Experience rural living in the tropics in Sri Lanka's sunny south

Country

Sri Lanka

Bisher 163 mal gespeichert


  • rating

    Host Bewertung

  • feedbacks

    Feedback

  • last activity

    Letzte Aktivität

    13.06.2020

  • Last email replied

    Beantwortungsquote

    100.0 %

  • Last email replied

    Ø Zeit bis Antwort:

    innerh. 1 Tag

  • paid opportunity

    Verdienstmöglichkeit

     

 
  2020 
J
F
M
A
M
J
J
A
S
O
N
D
  • Beschreibung

    Beschreibung

    Situated in the agricultural belt of Southern Sri Lanka is our 2+ acre family home, built by my Grandfather in the 1930's.

    The property is perched on top of a hill and overlooks Paddy fields and the local primary school. Some of Sri Lanka's best beaches namely Ahangama, Midigama and Weligama are a 15 minute scooter or Tuk tuk ride away.

    The house was recently restored and includes some modern day luxuries, namely WiFi!

    The property is looked after by a lovely couple, Karuna and Gamini.

    Our home is around a 100 years old and its doors, windows and furniture need to be looked after and used with care. Anybody who stays should appreciate the age of these items and use them carefully :)

  • Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Arten von Hilfe und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Gartenarbeiten
    Handwerkliche Arbeiten
    Hausarbeiten
    Betreuung von Tieren
    Karitative Arbeit
    Kunstprojekte
    Unterrichten

  • Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Kultureller Austausch und Lernmöglichkeiten

    Ahangama and weligama beaches are some of the best places to master the art of surfing. There are insturctors willing to teach you how to surf for around $5-10 if you fancy learning.

    At the foot of the house is a primary school which was built by my grandfather. If you would like to take at teaching sport, instruments or singing it could be arranged.

    There is an old temple a two minute walk away from the house, ideal for meditation.

    The house itself is tranquil with wild peacocks visiting most mornings and lush tropical trees abundant with fruit. A good environment to work on your writing, music and art skills. also great to just relax and read a good book :)

    There are many Yoga instructors in and around the Ahangama area.

  • Arbeit

    Arbeit

    To assist Karuna and Gamini with their daily chores in maintaining the house, garden and pets.

    Ideally to give them a little break :)

    Since it is a small village community, people usually turn in quite early. Therefore we usually lock our gates by 10pm. If you happen to be having a long night at a beach party we recommend you party on till dawn (quite normal here on the coast!) and return home after 6am.

    Meals: no complimentary/free meals provided, however Sri Lankan meals could be prepared by Karuna at a nominal amount of $2 per person meal, for breakfast, lunch or dinner. Please let her know in advance. This is purely to cover the cost of the food.

    Snacks, tea and coffee, juice and fresh fruit from the garden will be served free of charge.

  • Gesprochene Sprachen

    English: Fließend

  • Unterkunft

    Unterkunft

    You will be provided with a double room and en-suite bathroom. The room consists of an antique bed, ceiling fan and storage space. The bathroom is newly fitted, large and has a great shower. Hot water isn't available nor is it necessary in the humid tropics.

  • Was noch ...

    Was noch ...

    Will provide you with bicycles.

    Gamini would be willing to drop you in town once a day.

    There is a direct train to Colombo from Ahangama Town and plenty of buses and coaches to Galle city.

    Galle Fort is a UNESCO heritage site and has numerous restaurants and cafes. There are great beaches for swimming and surf and abundant nature and culture to experience and soak in.

  • Etwas mehr Information

    Etwas mehr Information

    • Internet Zugang

    • Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

      Eingeschränkter Internet Zugang

    • Wir besitzen Tiere

    • Wir sind Raucher

    • Familien möglich

  • Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    Kapazität - wie viele Workawayer maximal

    mehr als zwei

  • ...

    Arbeitszeiten

    Maximum 2-3 hours a day, 4 days a week



Gastgeber Ref-Nr.: 338458349582