Creating a sustainable, off-grid home and gardens near Puerto Jimenez, Costa Rica

Country

Costa Rica

Bisher 256 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    02.06.2020

  • facebook friends

    Freunde bei facebook

    727

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    88.9 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 8 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Super Host
    Facebook verified
 
  2020 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Dave and Nicki are a vegan, animal loving, conscious British couple who have lived in Costa Rica for 14 years. Dave is a talented carpenter/builder, an excellent host - having owned a guest house for many years. He has been a travel guide around the world and avid traveler all his life. Nicki is a massage therapist, artist and ex-marketing person with a passion for yoga, shamanism and conscious living. Both of us are great cooks! We are creating a sustainable, off-grid home in the Osa Peninsula, 13km south of Puerto Jimenez and 300m from the beach. We live comfortably with solar power, with an outdoor shower and a composting toilet. Our space is shared with our three dogs and cats and many other creatures.

    The land we purchased was cleared for pasture many years ago - our goal to reforest it and create a beautiful, edible garden to attract birds and other wildlife to the land. We already have several fruit and almond trees which feed the scarlett macaws, toucans and 4 types of monkeys. Our home is already half built, but live-able. Building a few small cabins, a moloka (ceremonial space), more composting toilets and banana showers which can accommodate surfer, travelers, retreat organizers and volunteers who can enjoy the beauty of this magical place. Growing as much of our own food as we can is a main goal. We need learn more about what we can grow here - it's a tough one, to create good soil for permaculture gardens, make a natural irrigation system and a living pond. Ultimately we would love to show others how to live simply and consciously in the world without major impact and to be able to rent or share our space to other retreat organizers and fellow travelers.

  • Arten von Arbeit

    Arten von Arbeit

    Gartenarbeit
    Bauarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Kochen/einkaufen
    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Sprachen praktizieren

  • UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele für nachhaltige Entwicklung, die dieser Gastgeber verfolgt

    UNO-Ziele
    Keine Armut
    Kein Hunger
    Gesundheit und Wohlergehen
    Hochwertige Bildung
    Geschlechtergleichstellung
    Sauberes Wasser und Sanitärversorgung
    Bezahlbare und saubere Energie
    Menschenwürdige Arbeit und Wirtschaftswachstum
    Industrie, Innovation und Infrastruktur
    Weniger Ungleichheiten
    Nachhaltige Städte und Gemeinden
    Nachhaltige Konsum- und Produktionsmuster sicherstellen
    Maßnahmen zum Klimaschutz
    Leben unter Wasser
    Leben an Land
    Frieden, Gerechtigkeit und starke Institutionen
    Partnerschaften zur Erreichung der Ziele
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Our travelers will benefits from living life more simply and more symbiotically with nature. You will live in the beauty of the Osa Peninsula, one of the most bio-diverse areas in the world. Learn more about sustainable living and protecting the environment while you soak up the tranquility of this amazing place. Oh and of course eat great vegan food! If you're not vegan we will prove how diverse vegan food can be and how to cook it!

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We are looking for people who appreciate and can live deep in nature. A passion for the environment is very important, as well as be able to adapt to a vegan / healthy liefstyle (if you are not already), you must be able to cope living off-grid (internet is not always available and we're 20mins from any shops) and importantly have a spirit of adventure. This is a very quiet area with a very small community so not much entertainment, we feel this is perfect for a couple rather or an individual who does not mind having quiet time - early nights and early mornings.

    We need help with building our house and cabins, making soil, digging pathways and creating a garden. Construction, gardening and permaculture experience are important but mostly enthusiasm and a willingness work 5hrs a day to learn or teach others. Spanish speakers are very welcome - our Spanish is not perfect but we want to learn more and you can improve your English. We will cook but if you want to be creative in the kitchen we have no objections.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen

    English, spanish

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We can provide comfortable tent accommodation with mattresses and bedding and soon cabins will be constructed. We have a large shared kitchen and lounge/dining space. There is safe storage for any valuables. We will provide 3 meals a day in exchange for 5hrs work per day. On days off you will make your own food.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    In free-time we can take you on excursions - hike trails, horse-ride, visit Corcovado National Park, kayak rivers and the ocean, surf, do yoga, meditate, participate in community / cultural events and soak up the tranquility of this amazing place. Oh and of course great vegan food! If you're not vegan we will prove how diverse vegan food can be. We have a truck and a quad and do regular trips to town, which is 20 mins away, for supplies or leisure, so there's always a ride, there is also public collectivo which passes our property daily. Of course we will always be available for any emergencies.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Mouse....The cat :)
Lapa
Our beach
The walk to the beach
The start of our home
Vegan Thai Curry
Our favourite water hole
Our garden so far

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (4.7)

Kommunikation: (5.0)







Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 344475362592