Micro homestead family of four in sunny and hopefully less wet Somerset, UK

Country

Großbritannien

Bisher 105 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    28.10.2021

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    60.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 39 Tage

  • Abzeichen

    Good Host
 
  2021 

 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Woche

J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    We are a family of four living in Somerset in the south west of England. Two adults and one 6 year old boy and a 2 year old. A dog and a cat. We are interested in permaculture, kitchen herbalism, wild food, fermentation and woodworking. We are trying to be as self sufficient as possible and eat local and organic.. We have been renovating our house ourselves for two years and have lots of projects to finish including a bread oven, pond and wildlife area, herb garden and ongoing vegetable beds to tend. On top of that we are building an extension and so tiling a roof, laying bricks, some landscaping and will be doing first fix for plumbing and electrics. It’s all things we have done before but many hands make light work. Its a small plot but we are working towards being as productive as possible in our garden and becoming more of micro homestead!. We are a fun family and we try to live as freely as possible whilst being conscious about our footprint on the earth. We often go on seasonal foraging trips and walks to harvest herbs and wild food and be part of nature as much as possible. We try to work hard, but balance this with lots of fun and spontaneity. We welcome language speakers and people who like being around children and animals. We are looking for help getting the garden ready for spring planting.

    **Update**

    Spring planting is underway and we really want to get the rest of the plants in and any landscaping or tree work done ASAP. We know there is a lot going on in the world but life here on our tiny slice of countryside continues on so do get in touch. Oh and the suns out - for now...

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Sprachpraxis
    Unterrichten
    Gartenarbeiten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Hausarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Speaking English, sourdough bread making, green wood carving, carpentry skills, gardening skills, cooking, building skills (traditional and modern) kitchen herbalism and some medicine making. There are lots of local farms in the area we have links with and we regularly visit the farmers market.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    We are looking for help to finish a number of projects in the garden including: veg bed preparing, building (well finsihing...) a cob bread oven, general gardening, herb planting, carpentry/green wood working, composting, collecting chopping, splitting and stacking logs. Everyday chores such as dog walking, some possible child care, cooking, preserving/canning, firewood chopping, bread making, fermentation.

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Englisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Gute Kenntnisse

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    We have a lovely cabin in our garden that has a double futon bed. It's a light and a beautiful space and off grid! It has a wood burning stove and is well insulated. Bathroom facilities are in the main house and we have all the usual modern conveniences including wifi - although this has limited use because it is inside the main family house and we try not to use devices too much in front of our children. We would share a simple meals together with snacks and plenty of food to make if you want to make cakes and biscuits or bread. We home cook most of the time with very little 'fast food'. We also have a fire pit outside the cabin for those who like to cook over an open fire. We try to use this as much as possible when the weather is dry.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    There are bus links to the two local towns - Wellington/Wiveliscombe and to Taunton. Taunton train station connects easily with the rest of the country and major cities such as Bristol, Exeter and London for day trips. There are lots of great local walks and we are close to the Quantocks, Blackdown Hills and Dartmoor and Exmoor national parks. We go to the beach sometimes and/or local rivers fairly often and we enjoy wild swimming throughout the year.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    eine(n)

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 4-5 hours a day, 5 days a week

Dies sind zusätzliche optionale Bewertungen, wenn Mitglieder Feedback hinterlassen. Es wird die im Schnitt hinterlassene Bewertung für jede Option angezeigt.

Korrekte Angaben im Profil: (5.0)

Kultureller Austausch: (5.0)

Kommunikation: (5.0)






Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 342289756585