1 / 4

Help us stabilise our dryland food forest center and share permaculture knowledge living with our family in Lanjarón, Spain

  • Spanien
  • Bisher 863 mal gespeichert
  • Letzte Aktivität: 22 Mai 2023



 Geforderte Mindest-Aufenthaltsdauer:  mindestens 1 Monat



  • Beschreibung


    Drylands, and permaculture, if you like that, this could be your place.

    At the moment we are looking for one boy who is willing to stay in our caravan. We offer Vegetarian (+Eggs/cheese) food + accomodation, in exchange for 5 hours a day, 5 days a week. (Vegans are also welcomed, as we just adapt the meal we share together. :)!

    - The main tasks will be gardening (following permaculture) and general DiY taks, spending some quality time with Row and Alma, our daughters (they love going foraging, and walks, but also drawing...), and general maintenaince work.

    We are in a 4000sqm smallholding located above the village of Lanjaron in Las Alpujarras of Granada. It sits at an altitude of 1100m above sea level with a view of the Mediterrenean Sea on the horizon, and on clear days, the coastline of North Africa.

    David (37, from England), Celia (41, from Spain), and our two daughters, Alma-Blossom (11) and Rowen (8) are the permanent residents on the land. When we arrived 4 years ago, the land was empty except for some olive trees that had clearly been neglected for some time. The soil was mostly bare, a compacted red clay that looked pretty infertile. At the moment we have a little demostration camp, and a webpage, to share with other people how to make the most of the water resourses living in dryland climates.

    Since then, we have built a small straw bale house to live in, and have crowdfunded and planted a permaculture food forest which has dramatically changed the appearance of the land. We’ve worked hard on improving the soil and the vegetable garden is really coming along.

    Now is the time to share all this knowledge and that is the project you would be getting involved with.

    We are focused on teaching and showing water management and is specialising in this area. We’ve already done a lot with rain water harvesting, both in tanks and in the soil through earthworks, and we’re looking into establishing and efficient greywater system.

    After water, come the trees. At the moment we have the stablished 5 years old food forest, and we are documenting the creation of a little new area, so people can learn online about what to plant, and how to planted in dry arid climates.

    We receive between 1 and 2 volunteers on a work exchange from the middle of April until the middle of June, (please do not apply other dates), and then from end-August to the end of September. We ask for 5 hours of work a day, 5 days a week in exchange for full-board, or 3 hours per day, 5 days a week and you pay for your own food. The minimum stay is 1 month. The work tends to be a mixture of agricultural, construction, housework and child care. Volunteers should be happy to work in any and all of these fields.

    Volunteers camp in tents next to a caravan which acts as their kitchen / living room. We have a dry composting toilet and the shower is outside, but with hot water coming from a solar water heater.

    The food is simple, nutritious, delicious and mostly organic. Volunteers prepare their own breakfast and dinner in the caravan, whereas lunch is eaten all together at our house. Lunch tends to be vegan, but there are sometimes local eggs and cheese available for those who desire for dinner. The drinking water comes from a spring which we share with neighbours. According to analysis, it’s extremely pure, purer in fact than the bottled Lanjaron mineral water!

    We have a modest solar power system which is enough for people to charge their phones and laptops during the day, until 8pm.

    The village of Lanjaron is a half an hour walk away on the way down and 45 mins on the way up (depending of course on a person’s hiking prowess!). If we are going down by car to do something, volunteers can sometimes get a lift. From the village there are bus connections to other areas of Las Alpujarras, as well as to the coast and to Granada, which may be interesting for the 2 days off a week.

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Hilfe bei Ökoprojekten
    Heimwerker- und Bauarbeiten
    Mithilfe auf einem Bauernhof
    Babysitten und Kinderbetreuung
    Zubereiten / Kochen von Mahlzeiten für die Familie
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    This is for those wanting to change their life style and learn new skills, without forgetting the spiritual side of life; We want you to experience and learn a different way of living, organic, more sustainable, and share our daily life. If you want to improve your spanish or english, we can talk to you in the prefered language. WE DON´T MIND, and we were both teachers in the past.

  • Projekte mit Kindern

    Projekte mit Kindern

    Dieses Projekt schließt möglicherweise den Umgang mit Kindern ein. Mehr Informationen findest du in unseren Verhaltensregeln und Tipps hier.

  • Arbeit


    Our activities planned are:
    General care of the permaculture project Food forest.
    General childcare of Alma and Row

  • Sprachen

    Gesprochene Sprachen
    Catalan: Fließend
    Deutsch: Fließend
    Englisch: Fließend
    Spanisch: Fließend
    Französisch: Fließend

    Dieser Gastgeber bietet Sprachaustausch an
    Dieser Gastgeber gibt an, dass er dir gern seine Muttersprache beibringt oder selbst eine Sprache lernen möchte.
    Bitte wende dich direkt an ihn, um weitere Auskünfte zu erhalten.

  • Unterkunft


    In tent, with access to a little cute caravan.
    The accomodation at the moment is in a big tent (Glamping but shared). We also have a little caravan, where you can have breakfast and spend some of your free time. The caravan is our multifunctions room, also PLAYROOM for the girls (our two daughters, Alma and Rowen, 6 and 3)

    En tienda más caravana.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    We are mainly vegan (plus sometime, honey or eggs). We do not usually eat meat on the farm. We also live with two girls, so if smoke volunteers are asked to do so in private, and always respectful of the space. We don´t mind sharing a bit of wine on an special occasion but we try not to drink alcohol.

    Very important is that we have kids, and they like to spend time, speak and play with us all. :) YOU NEED TO BE READY TO TALK AND PLAY WITH ALMA AND ROWEN if they suddendly pop up towards you.

    The area is breathtaking there are amazing walks that start on the doorgate, facing the ocean. Surprisingly near town, so that is also a plus.

    Somos veganos (comemos a veces miel o huevos). No solemos comer carne en la finca También vivimos con dos niñas, así que si los voluntarios fuman, se pide que lo hagan en privado, y siempre respetuosos con el espacio. No nos importa tomar un vino o beber una cerveza en ocasiones especiales, pero no cada día y no aquí.

    Nuestras dos niñas son muy sociales y cariñosas, y les gusta hablar y jugar con nuestros invitados... te tienen que gustar los niños!
    La zona es INCREIBLE por su belleza, varias rutas de montaña que comienzan desde la finca...

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...


    Maximum 3 hours a day, 5 days a week

Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 338495173534

Feedback (14)

Weitere Bilder