toronto neighbourhood full of hip cafes, cool restaurants, amazing public library, skating rinks, parks, small shops, shopping mall and more. Our semi-detached, two-storey 1200 square foot house is art, music and book-filled, quirky and full of light on a tree-lined street steps from bike-share stations and park, and several public transportation options for a quick ride to downtown or further. You would have your own bedroom on the second floor, which is a library with a queen size bed and a view of the 800+ square ft back garden. We have many amenities in the home, including laundry, dishwasher, custom bathroom, a piano, a big kitchen and a living area taken over by cozy kid play stations. In warmer weather we are bike people, and you may use one of our bikes to explore the city regardless of season, if the weather cooperates. Unfortunately, our house is not accessible for those with mobility limitations.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There is so much to do in Toronto that it is impossible to list here, but I have many recommendations on sights, eats, and experiences.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Platz für Wohnmobile.

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week



Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 346212893285