Help us restore an old house near Plovdiv, Bulgaria

Country

Bulgarien

Bisher 46 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

    14  

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    23.10.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are able to host you if you are stuck in Bulgaria due to the covid19 restrictions.

    I am a retired car mechanic from Iceland. My wife and I bought an old house in Bulgaria in 2018 to retire in the sun. My wife is originally from Scotland and has not fully retired yet so she is jumping back and forth from Bulgaria to Iceland. Our 2 grown sons currently live in Iceland.


    Both my wife and I speak fluent English and Icelandic, her Icelandic needs improving :) I have a lot of experience with house renovation but my bad health is slowing the process.

    The house needed total renovation. It is now about 2/3rds finished. I've been working on it in between illnesses. I had to retire early due to ill health. So far we have put in new windows, most floors, a new roof and new electricity and 4 rooms are already finished. There is still much to be done. Sometimes we are able to get some locals to help but many times I am working alone. I would like the house to be finished this year and so would be very grateful to have someone to help out.

    Pauline is building a platform to help women thrive through their menopause and beyond. She is using Kajabi to host her website and is making an online course. She is also hosting the Menopause Morph Podcast, so any help with such online stuff would be appreciated. Pauline is not a techie and is always looking to learn new tech things from our workaway visitors. One of the workwayers taught her how to use Instagram :)

    There is also a big garden, so if you are interested in doing gardening chores that is possible. We have been working on landscaping the garden but neither of us has much experience with gardening.

    We are quite interested in hosting Bulgarians so that we can learn more of the language :)

    We have a cat but he is an outdoor guy. Recently we adopted a little kitten as well.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Sprachpraxis
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hilfe mit Computer /Internet

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    You can improve your English, and even learn Icelandic :) We live near Plovdiv which was the European city of culture in 2019. Both Plovdiv and Hisaria (Our town of Kaloyanovo is between them, 30 min apart) have vast Roman remains and Hisaria has a lot of hot natural spring water, so we try to go to one of the spa's there every week. You are welcome to come with us to that.

    My wife Pauline is an oil painter and one of the rooms upstairs will eventually be her art studio. You are welcome to try your hand at painting and if she is here, she will be more than happy to teach you.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    Assisting with building renovation project i.e. laying floor tiles, painting walls, cement cutting, brick laying, fitting shower, kitchen units etc. All these skills can be taught to you. Planting trees, landscaping the garden, these we are learning ourselves. If you have experience in gardening, perhaps you can teach us :)

    Pauline is working on making an online course to help women thrive through their menopause and beyond. If you have any computer tech skills or marketing or social media skill that would be greatly appreciated :)

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Icelandic: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    We want to learn more Bulgarian as we intend to live in Bulgaria for the rest of our lives. We can offer lessons in Icelandic and English. We don't want to have to sit in "class" but would prefer to learn in a more natural way.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    Large room on ground floor of the house. It contains 2 beds 120cm wide x 190cm. We used a bed the same size, so it is possible to have 2 people in each one. We have had a family with 2 children in this room. There is also another bedroom/office upstairs with 1 single electric bed 90 x 200cm. So we are open to having a single person or a couple. In the photos you can see the room on the ground floor, the one with a yellow wall and the room upstairs with a single bed is still not completely renovated and also doubles as my office sometimes.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We will provide all meals (sometimes we go to restaurants) and we currently have 4 vehicles but we intend to sell the big van, that we took here with our furniture. So it will be possible to borrow one of the vehicles if you wish to travel around Bulgaria on your days off.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    Kann Digital Nomads unterbringen

    We have good WiFi and a desk for working online. We have often had digital nomads with us. We are very flexible for work times.

  • Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Platz zum Abstellen von Camper Vans

    Any size. You can park in our driveway/garden or out on the street, whichever you wish.

  • Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    Hier sind Haustiere in der Regel willkommen

    We have cats but you are welcome to come with a dog or cat if you wish. If it is something exotic like a snake, please let us know first :)

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.8)

Kommunikation: (5.0)













Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 344883932943